Why Is It People Always Think About The Negitive? in Me Being Me

Revised: 06/29/2023 9:20 a.m.

  • June 29, 2023, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Have you ever had wild animals like dogs, cats and even racoons come to your home because you are the only one who will feed them? How can people afford to do that? And the thing is the one brongs their whole family and expect to get fed. But have your ever thought about what diseases these animals have? And what if they scratch or bite you then what?
Here where I live we are told not to feed any wild animals and to call the B.C. S.P.C.A. and they will take the animal and re-locate it or take it to be fixed up and adopted out. But they always make sure the animal is healthy and is not sick.
Why do people always think that if they call for help that these animals will be killed? The only way they get put to rest is if they are really sick and all other options have been tried and failed.
And don’t you find it expensive to be feeding these animals?
All I know is that feeding these wild animals is not a good idea because they are all smart enough to find food on their own. They are really good at getting what they want and need.
Here in B.C. this is how the S.P.C.A. deals with wild animals. I think it’s really good that they care so much.

https://www.google.com/search?q=what+is+the+protocall+for+the+B.C.S.P.C.A.+when+they+find+wild+animals%3F&rlz=1C1CHBF_enCA882CA882&oq=what+is+the+protocall+for+the+B.C.S.P.C.A.+when+they+find+wild+animals%3F&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUyBggAEEUYOdIBCTQyMDk1ajBqN6gCALACAA&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

So not all animal shelters kills their animals they find. And B.C. has strict laws and they have to be followed.

Onto something else…

I would like to thank everyone who left me notes yesterday it made me feel like I belong here. And the ones who did leave me a note I do read you every time I see you have posted an entry and I do read it and comment on it for the most part. So thank you.

Onto something else…

Every day or so I get a new screen saver at the start of turning on my lap top and so far the pictures have been really cool. It’s mostly places around the world and what can be found in space. Today I saw something called Andromeda Galaxy. I have never heard of it but I do know that there is a lot of people who have. Especially if they whatch the skys at night.

Journey to the Andromeda Galaxy (You Tube)

Well, it’s Thirsday and tomorrow I get to go see what is wrong with me and see if something can be done. And I am also going for a check up for my hearing aids. I think I accidently thurned them off and I am not sure how to turn them on and I don’t really hear any sounds that are different so maybe I have them in wrong? I will find out tomorrow. And I am thinking maybe I will go for a hair cut.

And todays activities will entail me doing laundry and folding it and putting it away....Oh what joy that will be…

Well, I need to stop here…
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe, and Behave.


Last updated June 29, 2023


theKat June 29, 2023

I am guilty of feeding wild critters

Jodie theKat ⋅ June 29, 2023

do you always have the whole family to feed or just one every month or so?

theKat Jodie ⋅ June 29, 2023

not sure what you are asking? I feed birds and squirrels.... maybe a stray cat if one hangs around the house for a bit

Jodie theKat ⋅ June 29, 2023

Like when my brother in law had the family of raccoons come to eat he went and got a 20 pound bag of dog food and fed it to them. I told him not to but he wouldn't listen and the rats we didn't have we suddenly did have. Do you have bird feeders? And do the squirrels get peanuts with the shell?

Jodie theKat ⋅ June 29, 2023

Like when my brother in law had the family of raccoons come to eat he went and got a 20 pound bag of dog food and fed it to them. I told him not to but he wouldn't listen and the rats we didn't have we suddenly did have. Do you have bird feeders? And do the squirrels get peanuts with the shell?

theKat Jodie ⋅ June 29, 2023

I have never seen a rat in our area... in large cities I have but not here

Jodie theKat ⋅ June 29, 2023

Yeah they are big and ugly and they smell...I know this because we had rats in our laundry room and it took forever for the slum lord to cement the holes in the walls....

toddslife June 29, 2023

my wood feed stray cats that would come around her house that people dropped off

Jodie toddslife ⋅ June 29, 2023

I know I wouldn't be able to afford it for long..it does get expensive depending on what you feed them.

toddslife Jodie ⋅ June 29, 2023

sorry meant to say my mom would feed them dry cat food and sometimes canned cat food these was years when food was cheaper than it is known

Jodie toddslife ⋅ June 30, 2023

Yeah I know.

.bleu. June 30, 2023

My ex's mom and dad would feed stray cats in their neighborhood. Would actually buy catfood at the store for them. Obviously they'd get the cheapest catfood, so they could afford it.
Only wild animals I ever fed were ducks at my park. I bought a 10lb bag of duckfeed one time and it lasted a month because I'd only give them a handful at a time and would mostly only feed 2 specific ducks. I stopped after a while and just fed them stuff in my lunch that they could eat. People feed them all the time so I never went crazy feeding then because I didn't want them sick. I eventually fully stopped because I lost interest.

Jodie .bleu. ⋅ June 30, 2023

The thing about feeding wild animals of any kind is that they become dependent on you feeding them and they won't eat what they are suppose to eat and all wild life officials always say don't feed them.

