Panhandling: The Moral Dilemma in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Aug. 12, 2019, 3:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My whole life I’ve been aware of the homeless among us. I remember like it was yesterday driving with my parents in downtown New Orleans and going down Camp Street, which was the city’s Skid Row at the time. I was about 11 or 12 and I remember looking out the window in wide-eyed fascination at the broken bottles and litter on the sidewalks, the abandoned buildings, but most of all, the people lined up at the Ozanam Inn, the one and only homeless shelter run by a Catholic order, I forget which one. This was before the days when drug addiction and crack cocaine and meth were widespread or even known about to any extent. The hapless men lying on the sidewalks were all, it was presumed, alcoholics down on their luck, “bums” as people called them. I wondered how people and places like this could exist in my tidy, childlike middle class suburban universe. My world was a place where respectable houses and neat lawns and front yards lined the streets, overhung with shady oak trees. On Camp Street I felt like I was looking out on an alien world, a place I couldn’t comprehend and thus feared.

The memories of that street have stayed with me over the decades, but as I moved on in my life and careers, I lived and worked in smaller towns and cities and didn’t notice the problems that festered in bigger cities. Even in Columbia in the 1970s, I wasn’t too aware of it, even though there was a large shelter downtown.

When I was in junior high and high school more than 50 years ago, I’d go shopping on New Orleans’ famed, wide and teeming main thoroughfare, Canal Street. It was a fascinating time and place to wander the streets of a big city, and on Canal Street there were huge department stores and dime stores, air-conditioned icy cool. What a relief to step into one of those stores on a sweltering Saturday afternoon in semi-tropical New Orleans. But often, I would spot outside the store, and in other locations along the street, men with missing legs in wheelchairs holding tin cans in hopes of getting passerby to drop in a few coins. I was aghast at this sight and hurried along my way.

I’ve lived in Charleston 25 years now, and there are a lot of homeless in this city, drawn here for many of the same reasons they came to New Orleans. When I was a kid, it didn’t occur to me that the homeless might be residents of the city. Maybe I thought they were modern-day hoboes who still hopped freight trains and cross-crossed the country, restless, aimless wanderers who were supposed to possess the ultimate freedom — nothing to tie them down. Perhaps in the 1930s that was one way to survive the Great Depression. But the reality today is far different. Homelessness is an outgrowth of lack of treatment for the mentally ill, including many homeless veterans, out-of-control substance abuse, a nationwide lack of affordable housing, and the terrible misfortunes that strike people of all classes of society at all stages of life. To me, homelessness exposes the rot at the core of an unequal and unjust society where money rules and greed corrupts.

Over the years I’ve often been approached by panhandlers asking for “a couple of dollars for bus fare.” No more “Can you spare some change?” Inflation, you know. I mostly assumed these individuals, men as well as women, were homeless and hungry or desperate. Why on earth would anyone ask for money from strangers? Or were they shrewd con artists hustling up to a hundred dollars on a good day? Who’s to know? So I mostly just passed by, mumbling “sorry” or something equally lame.

Sometimes I’ll listen to their stories for a few seconds or minutes then quickly make my exit from a scenario that always troubles my conscience. Yes, they’re most likely going to use whatever I give them for beer, wine or worse, but again, how am I to know? They’re probably really hungry. But in my mind, I always say to myself that I’ve contributed to the local homeless shelter and food bank for many years, so why don’t they just go there instead of bothering me and shaking the wobbly foundations of my house built on sand of excuses and rationalizations.

So I always come out of these encounters feeling a bit ashamed, slightly soiled by the gritty realities of life that I mostly manage to elude and keep compartmentalized. But if I’m the Christian I profess to be, but who often fails mightily at living up to the core values and tenets of his religion, can I ever justify not helping someone in need, even if they’re only using the small sum of money you’re giving them for alcohol or drugs?

In Matthew 25:40 are these words, “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ “ I’ve come to the conclusion now that if someone asks me for money I’m going to give them something. Not a card that gives them the address of the homeless shelter.

Our local newspaper carried a big article and editorial last year citing the admonition of police and city officials for people not to give money to panhandlers because of many of the reasons I cited above.. Back then when I first read it I said, “Okay, that’s the answer to this terrible moral dilemma. Now I have an excuse and a rationale, a reason not to give in to the unkempt and wild-eyed mendicants who approach me. I can’t escape from the problem, but I don’t have to support their drug habits. End of story.

A couple of months ago in the parking lot of the post office a man made a beeline for me, requesting a couple of dollars. Hesitating only for a moment, I pulled out my wallet and gave him a dollar. “Thanks,” he said, and went on his way. For once I didn’t feel guilty or embarrassed for myself or the person asking for the money. It would have been easier to just say, “sorry” and forget about it. But it’s never been easy for me to do that. I always had to struggle with my conscience. Not anymore, if I can help it.

A month later I was coming out of Dollar Tree and there was a man soliciting money for homeless veterans. That particular store apparently allows solicitation. I didn’t see the man, and he didn’t ask me for anything, but I overheard a young guy tell his companion, “I buy lunch for a bum at least twice a week.” I had to laugh because I’ve never done anything like that. I thought they’d just get belligerent if I offered to buy them some food. We all have our own way of dealing with this. I’m not going to judge anyone, but I recall many years ago seeing a man unhesitatingly deposit some money in the hand of a beggar. I remember thinking, “Wow, that person has a heart. I should be more like him.”

As they say, “There but for the grace of God go I.”


