Dementia Journal, February 2, 2020 in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Feb. 3, 2020, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mom is at rest now, her more than decade-long struggle with dementia and diabetes is over. She passed away in a deep sleep early this past Tuesday. It surprised me, and yet it didn’t. All I could do— along with the Hospice nurses, the caregivers who were with us until near the end, and my sister and brother — was keep her as comfortable as possible until her frail body, that mortal vessel, released her immortal soul. And what a beautiful soul it is. Mom’s radiant smile, and her love for everyone were beacons of hope and life for those who came to know and love her. She often asked me, “Where is God?” Now she knows the answer.

Our minister was with us early in the evening before Mom died, reading from the Psalms and praying, telling her, after we had all told her how much we loved her, that it was okay to rest. I firmly believe Mom heard and recognized my voice as I told her everything was going to be okay and that I loved her so much.

By this time my emotions were deeply buried as I struggled to comprehend and cope with the reality of what I was experiencing. I will never forget the stunned shock and silence when I came into the room at 2:30 am, and discovered Mom had departed, probably only moments before. Amazingly, my sister who was upstairs, and my brother who was at his house ten miles away, both said they, too, had woken at 2:30.

The next few hours were like some surreal dream, only it was real. I tried to keep calm and maintain my composure, but that didn’t last too long.

Here is what I wrote in a text to our minister that evening:

“The waves of grief come when I have images of Mom from yesterday. I can’t even adequately describe it. It’s a deep-down feeling of sudden grief and shock. But we are strengthened by adversity. I will be stronger, but I won’t ever fully recover from the loss of my mother. My whole life was centered around caring for her.”

The rest of the week I tried to keep as busy as possible. I wrote and delivered the obituary to the newspaper. I spent a good part of Wednesday and Thursday afternoon on the phone calling relatives and friends. I was astonished at all I managed to do with seeming clear-headed efficiency and thoroughness. Someone told me I was operating on adrenaline, and I guess that was true. Now it’s 4:30 on a Sunday morning. I want to sleep but I can’t. There’s too much to process in this totally different life I’m living now. And more than anything I feel compelled to write this final Dementia Journal entry. I want to describe the experience as faithfully as I can, but at the same time I don’t want to say too much. Believe me, I could go on writing for hours.

As I mentioned before, it’s a new life now. Almost literally everything is different. Mom had been in this house for 25 years. For the past ten years, I took care of her after leaving my apartment and moving in. I couldn’t have done it without our six part-time caregivers, four of whom were with us for six years or more. You can imagine how well I got to know them. They became like family. One of them was here Saturday, two days before Mom passed. She was strong and upbeat, laughed at my feeble jokes, and was absolutely wonderful with Mom. I often told her that when she was there, I felt unlimited optimism and that I could do almost anything to help Mom.

Needless to say, the caregivers were companions for not only Mom over the years, but for me, too. Now they are gone, except for the live-in caregiver/boarder. It feels very quiet and lonely at times. I keep looking at my watch, waiting on caregivers to come and go, or fixing a meal at set times if a caregiver has not arrived to do so. If I’m out shopping or walking I keep thinking I have to rush home by a certain time. It’s all very strange and disorienting. For the first time in ten years I have freedom and can live a somewhat “normal” life, whatever that is. Today, fully cognizant that I could work on my numerous projects, I read and browsed the Internet at my leisure and for as long as I wanted. Amazing!

This is a time when I’m deeply grateful for the good friends who’ve shown their concern, support and love for Mom and me over the years. One friend has sent Mom beautiful cards every month for years, including holidays. She is a dear friend of my mother’s late sister. Mom would always acknowledge each card with happiness and delight. A true friend if ever there was one.

Another friend from the church has visited faithfully every month for more then two years. This is what she wrote in an email:

“I have seen Sarah decline these past two years, and it has pained me. She, however, gave me an unbelievably glorious gift the last time I visited. She was awake most of the time, was cognizant, commented on and admired your beautiful pictures, and gave me her famous smile many times. I will keep that last visit close to my heart forever - what a gift!”

That visit was only a few weeks ago.

Determined writer that I am, and not knowing when we’d have a memorial service, I wrote a piece to read, a celebration of Sarah and what she loved.

It saddens me whenever I go in Mom’s room. It seems bereft and empty, yet there is a palpable sense of Mom’s presence. We’ve already cleared out supplies and items that reminded us of her infirmity and final decline. The hospital bed and oxygen machine were removed the afternoon following her passing. I’ve tended to much that had to be done the past few days. I haven’t let myself succumb to the grief I know may come over me soon with an unbearable heaviness. This, however, may not happen at all. I am at peace knowing Mom is in a much better place and state of being. Her soul lives on.

Our dear friend from church sent me a card and inside on a separate piece of paper were these words:

“Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there. I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond’s glint on snow.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle Autumn’s rain.
When I awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry.
I am not there. I did not die.”

