About those crazy ads.. in Site Updates

  • March 21, 2024, 9:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey everyone,

First, thanks for all of your help with the initial testing of the beta site! We still have a lot of work ahead of us to iron out the bugs, but it’s really promising to have made so much progress in such a short amount of time. A breath of fresh air, truly. More to come on that front soon.

Anyway, let’s talk about that craziness with the ads that was affecting those of you that don’t subscribe. A week or two back I started getting emails from users telling me “enough with the ads!!”. I had no clue what was going on, so I hit up Buffy. Here’s a little peek behind the curtain:

alt text

Okay, it wasn’t either of us. So uh.. what could it be? I dug into it, and it turns out that for some reason Google Adsense (the platform we use to run ads on the site) decided to start running experiments on its own. Like, it just went for it. This included ads in the middle of entries, in comment lists, basically anywhere it felt like shoving them. The feature is called “Auto Ads” and yeah — it’s a lot! I went in and turned it off, and, well.. it then turned itself back on. Multiple times! As a sanity check Buffy went in to try turning it off himself, and I guess it likes him better or something because it stuck after that. Whew.

The funny thing about all this is that despite the frankly horrible user experience, revenue did go up by 15% during the experiment. So, in Google’s eyes that was a total success. Me? Not so much. Yeesh.

Anywho, that’s that. We’re busy bees behind the scenes working on the beta, more to come on that very soon.

A story in three parts:
alt text
alt text
alt text

<3,
-J


Last updated March 21, 2024


Pretend Mulling March 21, 2024

There are extensions that should block the worst of the ads. I'm on Firefox and use AdGuard AdBlocker and Privacy Badger. Both are free, and they work really well. (I don't use Chrome or Safari, so I don't know what extensions they have.)

josh Pretend Mulling ⋅ March 21, 2024

Those extensions are great and I use them myself, but I'd politely urge you to turn them off on Prosebox (or subscribe if you want to get rid of the ads completely), as our already pretty meager ad revenue has been steadily declining year over year.

Jodie March 21, 2024

I wonder why I have never seen an dde here? Maybe they like canadoians better and maybe we have different laws? Just so you and Buffy both know I really appreciate everything you do for us.

Shattered March 21, 2024

I am also noticing the spam is making a comeback…

TellTaleHeart March 21, 2024

Thanks for fixing that!

DE_KentuckyGirl March 21, 2024

I sent an email. The block function isn't working for me.

NorthernSeeker March 22, 2024

Bedtime for Moki, that's the story I see. Thanks for your work.

Mr. Mofo March 23, 2024

Is Mochi preparing for their opera debut?

Oswego March 24, 2024

How do we donate to Prosebox. I’ve been here ten years now, and it’s a vital part of my daily life! Thank you!!

synapse March 31, 2024

thanks for the update (and explaining why it is worth it to Google). glad you don't share their priorities. sorry I'm too broke to hold up my end. I'm no developer but if my time is needed please do HMU.

SambucaofDoom April 04, 2024

Mochi is so cute!!! ^^

Charlotte, Light and Dark April 13, 2024 (edited April 13, 2024)

Edited

DISGUSTED to see snti-Biden merchandise being advised here. I thought you were better than that. Damn.

josh Charlotte, Light and Dark ⋅ April 17, 2024

The process by which ads are chosen by Google to show up on the site is opaque and automated. I don't go out and hand pick them, and I certainly don't "partner" with the companies that pay for ad impressions. An ad being shown on Prosebox in no way implies endorsement. That said, the tasteless t-shirt ads have all been blocked. If you see other ads like that show up please shoot me a screencap. I assume it's only going to get worse as we get closer to Nov

Charlotte, Light and Dark josh ⋅ 3 days ago

Thank you! The stakes have never been higher!

sparklespeterson April 15, 2024

I cannot find my account information
I've looked under settings, and there is nothing there

Could someone please help me?
I was told that I was no longer subscribed, but when I put in my email address, it tells me that I already have an account.

Thank you :)

Bealan 1 day ago

Games, from immersive video games to engaging board games, play a pivotal role in modern entertainment and learning. They not only offer fun and relaxation but also serve as important educational tools, enhancing problem-solving skills, strategic thinking, and collaboration. TPplay login Video games, in particular, have evolved into complex narratives that rival film and literature, offering players deep storylines and character development. Additionally, games foster social connections, allowing players to interact across global networks. Whether for leisure or education, games are a dynamic and integral part of culture, continuously adapting and influencing technology and creativity.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.