Therapy Appt Recap - I broke my shoelaces in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • April 12, 2019, 2:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Guys I try to keep an open mind and try not to form too strong opinions based off of first impressions because I don’t give great first impressions myself.

This therapist offers a different type of therapy than my last therapist. This therapist offers short-term therapy in which my symptoms will either get better or they will not after a few months which is when she will send me on my way. Right now I’m scheduled biweekly for 3 months.

I have a really hard time forming trust connections in general, and I’m not even sure if 3 months will be long enough for me to form that connection with her. She does take my insurance though so seeing her two times a month will be affordable. Right now the main focus is my anxiety (because how “deep” can you really get in 3 months when you have trust issues?). My anxiety was so high yesterday, and when my anxiety is high, I fiddle around with my shoe strings (or whatever is available). I don’t mean to, but I have to have something in my hands and shoe strings are always an available choice (unless wearing sandals). Well, eventually my anxiety got so high that I pulled too hard on my shoe strings and they snapped. SO that was the first impression I set.

She thinks I may have Sensory Processing Disorder and MAYBE High-Functioning Autism (the mildest form of Autism) because I’m unable to make and hold eye contact among other reasons. I only made eye contact with my last therapist a few time and I wasn’t unable to hold it for longer than a few seconds. I have to take a test for the Sensory Processing Disorder and then we’ll go from there.

She does sound knowledgeable, however, there was one red flag. She thinks a family environment would be best for me and she thinks that because I’m now divorced it wouldn’t make any sense to continue to live in WA and that I should move back to WI. This was AFTER I told her I intentionally stayed here because I love WA and the PNW in general, I only make 1 trip home per year and I have a 3 night max stay per trip because that’s all I can handle. How am I supposed to open up about family ish if after even that littlest of tidbit, she still assumes I a move back would be in my best interest?

It feels like I’m starting all over because I basically am. She DOES pick up on my non-verbal communication cues though, so maybe that’s more of her specialty. I am committing to at least one more appointment with her to get a more firm vibe of her and I want to know more about the Sensory Processing thing.

After I got the last e-mail from my therapist with the apology about the way things were handled and her stating that she was glad I found someone to talk things over for the time being, I e-mailed her back and said I would let her know how my first appointment went and that I was still interested in her new job/telehealth services as she got details. She had previously said she’d send me updates about it as they were made available to her, so I assume the communication line with her is still open. I kept my summary very short since she isn’t getting paid to read my e-mails, but I did let her know that this person only works short-term with clients and that I broke my shoe laces. I hope that part at least makes her smile.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.