Job Angst in Scottish Meanderings

Revised: 03/18/2016 12:03 a.m.

  • March 17, 2016, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Nikki got me this cool book ornament as one of her Christmas presents to me this year. I love it!


When I went up to Mam’s flat last month to take whatever I wanted I came back with an assortment of stuff - her wedding ring, photos, slides, cine films, books, DVDs, a slow cooker and something else I hadn’t bargained on. These coat hangers.

For some reason they represented something of the past to me when people really took care of their clothes and what they hung them up on mattered as much as the clothes themselves. Mum always took care with her appearance and when she was younger, made a lot of our clothes herself so it wouldn’t surprise me if she had covered all of these hangers although I don’t know that for sure. Anyway I found myself adding them to the pile and although they take up a bit more room in the wardrobe they don’t half give a better shape to my jumpers and tops instead of those plastic rubbishy things you get in the shops nowadays which can hardly take the weight of anything.


I’ve been looking at jobs and have been struggling between 2 recently. One is for 22.5 hours a week which I know doesn’t sound like much but I personally think is probably too much for me right now. The reason I considered it was because it’s at a local GP practice (Heart Failure Nursing Service Administrator) which is only 10 minutes drive from my house so I wondered if it might be manageable because there would be very little travelling time. Even so I would probably only manage it over 4 days and I know it’s worked over 3 at the moment and on a rota. They did say they would consider fixed days for the right applicant though. It’s got a pretty good salary with good prospects for moving on to NHS jobs on a higher salary scale.

The other is 16 hours a week and in Peterhead, roughly an hour’s drive from the house. The salary is poor and the salary scale is terrible compared to the other one.

So why am I even considering it?

Because it’s Administrator for a counselling agency out there and is the regional office of the agency which is providing the counselling skills training I’m doing at the moment. That means it would really integrate well with my course whereas the other one might mean I have to give the course up if I find I can’t manage both. The job is also worked over 3 mornings a week BUT the agency is only open those 3 mornings a week. This is often a big plus in a part-time admin job because what you generally find is when you start your week you spend most of the first day catching up from the days the place has been open but you haven’t been there!

It also means I may well be able to do my voluntary counselling out there and therefore not need a separate day to do it as I would with any other job. And as it’s open Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays that means Mondays won’t be affected which means Lilah can continue her swimming lessons and I can continue to look after Lily on a Monday and then do stuff with the 3 of them in the afternoon.

The person who would be my line manager is my original tutor when I first did the COSCA counselling skills course at the University way back in the year 2000 and is now the manager of the agency providing the course I’m currently doing.

There is the disadvantage that the job may be quite isolating - I don’t think there are many voluntary counsellors in that office but that may be an advantage if I should struggle with tiredness rather than being in a busy office with lots of distractions. And the travelling is a real bugbear but more so because of the fatigue I struggle with. I’m definitely NOT a morning person so it’s going to be hard enough to get myself together first thing in the morning as it is without having to drive for an hour before I even reach the job.

The salary is the biggest drawback - I’d only be taking around £500 a month home after tax so would have to considerably supplement that with savings although there’s a chance I might be able to access some pension money before I’m 60 which would help. A good chunk of that salary would go on petrol though whereas with the other job I’d be getting paid for the extra 6 hours of difference.

I did a spreadsheet yesterday to compare the 2 jobs and ended up with 13 plusses and 5 minuses for the Peterhead one and 5 plusses and 13 minuses for the surgery one! That makes it look like a no-brainer but really it wasn’t that clear cut - a lot of things were things I had to assume and couldn’t know for sure and one of the big factors was the fear of becoming ill again which is very real for me right now - I can’t ignore it. It would be extremely embarrassing for my health to fail with the surgery job because that’s where I would be going for doctors’ appointments if it all went tits up!

And there’s another factor I didn’t really clock until last night. I go to a group which meets once a month for people who suffer depression and anxiety - it’s run by an organisation which comes under the umbrella organisation Mental Health Aberdeen. We were talking about the problems of being ill at work and the stigma which still surrounds mental health and Aileen, the manager out there, was telling us of a time years ago when she wasn’t coping at work and the Chief Executive was really helpful to her, providing counselling and Thought Field Therapy free of charge. It was only then that I realised this would be the same Chief Executive as I would have because Mental Health Aberdeen is who runs the Peterhead office. What better place to be working if things go awry again?!

