Yesterday, Today in meh...

  • April 1, 2019, 10:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How about I didn’t go to church?
Not that you care, but I really wanted to go. I could’t find anything to wear and it was cold outside. I was not feeling that. Then my stomach…wasn’t hurting, but I’ve been having these EBS (explosive bowel syndrome-I made that up ages ago-lol) moments and I just really felt out of sorts so around 11.

I woke up at 3 and felt a bit better. I went to the basement to make sure my laundry was done. I went down earlier that morning and all the scent crystals were not dissolved so I had to run the machine again. I need to stop using so much, but that stuff smells SO good! I have a thing for botanical scents. Keep your fruity sprays. Give me flowers. I can sit and sniff them as long as there is scent to sniff. Geez…I sound like a coke head. LOL

I came back up from the basement and heard my phone ringing. I ran upstairs and had to call my brother back. We’ve been having these conversations about how we as siblings need to get together and on one accord. We talked about our baby sister (my birthday twin). He has something he wants to say to her, but I told him to give her a couple of days. She said something about dad’s sermon and showed that she didn’t understand what he was saying. What her understanding was that he didn’t need or want our help and that is simply not true.

Anyway…
I made my very own fried pickles. I don’t know if that’s a thing all over. Very first time I had them was years ago at a non-chain restaurant in South County. Since then, I’ve tried various ones and not all of them are good. But now they are on lots of menus and there’s only a few that I will eat. Now I will include my own, but of course that will be a specialty item from time to time. As will the faux fish I will be making soon. I found a recipe and will try it out very soon.

So today…

The phone was HOT WAAY TOO EARLY for Mother’s Day Brunch this morning. Gladly, it has died down. they are supposed to be offering it on eventbrite to cut down on calls, BUT it’s not on eventbrite, so a link is not on our website and that takes care of that. Those that call are going to them. End of discussion until you fix it. So there.

I find myself wondering why I get so emotional when I tell my friends I love them. Like I was drafting a quick text to Scott (because we hadn’t spoken in a while) to say hello and that I’d been thinking of him and I missed him. Hoping all was well in his world, etc. And I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes. Like wth is wrong with me. LOL I’m the same way if I send a sentimental text to my dad and say I love you behind it. Or if I haven’t talked to friends in a while and I want to tell them they are still in my heart and I love them even as if we talk every day. And I get all weepy and stuff. Perhaps it’s that I know that only a handful are like that in return. Scott being one of them. But my wet eyes are not from sadness when I’m typing out. I am just really emotional like that. LOL I’m nuts. It’s ok. I think. LOL

So with that being said, I am going to get about the business of reading for an hour then watching Peaky Blinders season 2 for the rest of the day.

Take care loves…

Kindest regards,
Sister


Comfortably Numb April 01, 2019

I friggin' LOVE fried pickles, but the cafe I usually get them has started doing them as spears instead of slices. and they're awful because the breading falls off. love them thin sliced and super crispy.

And if you're a fan of 'em like I am, try them with some Twanger pickle salt (found in most gas station stores) - it's next-level good and will totally up your pickle game. ;)

In a similar vein, I had never had fried green tomatoes until a few months ago and I LOVED them, but then I ordered some from a different place the other night and they were really thick and just ...yuck. I think it's all in the slicing. I also love fried okra that's thin cut but not the big fat pieces like you get at Luby's. The thin ones I can eat like popcorn- so good.

Sister Comfortably Numb ⋅ April 01, 2019

Pickle salt you say?? Gotta look that up.
I used pickle chips/slices from a jar. Worked out very well. Lee's Chicken chain uses pickle spears, but they are smaller than the regular spears and are not too bad. I'd get them again, if they came down on the price. I think I'll do some jalapenos when I get home. I'm going nuts with it already. LOL
I didn't like okra at first, but about 6 years ago I started cooking with it. I was eating raw pieces of it and for some reason LOVED it. I didn't understand. Now I will get some fried okra. The smaller bites are perfect; popcorn is the perfect picture for eating them. So good. And Fried Green Tomatoes ARE THE BEST! I always miss out on green tomato season and it makes me mad. Cornmeal, creole seasoning, extra garlic powder. I make onion rings, cook some turkey bacon (or real bacon if I got any) make a sauce from mayo and other stuff toast some bread and make a sandwich...OMG I love cooking for myself. LMAO

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.