Typing and the Two Poodle Hike in Everyday Ramblings

  • Nov. 10, 2019, 2:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This shot is from the park in the next block up yesterday afternoon. I walked through and said hello to the trees thinking that many of them are more than 100 years old and were here for the flu pandemic in 1918.

I wanted to keep the walking modest because I walked over 10 miles on Friday. Mrs. Sherlock had invited me along with one of her groups for a 5 or 6 mile hike through our big park that borders on downtown and over the new cool pedestrian bridge that took years and a lot of community involvement to build.

They had a big opening party and pancake breakfast the weekend I was at the beach at which about 2,000 people showed up! We take our parks seriously here. Most of my students had already been up there so I felt a bit like a slacker chick.

The biggest bribe to get me to go, besides the temperate weather and sun was that Frida was coming and that we would be the sweeps, keeping the stragglers moving and could have a chance to chat.

The hike leader was very organized and had hiked the trails recently and mapped out our itinerary. She also has a poodle. His name is Sam and he is extremely well trained and groomed to the hilt! A very stylish fellow indeed. So we had am amazing 33 hikers and a poodle in the front and us in the back.

There were only three men out of the 33 hikers (one of the women is an amazing 92…new role model) and two of them wanted to talk and be the sweeps so we weren’t in the back back.

There was also another friendly woman who also wanted to be in the back so whatever. Mrs. Sherlock and I had the chance to catch up. And Frida was quite concerned about my whereabouts. Mrs. Sherlock said she was way more active and engaged with me along.

I had walked over to her place to meet up so after about three hours of hiking I was ready to come home. It was the longest I had been away from Diego in a week.

And it was a weekday.

He’s doing great. Today I switch to an every other day schedule with the anti-nausea medicine. He is eating about ¾ of his normal amount of food and would certainly eat more if I gave it to him.

The ear drops are a problem and I have a big scratch on my arm from yesterday to prove it. Today I wrapped his hind legs securely in a towel. I watched videos on how to get them in but still he really doesn’t like anyone (except his brother) messing with his ears.

Oh well. I suppose we all need a challenge to keep life interesting.

I took typing for summer school in high school. I had a CD with a fun learn to type program maybe three computers ago, so close to 20 years. I know where the keys are but because I was determined not to get a secretarial job I have never learned to touch type with any sort of speed.

Now that I am retired it is safe to learn! I am trying to practice 15 minutes a day. I am so bad at it. It is hard to do something that one is bad at… at this age.

When we were at the vet the tech was scribing for the vet. When I had my eyes checked same thing, the tech scribed for the doctor. I asked him if his hands got tired and he said yes, but that he only did it half days and then switched with another tech.

My big excitement though in the last few days (besides learning about deciduous conifers) was making business cards and fliers for my yoga classes and printing them on my new printer. This is something I have wanted to do for 6 months!

What a gift this is…this gift of time


Jinn November 10, 2019

Time is a gift some days and other days there is way too much of it :-) congrats on getting so much exercise !
Glad Diego is feeling better !

noko Jinn ⋅ November 11, 2019

It is true. The gift of time and mobility. It has got to be so challenging to have ambitions that your limitations will just not let you surmount...

Jinn noko ⋅ November 11, 2019

It is . Not that I do not get things done but it’s so much slower than everyone else . It takes me hours to clean a room :-( or work in the yard . Also I pay in pain for every moment I am up and moving. I tend to fold faster than People who don’t have this kind of damage . After a certain point I find myself just thinking; that is it for today :-(

Marg November 12, 2019

I’m curious about all the scribing - that’s doesn’t happen here. So is it notes that are taken about what goes on? What happens to them? Does a patient get to see them?

noko Marg ⋅ November 12, 2019

The doctor dictates the exam to the scribe and they type it into the permanent record. You can request that record but we don't see it just as a matter of course. I did get all the notes at the vet though. :) Having a scribe really does enhance the experience with the doctor because they are face to face with you the whole visit and not behind a screen typing. I have only had scribes in specialty appointments for my ears and my eyes. It is a new thing.

Marg noko ⋅ November 12, 2019

What a great idea! So are they done by people who work there anyway or are there actual jobs where folk just scribe and nothing else?

noko Marg ⋅ November 12, 2019

Both. At the ear clinic the guy was not wearing medical clothing and was introduced as the scribe. The others were techs with medical training.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.