And yes I know that’s not positive thinking but I prefer calling it being realistic. I know I’m getting better but I’m not completely there yet and I don’t want anything to get in the way of my full recovery so factoring all this stuff in is necessary in my opinion.

Something is making me hesitate to pull out of the surgery job (for which I’ve already applied) and put all my eggs in one basket though. I’m wondering if it’s this aspect of having to consider my health which I’ve never had to do before when applying for jobs? This very real issue that things may tumble out of control again and having to factor in a contingency plan for that.

Or am I thinking I have another nine blasted years of work before I can draw my state pension so perhaps I still need to think of any job I do as having possible prospects and leading to better things?

But mental health has been my interest for a long time. I came home from the group last night and switched on the telly and there was a programme about celebrities voluntarily being homeless for several nights (I missed the start so don’t really know the ins and outs). They were paired with a real homeless person so got to know them and their ‘story’ and in many cases mental health and its breakdown featured strongly. I was riveted. I just find it so interesting.

And there’s the rub. Wouldn’t it make sense to take a job whose subject matter was of real interest to me so that I get experience in that field and can perhaps work up to other, maybe better jobs in that field?

It’s just that I’ve pretty much worked for charities all my life and they do NOT pay well that’s for sure. But money isn’t everything.

Could someone just look inside my head and see what’s really in there? That might sort things out.


Last updated February 05, 2018


NorthernSeeker March 18, 2016

The job that is closer to your home is probably the one that has less hours per week if you factor in commute time. Good luck on both jobs so that you have a choice at the end of the day. They have those satin covered hangers in good hotels.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 22, 2016

It's actually the Peterhead one which has less hours - it's 22 with travelling time - the other one is 22.5. I think the most important factor is deciding which one would be the most tiring at the end of the day :)

Lady of the Bann March 19, 2016

I saw that programme last week.
Would the lower paid job enable you to apply for working tax credit? Think that applies for minimum of 16 hours a week. It used to. Have you been offered both jobs?

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ March 22, 2016

Oh that's a good point - I must investigate that. There IS something about being able to work for 16 hours and getting benefits - I know I've seen that somewhere. I haven't been offered any of them - still to apply for the Peterhead one - about to do that this afternoon. The Team Leader of the other one left a message for me yesterday to phone her back to arrange an interview. I couldn't muck her about so cowardly texted her last night to say I was pulling out of the application process because I was dealing with a family illness. Not strictly a lie. Just didn't mention that I was the family illness!! :D

MageB March 19, 2016

It may be only 15 hours a week, but could you deal with three days of 2 hours a day travel? I don't think it would be very functional for me.

Marg MageB ⋅ March 22, 2016

That's the bit which may be my downfall although I have done it before and my health wasn't brilliant then either so it might be possible. I don't think I'll know until I try it.

ODSago MageB ⋅ April 06, 2016

I drove that distance and a bit more to the university when I worked there. Never was a problem. But now, I do get tired when almost home from an hour's drive late at night. However, it gets to be the norm and our bodies can and do adapt if we are well enough. The question is...are you? I listened to the radio, found a talk show...mine was usually returning after dark.... Or put a cd of a novel in to listen to while I drove. Not too distracting and nothing I'd read before.

Marg ODSago ⋅ April 06, 2016

That's the 64 thousand dollar question - I just don't know. I know I'm better than a few months ago certainly but I'm not sure I'm at the point of managing several hours work a week, far less a 2 hour drive 3 times a week! I think the answer can only be found by trying it out. It's maddening though because if I had been born a few years earlier I would have been able to collect my pension at age 60 and that wouldn't then have been a problem financially - I could have carried on quite happily without having to think about returning to work until I felt completely able.

Deleted user March 20, 2016

I love the coat hangers. I have a couple like that myself.

All the best with the jobs...I know you'll come to the right decision.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ March 22, 2016

Thank you!

Ceylon Sapphire March 24, 2016

Thats a really tough position to be in. I would go for the job that held more interest for you. Working is terrible when you are sick at the best of times, imagine having to drag yourself to the job that held no interest when you are feeling down in the dumps. And in the end, we all could be worrying about jobs that there are a million applications for and you wont hear for a good 6 weeks or more..... ugh.

