Heartbroken in The ugly truth about making babies

  • June 2, 2016, 10:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Do you ever feel like you’re never going to get what you want?

This, all this trying to conceive stuff, should be a two way Street right? The decision was ours together, and he professes to want it as much as I do.

I just feel like he wants it but only if he doesn’t need to change anything about his life or make any kind of commitment to changing and improving. It doesn’t bode well when child rearing is essentially a lesson in sacrifice and compromise.

He drinks too much to the point I’m convinced he has problem. I’ve written about it before I’m sure. I come home from work to find I know he’s been drinking but hes hiding it, lying about it, pretending it isn’t happening, treating me like an idiot because I know it is happening, reverse psychology, projection, the works.

I told him tonight I think he’s an alcoholic and I wouldn’t bring a baby into this. I told him tonight that he has a problem, therefore we have a problem. When we row, I tell him honestly what I feel which is genuinely the truth about our situation and relationship. He countered with abuse and vitriol to self preserve.

I don’t know how much longer I can do this. He refused to accept there is a problem, to take any responsibility. He refused to acknowledge that his drinking is contributing to his poor sperm count. In fact it’s a major factor. He assumes that because he’s not drunk he’s not got a problem. Functioning alcoholism is a very real problem and I’m beginning to think it’s his.

I told him to drink as much as he likes because all bets are off, no baby, implant is going back in. He can’t behave like a responsible adult when there are just the two of us, it’s a gamble I’m sure as hell not going to take by bringing a baby into the mix.

I feel like I’m never going to get what I want. If he doesn’t acknowledge there’s a problem, and nothing changes, where does that leave me? Loving someone who can be everything I’ve ever wanted when he’s not preoccupied with beers? Or do I walk away having wasted over a year of my life, and a whole future full of hopes and promises, cut my losses and find someone who is ready and grown up enough to actually commit to the future they say they want?

I’m so conflicted. We’re building a life together, I love him, but I’ve spent so many years in relationships with people who say they love me only to piss all over my bonfire, so to speak, and really struggle when it comes to actually acting like a decent human being.

So, yeh, drink as much as you like, deal is off, no baby. If it was me, out of sheer bloody mindedness, I’d have refused to have a drink for days. He, took himself to bed with a bottle of wine and I’ve been crying on the settee ever since.

Nobody said it would be easy. But what I’d love to know is will it be worthwhile?

Xx


Deleted user June 02, 2016

Walk away. Don't look back. You and your future baby deserve better.

BlueEyes418 June 03, 2016

Drinking's a very tricky thing. So many people abuse alcohol because they can just carry it home with them and it's perfectly legal, as long as they don't drive or kill anyone while under the influence. I left my ex-fiance because of his drinking habits - he was a "functioning" alcoholic in the sense that he wasn't hammered every night (only on weekends) and he did keep a full time job. But he couldn't function as a proper adult in society - he chose his beer over his personal relationships, and then accused me of not "understanding" him when I pointed out his behavior.

Good luck, honey. :/ I can relate. I've seen couples come back from these situations, too, so, don't let my story make you feel bad - I only shared it to tell you that I've been exactly where you were when you wrote this. It's awful.

Camdengirl June 03, 2016

What a horrible situation... here's hoping this is the wake up call he needs. A small word though if he is an alcoholic - he will love the booze more than anything else, and the fact that he won't give it up for you is not anything to do with you or your relationship - it is because if his relationship with alcohol, which sounds as if it was there for a long time before you guys were together. I've always said I will not live with a drunk - AgentX has gone thru periods where he drinks far too much and occasionally I've removed all booze from the house and challenged him to be booze free for 3 months if he is convinced he's not an alcoholic. Thankfully he has always managed it and has also seen the benefit in those 3 months of not drinking to significantly cut down. If he didn't I would have sent him to AA and hoped for the best... but there's absolutely no guarantee that it would change anything.

I need tea. June 03, 2016

My dad was a functioning alcoholic and pothead. It isn't a fun time for anyone. My mum enabled it for years (25 in fact), although I don't doubt the love for my sister and I, we did suffer. A year is nothing in the grand scheme of things....you deserve better. X

hot-lips June 03, 2016

Functioning alcoholism is a very real thing. My bf has the exact same problem. He will swear up and down that he isnt an alcoholic, but he too has lied about it, has hidden it from me etc. Yet he has his own business and leads a perfectly normal day, but can't go without alcohol. All of which is the behaviour of an alcoholic. It's hard. As much as you want to help them, you can't. They have to want to help themselves. Some alcoholics can cut down and just stick to social or the occasional drink, some have to cut it out completely. Good luck, I think you need to really have it all out in the open with him and decide where you go from here. It's not as black and white to just walk away, I totally get that. xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.