More yarn?? in Secrets of a crafty witch

  • Nov. 27, 2019, 8:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Crap these kids are addicted to kranking out long mittens on the machines. They are running me out of yarn. I just went to hobby lobby and bought another 30 dollars in yarn ( yay coupons whew) I got about 8 skeins, but i keep picking stuff i really like too! I think next time im bringing the 5 that are hooked to the store and let them pick a few skeins out haha. I got red and green for christmas. Red and lime for grinch. Sparkly red white and green to go with the solids ( for headwraps) a ool tweed white with color rainbow, a rainbow, and a blue fair isle and a purple fair isle yarn. Im going to need to take out a fund for their yarn habit soon haha.

Husband said to give them some of my stash from my totes. But that is the GOOD yarn. For people i like! lol. Not for children. They are getting hobby lobbys yarn brand or red heard. Stuff that comes in a ton of colors and a bit less expensive then 10 dollars a ball!! ( although my alpaca wrap i made is on the floor of the husbands car !!!!!! )

Going to have to go to the thrift stores for yarn too. Anything to do it a bit cheaper for them! I dont want to discourage their habits lol. Not when its being creative instead of wanting to be on video games. Creative days are much better then games when we are housebound for the snow!

Speaking of. People drive here rather laughably. They drive so insanely slow, Because there is a bit of slush on the roads. We only have 2 inches. Farther north they got 16 that i heard of. So that is a lot more and i could understand driving slower. The roads were not icy or anything more then wet. Thats what makes it so hard!!

Eep. Ok the kids are pestering me to set up the looms so they can do some projects. Im going to start getting them on making the headbands hahaha. Im terrible :P But We only have a small amount of time before its chore time!!


Jinn November 27, 2019

Even cheap yarn is not cheap . I buy my yarn I use to make Afghans at Walmart and it’s Redheart ; so not a great selection in colors :-( and making one still costs $20.00 - $30.00 plus . They are not particularly useful but I do it for the zen activity . Also to be making something because I am not very crafty . I am hearing they had 32 inches of snow in Boulder. We are supposed to have storm winds tonight up to 60 mph :-(

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 27, 2019

50 dollars in yarn later... Kids havent let me have my machine all day lol. Im so broke now!

We got 2 inches in colosprings. But my friends in northern saw 16 plus and going to get hit again. Its clearing here but windy. Nothing like the cat 2 hurricane force winds im used to in Ak. But chilly anyway!

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 27, 2019

As of a minute ago we have a tornado watch :-( until 3am . I hate those.

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 27, 2019

EEEEK!!! Be safe!!! I know they have those up farther north, But i dont think here! lol. Maybe. Eeep.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 28, 2019

No tornados but very high winds . The power is out for half the city but we were lucky.

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 28, 2019

We got high winds in ak 60-90 mph regularly. There is 35 mph wind today and they just shoot through you. Coming off the mountains! I hate that.

Power outages are some of my favorite times. I have to stay off the internet. Do some cleaning, some knitting. lol. No distractions! Candles and quiet!

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 28, 2019

:-) Not me . Our heat is electric and I hate the cold .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.