Terminating Therapy and Best news ever in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • April 24, 2019, 7:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Guys, this in-between therapist has turned out to be a nut job. when i first saw her we agreed to do biweekly sessions. i have a client portal that shows when my appointments are. I have (soon to be had) appointments with her every other Thursday. Well, on Saturday I got an invoice from her for a “Missed Session Fee”. I immediately called her and was like “Hey we agree biweekly, I didn’t have an appointment scheduled this Thursday.” and she was like “oh, that’s right”. but she billed my insurance for that imaginary session and got paid for it! (I didn’t pay the missed session fee.) I have my last appointment tomorrow. I also didn’t take the sensory test. It also felt shady. It was an online test that was developed by a “Dr. A***” that she couldn’t help raving about insesitantly during the first session. I felt a salesperson vibe from her because even though I showed no interest in the products he sells, she still tried valiantly to get me to go to the site.

I left that first session feeling both super interested in the test, but also felt like she might be getting some sort of “kickback” from directing clients to his site/test/products. Some of that might be because I used to do bookkeeping for a shady Acupuncturist who seems to have a similar business model as this “Dr. A”.

Anyway, a little irritation with this in-between therapist turned into more and more irritation. She told me after I took the test online, I would need to enter in her e-mail address to get the results otherwise I would be charged money for it. I skimmed through the test and got to the part where they ask for your name and e-mail address so that “your personalized results can be delivered”. Nowhere does it say you have to pay for results. I almost put in my own e-mail address , but i was like “Fuck it, i’m not giving them my contact info and i’m not playing around with her games” . You can’t get your results without entering in an email address, so its clearly click bait with an eventual intention of selling you either services or products in the email. I didn’t enter in her e-mail address either because if she DOES get a kickback, I don’t want her to get it. She already “got” one for billing my insurance for a session that never existed. So tomorrow I’m terminating therapy with her.

That brings me to the best news ever, which is that I’m 95% sure I’m getting my old therapist back for in-person counseling. She e-mailed me and said that in a month she will be all set up to start in-person counseling at an office near where she used to work and fees will be the same as before. I don’t know what all went down at the old place, but I do know they never billed my insurance for imaginary sessions.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.