What helped me most to lose weight was myfitnesspal / loseit. (I started with loseit, went to MFP later on). I don't know where you're at with being able to judge calories by eyeballing it, and whether you stress eat or not (I do), but I setup three rules when I was most successful losing weight:

  1. Anything I eat will have a barcode and calories listed that the MFP has data for. (you scan the barcode with the MFP app, it auto-imports the calories and whatnot from the online database).
  2. I will not eat anything I cannot absolutely determine the portion size of (I didn't have a food scale, so that ruled out things like peanut butter and jelly, or other items where you take portions from a jar or tub)
  3. I will not eat anything without a barcode.

That's an extreme method, but it took me from nothing to a point where I was 60lbs lighter 8 months later. Having my first and only girlfriend in that time also helped a lot. It's easy to ignore being hungry when you have someone you care about and who wants you to care about them. It's the inverse of stress eating (non-stress starving? :p) In the end, it was sticking to a calorie budget that really helped me more than anything. I only needed to care about macro nutrients once I got down to being 'just' overweight instead of obese (I wasn't eating enough protein and fat, at different times, and that negatively impacted my health in fairly significant, but fixable, ways).

But I also get that sometimes you want to find your own way. So...yeah.