Blurb or Blerb? in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • Nov. 5, 2019, 6:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Which spelling do you prefer? I’ve seen it both ways and I would personally make the argument that the factual, actual correct spelling is “blurb” but at the same time I do see the value in “blerb” in order to mean something that is not a “blurb”. The term “blurb” is a short promotional piece accompanying a piece of creative work. The term “blurb” is also a Trademarked Company name. Therefore, the use of the current non-word “blerb” can denote simply “a short written piece” and, via spelling, separate it in meaning and spirit from both “blurb” and “Blurb”.

Play practice is going… okay. I understand my character well enough that, even when I don’t get all the lines RIGHT I still get across the basic meaning. I am a lot more okay with that than I have any right to be. I should want to make sure I say all the right words at exactly the right time but at the same time? The… level of performance… does also play on my mind. I mean… the play starts in less than 10 days. The set isn’t finished, we don’t have all of our props, and we don’t have costumes. 10 days. Tonight is our first night even rehearsing the full play without scripts! We have 8 rehearsals until Curtain. Practicing with our props… practicing with our set… practicing with our costumes… all of these are important things that… maybe I was spoiled before but… one would expect to have resolved prior to this point?? I mean… I get it. ALL of my theater experience prior to this was… bigger. Theaters designed to hold hundreds, stages with full proscenium, light boards.... this? This is a theater designed to hold less than 90, a carved out space in an abandoned church, with a row of lights pointed at it. But that doesn’t mean I don’t want to do a good job. I really need to run my lines more!

In other news? Party went well. Most notable thing to say is that Nala made a new best friend. Jane brought her 2 year old and he and Nala ran and played all night. He started crying when they left because he didn’t want to leave Nala! :) :p

Also, it looks like the Judge is trying really hard to not have a jury trial this week; so I may be spared covering my boss on that.

Also, I am down to 212 lbs these days. It has been consistent enough that I don’t mind sharing that. So… from the beginning of the year, I am down 23 pounds. I doubt I’ll hit the 200 mark by end of year, but I’m going to keep trying. I figure I might be able to hit my goal weight if my trends continue for another year or two. Though, it is funny. LOADS of people look at me and say, “You don’t have another 50 pounds to lose!” And I somewhat agree with them… but the belly has to go and I’d like my face structure to return to a more recognizable shape. So, I’ll keep going until those two problems have sorted themselves out.

That’s about it for now. May come back later and write about Borderlands 3.


hippiechica15 November 05, 2019

23 pounds is nothing to sneeze at! Good for you, keep working to that goal.

10 days out sure SOUNDS like you should have props/costumes be working with them!!!

And it's blurb.

DE_KentuckyGirl November 05, 2019

I don't think I've ever seen it spelled "blerb".

Foofah November 05, 2019

I have never seen it spelled blerb before.
Glad the party went well and Nala made a new friend!

Amaryllis November 06, 2019

Proud of you for the weight loss. I wonder if the play practice is part of where the accelerated pace of the last few weeks is coming from?

Always Laughing November 06, 2019

Congrats on 23 pounds. Good luck with the play. I was in musicals in high school we had exactly 2 full dress rehearsals and that's it lol.

Purple Dawn November 06, 2019

Blurb, I've never seen 'blerb' before.
I'm glad your party was a success.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.