Just Venting in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Aug. 9, 2017, 12:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gr. My wife’s negative feelings come out sometimes at the wrong moments.

Last night?
I told my wife of the Bachelor Party through the photographs. She did say I had a better face than many of the blokes; but she repeatedly pointed out that I was the fattest person there and “Oh, look how much bigger your belly is!” or “My God, have you gotten fatter since law school?!”

My day?
Got to work at 7:50. Wrote an entire EB-1 Immigration Letter. Then wrote an I-129F Section 3 Subsection 4 Criminal Records Reasoning for Immigration Purposes today. Chinese Boss had questions and meetings and… frankly… there was a problem. I need to see my client in Boone. It is a 2 hour round trip and the client likes to talk so it is 3 hour issue at best. I need to see him because we have jury trial coming up… it is very important. But… between Chinese Bosses requests, and the multiple speeches she’s set up for me this week… I just had no time for it. So, I worked straight through from 7:50 to 3:20… with nary a billable hour (and no food) until my eye appointment.

GOOD NEWS
My eye pressure has gone down. Still doing the drops for 4 months more but that is excellent news.

So then I come home and grab a sandwich and burger and putter about.

Flash Forward

Wife comes home downright suicidal. Hates her job. Hates her life. Doesn’t ever want to go back to work. Doesn’t ever want to leave the house again. Just very down. Openly stating that she hates everything about her life. I listen patiently. I don’t tell her about my day (at all) and she never asks because she is so very depressed. There isn’t much I can do but listen so I do that.

As she rather settles down, I cruise facebook to find that my reporter friend in California had posted a video about weight loss. https://www.facebook.com/Vox/videos/742811652573106/
If the video doesn’t work; it essentially proves that Exercise is NOT for weight loss. Exercise is good for a healthy life… but it is NOT for weight loss. Wife pretends to be an expert on this already; but turns it around as to how I’m fat and not feeding myself properly. I get a little irked (hopefully, for obvious reasons) and explain to her that she can’t come home desperate to quit her job (a source of income and our source of insurance) and be mad at me that I have to work through lunch so often. Seriously. I put in (physical) over 60 hours a week (this week likely 80 hours because of Back to School firm stuff). I get paid (billable) an offensively small amount. I know that eating Fast Food and that shit is really bad for me. So I don’t eat it when I can help it. But… like… Wife had all of Monday off. And still there was no cooking or food work of any kind. Maybe I’m being an ass by saying this but if she is going to get pissy about my eating and constantly point out how much heavier I’ve gotten (yes… I have gained 70 lbs since we met… 12 years ago.... when I was 20)… maybe she could help?


Asenath Waite August 09, 2017

As someone who lives predominantly on junk food, and presently weighs her heaviest ever, at 117 lbs; I think I can fairly safely say that how much you eat is at least as important as what you eat.

You can live on junk food, and stay skinny; if you have a poor appetite.

My entire intake for today was: A cup of coffee (with three sugars), four Chips Ahoy cookies, A salmon sandwich on wheat with liberal mayonnaise, a pot pie, approximately three ounces of Doritos, and most of a 2 liter bottle of Pepsi. - And my only exercise was doing the daily housework.

woman in the moon August 09, 2017

Weight is an impossible issue. Exercise is good but it doesn't help much weightwise. Food choice is important for health etc but you can eat too much of the healthiest foods. Heredity is involved. Activity levels not just exercise affect weight. Posture and clothing selection affect appearance of being fat or not.
I read a New Yorker article about bariatric surgery which works to various degrees for various people. Article made it sound like the only thing that every worked. Dr.s were saying it was the best way to change people's lives in a positive way. I hate the idea that carving a healthy person up is the ONLY way to get them to lose weight.

Deleted user August 09, 2017

You're not being an ass at all! If she's concerned with your weight and she has more free time than you, she totally should take the initiative to prep meals for the both of you. Make it a team effort.

Deleted user August 13, 2017

I desperately have to change my diet to iron rich foods ;very few I can even get down. I know it's going to be a huge challenge. I drink way too much regular soda ( as I am addicted ) but I only rarely eat breads, fats, red meats or pastas . Or any candy or sweets. I can't exercise because of my spine. I easily stay below 120 without any sense of deprivation . So I think your other Noter is correct .It may not be what you eat but how much you are eating

Deleted user August 13, 2017

She has gained weight too, right ? You should share in shopping for and preparing healthy meals or buy healthy prepared ones a week at a time .

Deleted user August 13, 2017

Great news that your intraoccular
Pressure has gone down !

Always Laughing August 13, 2017

Glad to hear your pressure went down and I would agree she could help you instead of insult you. I had a friend look at a picture of me from college once and she said boy you did gain weight. Cut straight through me to my heart. I have never forgotten it. :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.