Talk To Me About Insurance in meh...

  • June 7, 2019, 12:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ever since I can think of, car insurance has always been a thorn in my side. I’ve never really had a car long enough to benefit from having insurance. Insurance is mandatory and when you’re trying to effectively adult, there are somethings you can’t get by.

I’ve had this car for only a year come the end of this month. In this year, I have been through 2 six month cycles for my car insurance. My first payments for full coverage were $168.11. My car payment is $152.74. This worked out for me. Not too much. I can handle this. My next 6 months my insurance payment went up to $187.84. Nearly a $20 jump and a $35 and some change jump above my car payment. Far cry from that $5 and some change. Now I’m on my next 6 months. I get my billing statement and it has gone up AGAIN. ONE HUNDRED, NINETY-THREE DOLLARS AND SEVENTY-FOUR CENTS. In the course of a year, my insurance has gone up $25.63 and is at $41 above my car not payment.

I’m sitting here like, do I have some tickets I don’t know about? Did someone steal my car and get pulled over? Is it my credit score? WHAT THE DEUCE, YO?? I don’t get raises like this. Why is my insurance this much??

So I did what I always do. I let my fingers do some talking to my insurance agent. If this is a ploy to get me to freaking let them GPS me with one of those driving tracker things, then whatever. ANYTHING to keep this down..

BACKGROUND:

When I first came to this agency with the minivan, I asked them what can I do to get a reasonable insurance rate? I mean, I’m in my 40’s now, I’ve been on my job for 2 decades so I’m stable-ish. Every time I get a car, insurance is ridiculous for me. What can I do? I mean I want full coverage to take care of everyone. With the minivan though, I ended up getting just liability which ran me like $99 and some change. I was fine with that. So when the van left, I know there is this thing that you have to keep some kind of insurance coverage even if you don’t have a car. I didn’t do that and I wouldn’t do that. I can’t afford to put money into a car that I don’t have. That is ridiculous.

Then the miracle of coming back to this insurance company, at a reasonable rate. I was excited, grateful. I told my agent that when I get another car, I’m coming back and that’s what I did.

I’ve been told that if you stay with a company long enough the rates go down. I know it’s only been a year, but damn. I wouldn’t mind if the rate was steady, but it jumped a whole $20 just about in 6 months. That’s not progress for MEEEE… ::smh::

At any rate, I’m waiting to hear from them to see what they have to say this time. Last increase: “Oh it was across the board and went up for everyone. There was nothing you did wrong.” I know I didn’t do anything wrong. I don’t have tickets, I haven’t been pulled over, I haven’t had any accidents, Thank God for that protection. So what gives? I mean perhaps my credit has been taking a hit, but to increase my payments is not the way to keep my business.

But I am every grateful that even though this is a stretch for me, I may still be able to pull this off.

My help in the time of struggle. I have to start believing fully what I say I believe. And I do, it’s just easier to say it by default. I need to have faith by design.

Even though I’m sitting here, it sounds and feels like a rant, but I’m not in a tizzy about it. It’s an inconvenience, but I’m going to handle this inconvenience like a champ, Amen??

Take care.
Even though I did say this adult stuff sucks, I am entitled to my feelings. Just not to wallow in them.

Kindest regards,
Sister


Miss Chiffs Manager June 07, 2019

Is your car really worth full coverage?
Many times, it's not. I mean just from a financial standpoint... why pay more than your car payment to possibly replace the car you're still paying for? That's a lose-lose.
If my insurance wasn't so darned cheap (since I turned 30 all my insurance lowered like 30%) and was still paying for my car, I definitely wouldn't have full coverage. Just doesn't make financial sense.

Sister Miss Chiffs Manager ⋅ June 07, 2019

Liability makes sense when I own the car. It's a 2018 lease. When I first got it, this was the cheapest rate offered. Everyone else was well over $300 a month. So going back to my guy made sense when he quoted me this price. Still waiting to hear back from them. I guess they are figuring what to tell me. ::smh::

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.