Marg Ceylon Sapphire ⋅ March 25, 2016

That's a very good point.

ODSago Marg ⋅ April 06, 2016

I agree. Eager to know what you decide. You asked about a possible trip to Scotland I would like to take July 2017...My maternal grandmother's family was Scottish on both sides...were Leggs and Kidds, re names so...I am told they were from the Isle of Skye. So...it would be for me a legacy visit. Edinbergh (been there), Isle of Sky and Inverness, and various stops in the Scottish Highlands, Glasgow. Most will be on a bus tour with stops here and there. Three overnight stays of two nights. Edinburgh, Glascow, and somewhere in the Highlands. Hope we might connect somewhere. Not sure now where you are located. Anyway, yours was a most gracious suggestion. I'll remember that.

Marg ODSago ⋅ April 06, 2016

Oh I do hope you get good weather on Skye - it's such a beautiful island (sometimes even in the rain!) :) The stops sound ideal for meeting up - I'm from Inverness and my sister and 2 nieces live there so I could easily meet you up there. I live in Aberdeen - that's 100 miles south-east of Inverness and around 130 miles north of Edinburgh. So one way or another we should manage to connect somehow which will be lovely!

Lady of the Bann Marg ⋅ April 07, 2016

I always wanted to go to Skye too. Think it was the song I sang as a child that did it.

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ April 07, 2016

The one about Bonnie Prince Charlie?

Speed bonny boat like a bird on the wing
Over the sea to Skye
Carries the lad that's born to be king
Over the sea to Skye.

That one?

ODSago Marg ⋅ April 07, 2016

Never heard it and I remember the nursery rhymes pretty well and the little songs we loved...lovely little rippling verse, isn't it?

Marg ODSago ⋅ April 10, 2016

It's a lovely song - if I was a bit more techno savvy I would include a link to a YouTube recording to let you hear it. I have to go out to see Nikki and the girls just now but if I remember when I get back I'll give it a try!

Lady of the Bann Marg ⋅ April 10, 2016

It's ok.
http://youtu.be/86egt8PDmos
I also found Rod Stewart singing it but it was more bagpipes than song.

ODSago Lady of the Bann ⋅ April 10, 2016

Absolutely lovely, haunting with the right mix of sweet and sad to keep one wanting to hum it. We had a sweet song played by a bagpiper at my husband's gathering for the internment of his ashes...a love song. I forget the name right now.

Thank you so much.

Marg ODSago ⋅ April 11, 2016

Ah The Corries - my husband and I went to many a concert of theirs - good times! We also had a bagpiper play at my mother-in-law's funeral - it was Highland Cathedral - I'd never heard it before that day but fell in love with it. Of course now I can't hear it without crying even though I wasn't particularly close to her! There's something just so haunting and poignant hearing the bagpipes at a funeral I think.

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ April 11, 2016

Oh thank you for doing that for me Lynne! Loved hearing the Corries again as well :)

ODSago Marg ⋅ April 10, 2016

Now I heard it just today and love it.

Marg ODSago ⋅ April 11, 2016

Oh good - glad you managed to hear it!

Lady of the Bann Marg ⋅ April 07, 2016

Yes

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ April 10, 2016

Beautiful song :)

edna million April 22, 2016

I had to look ahead to see what was happening with the jobs!! That is a long drive, but I think it's better to go with the one you really want, too- and hopefully you'll be enough improved by the time you start that it won't be such a problem. And it seems like the exhaustion would be worse in a more hectic, stressful job too, that you didn't enjoy as much.

I love those hangers! They do look like they're from the era where people really took care of their clothes. My mom was like that too - washed things by hand, used gloves to put on hose so she wouldn't run them, put everything away.... not sure what happened to me! I actually have some hangers of hers that I kept - they are plastic but the old heavy thick kind, with metal clasps to hang trousers on. I kept them because she wrote her name on them. I'm not sure why, although she did travel with church friends at times. Maybe she feared them making off with her nicely cared for clothes??

Marg edna million ⋅ April 26, 2016

Oh I know the kind you mean - they drive me bonkers cos I can never work the metal clasps properly! And you never know when you're going to meet a clothes thief - better to be safe than sorry :¬D

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.