Operation Parliament Hill in Life

  • July 10, 2019, 9:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s no real secret that as of late Pam and I have been wanting to get out of London (Ontario, for those keeping track) I have another post on a different site and I may repost here but in that post I talked about my childhood etc and really fleshed out a lot of what I didn’t like about how I grew up.

Really picked at those scars y’know?

So after I wrote that entry about how I didn’t want Elly to grow up around the same cynical family that I grew up with, I went to talk to Pam about how much I enjoyed being around her family and how much I thought her family was a better influence and how she’s been making so many sacrifices for so long it’s about time that she started looking out for herself and focusing on really re-connecting those strong family bonds that I just didn’t have. One of those “Why are we staying here?” moments.

Or at least that was my intent.

See, the thing about picking at scars, is that they often start to bleed again if you pick at them long enough. So when I went to talk to Pam, what I did instead was hold back tears with diminishing returns.

Anyway, fast forward to today and we’ve both applied for jobs in the nations capital. I don’t think I’ll get mine because I am suuuper under qualified but my cover letter was basically (And this is paraphrasing) “Hey! you know what’s great about people without post secondary? You can train them exactly how you want to train them to make them the best suited option for your work place”

I figure at best they’re gonna be like “I gotta talk to this guy” and then I can get my foot in the door with that. Worst case is that Pam gets a job and I follow her up once I get a job.

Daycare will also be an absolute bitch to figure out but I’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.

Also I’m kinda hoping that they have a cafeteria where maybe I can put my culinary skills to use. But that’s really like… My Dream. To work in a 9-5 Monday to Friday Govt caff. Maybe I’ve just got rose coloured lenses on in that regard but I do really miss culinary. I can’t keep lying and saying I don’t. But I just find it real hard to maintain a work/life balance when I’m in the kitchen because I understand the sacrifices you have to make to have a kitchen function smoothly and I’m always too ready to make those sacrifices.

Regardless. Phase one of “Project Parliament Hill” (I feel like that sounds a bit too nefarious. Maybe Project: Nations Capital” would be better) is in motion!

Here’s to chaos.


Shannonly July 10, 2019

I hope this happens for you guys. I do love a change of scenery, and an adventure!

Deleted user July 10, 2019

Good luck ! If you really want it , it will happen.

DE_KentuckyGirl July 11, 2019

Good luck in whatever decision you all come to!

Deleted user July 14, 2019

Good Luck with the job

de_lockeduptight July 18, 2019

I hope it all comes together and you can find the right jobs!

Reading_Blankie 📚 July 21, 2019

I hope it went the way you wanted it to go ❤️

SweetMelissa July 26, 2019

Welcome. Sorry late to the housewarming party. Hope you’re settling in.

SweetMelissa July 26, 2019

Good luck! I hope you both find something.
Picking open scabs can be messy and painful but a necessary part of healing. Cheers to bravery.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.