Last updated August 12, 2019


KendraVox August 12, 2019

I try to always keep some high-protein granola bars in the car for that exact purpose. If they don't accept it, fine, but I never give them cash. If I know I'm going downtown (or anywhere where there are likely to be panhandlers) I try to remember to transfer the granola bars from the car into my handbag so that I can hand them out. If they won't accept it or they try to tell me they need cash, I just tell them sorry, this is what I have. I'd say 9 times out of 10 they really are hungry and they say thank you and bless you. I understand that the granola bar won't help them with bus fare, but I just take the mental attitude of "this is what I have to give, it's your choice if you take it or not" (in a loving way though).

Oswego KendraVox ⋅ August 12, 2019

You’re doing what you think is right in those situations and they get some sustenance. I also like the idea of simply giving them a card with the addresses of local resources for the hungry and homeless.

A Pedestrian Wandering August 12, 2019

Thanks for writing this. I don't remember which, but there was a comedian who said his friends admonished him for giving the homeless cash because they were just going to use it to buy booze and drugs. He told them that's perfect because that's what HE was going to do with the money!

That Bible quote hung over my head as well. I've always given a few dollars when asked - if I had it to give. Only once do I remember someone complaining, when I only had change.

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ August 12, 2019

I’ve mostly done nothing for the individual mendicant on the street who asks for money. I always rationalized and had an excuse. I don’t want to do that anymore.

Kristi1971 August 12, 2019

I buy a meal. One afternoon, I invited a homeless woman to lunch with me. We shared a meal and conversation. Since she was then a patron of the restaurant, it also gave her a chance to use the restroom with dignity. She was a good woman just down on her luck. No drug problem....a divorce problem with no place to go trying to figure it out. She moved away from her home state to do this and ended up homeless. We were appreciative for each other to share stories of our lives. She was a kind-hearted soul who got lost. Once she had a meal, she went on her way, and I've never seen her again. I think of her often though, hoping that she got some things together.

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ August 12, 2019

That was a beautiful story. Thank you for sharing it.

Newzlady August 12, 2019

I’m happy not to encounter many beggars. I’m instantly suspicious and conflicted.

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ August 12, 2019

Conflicted for me is an understatement.

MageB August 12, 2019

I was homeless in the early seventies. Many who are like me won't go to treatment centers because of the"God" issue.

Telstar August 12, 2019

Around here the homeless ask for gas money to get to Houston for various reasons. The difficulty is when the same homeless person needs that gas money to get to Houston several weeks in a row.

We have a pretty good homeless shelter but they won't take anyone who is intoxicated or causes trouble...…….

ConnieK August 12, 2019

Giving cash enables them to stay addicted to whatever is keeping them on the street. We have professional panhandlers here. One woman was filmed driving away in a new Cadillac. When the reporter stopped her, she said, "I make $300 a day panhandling. Why should I work?"

The better thing to do is to say, "I don't have any money to give you, but here are some resources that can help you. Then give the person a card to different organizations that help the homeless and direct your money to them. They know how not to become a toxic charity (one that does harm but means good).

I say this to you as a mother of a son who became addicted to opioids. I know your intentions are honorable and I've done the same but here is what I've learned: giving money to an addict helps to kill him. I know it's hard, but withholding money from them actually helps them hit bottom faster so they can get treatment faster.

God bless you for your big heart. As a director of a non-profit, I can tell you donors like you are hard to find. So on behalf of those on the front lines in your town, I say thank you for stepping up.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ August 12, 2019

Thank you for your thought-provoking comment that obviously comes from the heart. I understand what you are saying. I will continue to give to the homeless shelter and food bank that I have supported for so many years.

Professional panhandlers are a very small minority, I believe, and are probably petty criminals as well. I’m approached by someone for money maybe once or twice a year, so it’s a rare occurrence, but I’m left with the same miserable feeling every time I pass someone up who seems genuinely desperate and homeless. Most of them are hungry and in need. I don’t feel I can prejudge whether they are addicted to drugs or alcohol. I’ll never know that.

The behavior of professional panhandlers is despicable, and they will have to answer for it one way or another.

Marg August 13, 2019

It's a difficult one. If you give them money it could be perpetuating their problems even though you feel better for it. I think offering food is a better idea but then it might not be what they actually need at that particular point in time.
I used to buy the Big Issue, a magazine produced by the homeless via a homeless charity which homeless people were allowed to sell in the street and profit from. That way it took away a bit of the embarrassment on both sides and kept some dignity.

Oswego Marg ⋅ August 14, 2019

It’s a terrible quandary because you don’t want to support the professional panhandlers or drug users, but who can tell? People are hungry and desperate and the way the world’s going now it’s going to get a lot worse.

Marg Oswego ⋅ August 14, 2019

Exactly and you don't want the genuine folk to suffer because of the scammers.

Sugar Magnolia September 04, 2019

9/4/19 - You and your sweet mama are heavy on my mind.

Tehachap September 12, 2019

I've had mixed experiences with dealing with street beggars. Years ago I was approached as I came out of an office building where I worked. I had half of a large sandwich left from lunch in a sack. The grungy man asked me for change and said he was hungry. I said here's a sandwich and all the change I have left in my wallet. I walked in one direction, heading for my car and he walked in the opposite direction. I happened to turn around a few feet away and watched as he tossed the sandwich into the bushes alongside the sidewalk. I stood there and wondered how hungry he was that he would throw food away without even looking at it. Another time I gave a homeless person a whole chicken -- thinking he could cook it over a campfire. He looked at me and said, "I'd prefer money if you don't mind." Anymore, I'm like you, I'm conflicted about whether to enable the person by giving them money or to say "Sorry" and pray for them. There's all sorts of public and private assistance organizations that people can get help from if they want it. Isn't there???? What's the true answer here?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.