Mele Kalikimaka in Life

  • Dec. 10, 2019, 8:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s December 10th. I woke up, tired as usual, in my bed at my house (down the shore), got my stuff together, walked outside and… what is this sorcery? It felt like 60 degrees! Yesterday was on the warmer side but rainy, so it didn’t feel as warm, and it’s just positive balmy out this morning (I think rain is in the forecast again and a little misty this morning). And hey, I care about climate change and global warming and all that (in fact, I am starting to see some pretty bad beach erosion on my own beach that is making me worried) but damn, when it’s 60 degrees in December and the cold makes you depressed, it is hard to feel anything negative about it. Apparently tomorrow is high of 39 and snow, so I guess I shouldn’t get too excited.

Moose is at work with me today (and yesterday too) and probably tomorrow, for some end of semester stress relief for my students, but also because some guy knocked on our door asking about my dads old Honda Accord and if it’s for sale. Said he buys old cars. But, it’s weird because it’s usually on the inside of the driveway, barely any traffic on our block, and it’s not obviously beaten down and such. I thought it was kinda shady so I’m nervous about the dog being alone during the day in case he’s coming back to rob my parents house. The up side is obviously it’s nice to get to pet him during the day but sometimes he’s a bit of a nudge and tries to get out of my office because he wants to run down the hallway!

We’ve almost survived the semester! Today is my last day of teaching, then finals week starts Thursday. My class’ final is Tuesday and then officially done. It feels like it flew by (which always scares me and my biological clock haha), but also took forever and everyone’s exhausted and it’s hard for everyone to get through. The holidays are a weird spread this year where if you take off the day before xmas eve, and stay out until Jan 2nd, it’s almost two full weeks because of weekends, so I may do that and take a true break this time… usually I like to come in a day or two during the break to organize my desk and appreciate the quiet of no students, but I’m so exhausted by it all, I don’t know.

I’m not even decorated for xmas yet! Just my tree is up. However, last year I left my decorations up until the end of February since I had a disney trip planned and was also too lazy before that… also my living room is dark since the ceiling light is so high, so I like the light of my bright white christmas tree!

Not sure if we’re going to have family drama at christmas. My nan died this year, so my mom might be upset, but the main thing is my one cousin (who I grew up with close like sisters) hasn’t really spoken to us since last christmas (in which she ditched, cancelled christmas for her kids blaming it on her daughter but it was because of her, and then proceeded to make plans with us and ditch us again), just saw her at easter which was awkward, and now she’s moved back in with her dad (after a bankruptcy last year, she lost her home to foreclosure this year) who is a pos. Her sister is really upset, I think she also likely just won’t show up- which I suppose is best case scenario. She has 3 kids, and the oldest I was very very close with when he was little (But she clearly doesn’t want me in his life), so that’s a real loss. But, it’s toxic. Her mom is my aunt that died in 2010, and her death is the main reason christmas has been somewhat melancholy ever since, she was my second mom.

Christmasy plans for the next few weeks: christmas visit to a brewery with a friend this week, Sunday with my other cousin Lolly and her two kids- the zoo lights!, next Wednesday doing the drive through light display with her and the kids, plus helping to wrap their presents after they go to bed (one of my fave activities), next Saturday Yuletide tour in Cape May with a trolley tour of lights and a guided tour of the downstairs of a historic building, and then after Christmas, me Lolly and the kids are going to visit Peddler’s village on her birthday (which I am very excited about seeing her on her birthday too, I usually don’t).

Hopefully having a date or two also? Been talking to a few guys but no meeting yet. One of them seems very successful but also I think we might clash (though he seems open to the idea of a friend baby so that might be worth it haha), the other is struggling with some things lately but seems to be a better personality match. Of course, it’s almost NEVER both… hahaha.

Alright, I have some grading to do. Trying to do a better job with writing occasionally!


DE_KentuckyGirl December 10, 2019

Our weather has been nuts too! But we are about to get super cold again! We won't put our tree up until we are in Florida.

DE_nobelle DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ December 11, 2019

It's def winter today, cold and snow! So weird all the shifting back and forth that seems commonplace nowadays!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.