.bleu. Jodie ⋅ June 30, 2023 (edited June 30, 2023)

Edited

I would think a wild animal wouldn't risk starving over handouts. Just common sense.. Wild animals are survivors and if they were hungry enough, I'm pretty sure they'd go back to their natural ways after a while, or its been known some resort to cannibalism if they're hungry enough..
My domesticated great dane will eventually eat her kibble in her bowl over starvation if she doesn't get scraps or her wet food long enough. I think people just say that type of bullshit to deter people from feeding wild animals so they dont feed them the wrong food because people dont do research. A lot of people assume animals are stupid enough to allow themselves to die if they dont get scraps. They aren't.
I'm sure if you were hungry enough, the food you found disgusting or boring would sound delicious after sometime.

Jodie .bleu. ⋅ June 30, 2023

Have you seen what the Black Bears are doing now and the cougars? They are going into peoples homes and eating their garbage and food that is left out and the consevation people have to either move them or kill them because they have been way too comfortable around humans.

.bleu. Jodie ⋅ June 30, 2023 (edited June 30, 2023)

Edited

Bears have always been scavengers and they are omnivores(eat both meat and veggies). They also have excellent sense of smell and obviously they love sweets because sweets pack on the fat they need to hibernate.
Cougars and other big cats are strictly carnivores so I'm guessing because people invade their habitats, people are running into them a lot more. Or unless people leave out meat, they'll steal it, but even then, I think cougars prefer to kill and eat their prey. They aren't scavengers like bears, unless theyre desperate. Only reason the conservationists kill the animal if if they've killed a person, otherwise they just relocate them.

Jodie .bleu. ⋅ June 30, 2023

We now have laws that if we feed the wild animals we can get a huge fine and most people can't afford it.

.bleu. Jodie ⋅ June 30, 2023 (edited June 30, 2023)

Edited

Seems like Canada has laws about everything. Haha, it's just as bad as California. I bet they got envirometal laws about trimming bushes and trees, so it's basically a tinderbox, just like California. That's why California goes up in flames so often. God forbid you clear out dead dry brush because it's "cutting down trees and killing the environment" 🙄
It wasn't until the Camp Fire up in Paradise, CA that trapped and killed so many people and homes, that they finally started cutting back the brush around power lines and clearing out dead trees...
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camp_Fire_(2018)

And I guess to answer the question in your title. It's not always people thinking about the negative, it's just people are being realistic. There's a lot of negative shit going on in the world that leaves a lot of people feeling hopeless and negative because other people's decisions(politicians) have impacted other people's lives negatively. Some of these laws impacts people's rights and prevents them from successful or benefitting from their success, so yeah, that's why people think so negatively.
An example would be the Camp Fire... Laws made it possible to create a tinderbox in Paradise, CA... PG&E sparked that fire by faulty equipment... 85 people died and all they got was 13.5 billion in stock shares, not actual money. The victims don't even know what they'll be paid or if they even will. PG&E got away with negligent murder as far as I'm concerned... They're still around making money, being the top electricity and gas provider in the area. It's always the corporations stepping on the little guys or civilians. They always get a break... because usually the corporations are so corrupt and in kahoots with the government, where they donate to campaigns to establish an agenda that leaves the people worse off... it's disgusting, but it's the negative reality of our world today.

Jodie .bleu. ⋅ June 30, 2023

The only law that I have knowledge of is we are not allowed to cut or trim the Dogwood Tree because that is our national tree.
Tree protection bylaws typically allow individuals to cut, remove, or alter protected trees if they first obtain a tree permit. This section outlines the application require- ments for obtaining a tree permit, such as fees and accompanying documents.

.bleu. Jodie ⋅ June 30, 2023

Yeah we have laws where you can't pick California poppies unless they're on your own property because they are the state flower.

Asenath Waite June 30, 2023

Do you also take issue with people who give food to the homeless? They're more dangerous than wildlife. Raccoons won't break into your house, or leave dirty needles on the sidewalk.

Most animal shelters give cats and dogs two weeks, then they're euthanized. From a Canadian study: "Of the 67 establishments that responded to the survey, 7 establishments stated they did not euthanize animals at all, 20 performed euthanasia at their premises, 24 sent animals to veterinary premises, and 16 establishments undertook euthanasia at their own premises and at a veterinary practice."
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3003577/

Have you ever had pets? When was the last one? How did it die?

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ June 30, 2023

Actually my son had sat with and paid for many homeless people so they could have a nice hot meal at a restaurant and sat and talked to them while they were eating so yeah there are people that do that. And I have paid for someone to havea coffee when I was having one.
I have had a dog growing up and it was 16 before it died and my brother has had about 4 dogs in his adult life and they were all the same age when they died of a brain issue.
But I would never ever give a dog or cat to any animal shelter I would be giving them to people who actually wanted a pet.

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ June 30, 2023

"But I would never ever give a dog or cat to any animal shelter I would be giving them to people who actually wanted a pet."

Then, knowing that the BCASPCA doesn't take random strays, (I checked. They're a no kill shelter, and they only take surrendered pets), would you still call Animal Control on someone feeding stray cats?

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ June 30, 2023

No I wouldn't because I think that is very nice that the person is taking the time and expense to make sure they are healthy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.