Christmas ugh in Bittersweet

  • Nov. 6, 2019, 11:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dont get me wrong i LOVE Christmas. I utterly adore it. We actually Celebrate Yule not Christmas. We prefer the older traditions. But I dont wanna go into that now lol.
Christmas is going to be interesting this year. First of all, Money is SO very tight right now. Husband said he has a project at work in Alaska. But im not sure how that is going to go really. He dosent think he has to fly up. I really hope not. We dont even have space on the credit card for a flight right now. Maybe he could pay for it from the business account?
My kids are very confusing about Christmas anyway. When you ask what they want. They dont know. It dosent stop them from asking for 50 things at the store. But nothing you feel like they REALLY want. Im going to get a yearly membership to the zoo here. Im thinking i may just hit up the dollar store for small things for stockings. Slime, play doh, glow sticks, candy. That kind of thing. Teenager wants headphones. Ive bought him about 6 pair in the last year including two nicer more expensive pair. I dont feel like getting him more at this point. Daughter wants random stuff, girly toys. Maybe some art supplies, 8 year old wants legos, 10 year old wants a video game. 12 year old wants video games.
This part of Christmas i really hate. Finding gifts. None are really meaningful for them it feels. But we did spend so much getting here, they all seem to understand its going to be a light year anyway. for the 5, i try not to spend more then 700. Normally i do try to get things ahead of time, but this year was so different and ugh that it just isnt working out.
my plan right now, is to stick to some smaller things for them. And try to find something they really like. Harder for the teenager. Maybe make them some new hat and scarves. although they really dont care that much for them and i think i make them more for me then for them lol.
I also want to knit little girl a dress. Again, mostly for me and not for her at all lol. I want her in one. Im going to have to get decent at sewing different pieces of knits together then! its not seamless lol.
Ahh i dont know. I guess we will figure it out as we go along. We always do!


Jinn November 07, 2019

Our budget is tight this year too : F. Has changed jobs too many times with too long of intervals between:-( . Christmas money went to bridge the gaps. I get annoyed at F. Just thinking about it . He always expects me to figure it out . I probably will :-)
I am glad I do not have little kids , those days were much harder . I wish you big luck !

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 07, 2019

We will get it! We always do. I just like to vent a a bit about it. My kids are ok with only getting a few small gifts for the most part. As long as they get a computer game or something haha.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 07, 2019

Yeah, we always pull it off too . Somehow.

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 07, 2019

The job changes are what gets you really.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.