First appointment with therapist in Age 36

  • Nov. 6, 2023, 2:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I had written that my mental health had taken a dump after my son was hospitalized. (Read previous entries titled ‘Son Hospitalized’ for further details.) I booked the appointment way back in early October I think. I even forgot about it until I got the reminder emails. I went ahead with the appointment, but I thought that I was doing a lot better so I might not need it after all. Pffft. If there is one area of the body that really doesn’t like to be bothered, its the conscious mind.

I gave her my history on my depression and such, and then finally reached where my son was hospitalized. I started crying and didn’t know why. I kept asking her and even myself, why am I crying? I am over this. Its done. He’s home and healthy. WTF? She asked some follow up questions, and then said that it sounded like I have triggers. That there is still a fear in me that I have not dealt with that needs to be.

I used to be really bad, like self harm (not cutting) bad. I used to have to find physical release to have emotional release. Like punching a hard surface. It felt good to feel the pain and to let the emotions go. Doing this is also my drug. I love to journal. Does anyone read it? I dunno. Hopefully some do. I have some good nuggets in my entries about depression, and what it feels like.

I feel lighter right now. I haven’t felt this way in a while. I think this was a good step, and I hope I am able to find healing from what I went through. Cheers to everyone going through the shit right now. You can get through it friends. It just takes having to get through the stinky, sticky, thick shit.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.