A SMALL FOUNTAIN in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 7, 2021, 12:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

I had never read the plaque before. On the back of the fountain is a plaque to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ernestine_Schumann-Heink . She was one of mother’s favorite singers. On the front is this dark shape. Finally today, almost 80 years after I began going to the park, I enlarged it enough so I could read it.

It says, “HEREIN are the SIGNATURES of the WORKERS whose untiring and loyal efforts made possible the CALIFORNIA pacific international EXPOSITION 1936.”

Fascinating stuff.

Himself: Taking my scooter to get a new tire, lunch, museum.
Myself: Bad Night. Reading, exercise, Scooter, lunch, Balboa Park, read.
Reading: Bujold
Watching: The Olympics.
Photo: Mine: Fountain outside the Organ Pavilion.
Weather: 75 and cloudy at the moment.
Gratitude’s: That I almost have a sense of humor.


woman in the moon August 07, 2021

Almost a sense of humor is a pretty great thing to have.
I appreciate the plaque honoring the workers too.
Just reading Paris by Edward Rutherfurd - who is said to be like James Michener in that he writes vast well researched epics? Have you run across him? He had books about London and New York and probably others.
In Paris he wrote about building the Eiffel Tower. They had extensive safety measures including harnesses and nets, but one man fell and died. The head builder, Eiffel? maybe, fired whoever he determined might be responsible and as punishment left his name off the list of people who had worked on the tower.
I did not research this and I did not even read Rutherfurd very carefully, but it's a coincidence to you plaque.
I find these Worlds Fair/Expositions more and more interesting. Read Mike Todd's wiki and it had interesting Chicago and New York Worlds Fairs stories.

NorthernSeeker August 08, 2021

You make me think of humour and smiling.

Jinn August 08, 2021

You have a fine sense of humor.

Marg August 08, 2021

Interesting plaque - where are the actual signatures? Sorry you had a rough night.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.