To all of you who came here and read of my mother’s journey through the long tunnel of dementia and into the light these past seven years, my deepest gratitude. For your supportive prayers, thoughts and shared experiences of your own, I am more thankful than you can know. You helped keep me going. You lifted me up.


Seasons February 03, 2020

I am so sorry for your loss. Praying for you and your family.

Jinn February 03, 2020

There are no good words . I am glad she is at peace and now well again.
I will keep you and your Mom in my prayers .

Newzlady February 03, 2020

Oh my. We all knew this day would come, but still. I continue to wish the best for you as you deal with this loss and reshape your life.

ConnieK February 03, 2020

You will be at sea for a while, but your feet are being turned in a new direction. You will find a new normal. Be kind to yourself and know that your reactions are normal. Do everything in love and everything will be exactly right. Be at peace, knowing that you helped your mother retain her dignity and comfort when she was at her most vulnerable. She loved you and she knew you loved her. My deepest condolences.

Cathy February 03, 2020 (edited February 03, 2020)

Edited

Wow, ten years.
Prosebox always has the sidebars with entries of the same day on a previous year or years. From the same day on 2014:

"My mother, whose dementia slowly progresses month by month is aware and yet oblivious to the toll it is taking on me. Sometimes she will say, 'You think I should be in a nursing home? Am I too much for you?' I tell her 'No, of course not, Mom.' But there are times when I feel this is a bit of a lie.,'"

But you did it. You were there for her the whole time. There's the scripture that says, "Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends." You laid your life down for your mother-ten years of it.

So this is the end of the Dementia Journal, and of this chapter of your life.

But if you no longer feel inclined to write, I hope you will at least write a few more entries, so we can find where your journey takes you next.

Marg February 03, 2020

So. The day has come. What a massive life change for you! I’m so sad you’ve lost her but glad she’s now in spirit where her body and the ravages of her mind won’t torment her any more.
I hope the knowledge that you did all you could for her - and more - will sustain you as moments of grief catch you unawares while you adjust to your new life. That poem is so beautiful - I wonder how many funerals it’s been read at?! Certainly at a couple of my own family’s - it just describes the soaring spirit living on all around us so well.
Many hugs for you - I hope you’re bearing up well - and I hope you’ll come back and share some more of your wonderful writing with us when you feel able to :)

Telstar February 03, 2020

Remember her the way she was in her good years.

Take care of yourself and open the next chapter of your life.

You're a good man for how you cared for your mother.

mcbee February 03, 2020

It was a gift that she was able to have those occasional cognizant and happy moments, even until the end. I slept through the time my dad passed, but my brother and sister both said they woke up right at the time he would have passed. My other brother, was with him, as was my stepmother....and we were most grateful that he wasn't in a hospital at the end of his life.

Your life will now change, in many ways you will struggle to get back to something normal....but you also have opportunities opening up down the road to get back some of the life you had lost while you performed this valuable service of love for your mother. My thoughts are with you and you should be very proud of the love, caring and dedication you gave her in these last years. Please keep us informed as to how your are doing, and never feel alone.

Lady of the Bann February 04, 2020

I am not good at following diaries but I have read you whenever I saw you had written. I am sorry for your loss and you will feel lost for a while. Mostly when I read you I compared firstly to my own relationship with my mother,which was not good in latter years and she died 3 years ago. Then to my caring for my ex husband, who had rheumatoid arthritis and some kind of dementia and now to my 90 yr old stepdad who I care for and has started hallucinating and imagining things. Dreaming and believing it is real. Seeing people who are not there. This morning he had been on a journey and said he nearly died 6 times from plane and train crashes and to top it all, he thought that something had happened to me and then that I turned nasty on him. All this emotion had a bad affect in him. It is so cruel. So hard to know what to do accept hold his hand and assure him it's not real and I would never hurt him. I sure you know about that. Now it is time for your peace. I know you did what you did out of love and I have always admired you for it. I hope you continue to write so I can follow your journey.

Xanatos February 07, 2020

You'll be in my prayers. I only wish that I could do more.

Kristi1971 February 09, 2020

I read this pretty early on after you wrote it, but I needed time to process the words. Although I knew this was coming really close, I still feel emotional, and I wasn't sure and am still not sure what to even write. I'm sorry for your loss, but grateful she was your mom. Based on the love you both shared, I can tell she was a wonderful mom and you are a wonderful son. Although often difficult, your days were filled with such beauty and love. Big hugs during this time.

Sabrina-Belle February 16, 2020

I have got behind with my reading lately. I am sorry for your loss. Your dementia diary has been so moving. I hope you will still write here even if only occasionally. It will be strange at first but you will find a new purpose.

IpsoFacto February 16, 2020

I have just read this. You are a wonderful son. I am sorry for your loss. I will be thinking of you. Take gentle care of yourself.

Deleted user April 03, 2020

I am so sorry for your terrible loss, dear friend. Your mother is in a much better place now. I hope you will find peace. You did everything for her. She was so lucky to have you. Hugs!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.