Anniversaries and funerals in The View from the Terrace

  • Feb. 13, 2019, 8:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s 60 years today since my father-in-law died. I never knew him, yet I remember and notice this. Hubby is going about his day totally oblivious. He never remembers dates, where they are hugely significant to me.

I think they were significant to my mother-in-law, too. She was always telling me that her husband died on February 13 and was buried on her son’s 13th birthday 4 days later. So that means that Hubby’s birthday on Sunday is the 60th anniversary of his father’s funeral. Why did his mother allow that to happen, surely you can choose the day of a funeral. He didn’t go to the funeral. In those days children were treated differently, no one seemed to realise that they had feelings too, but I think the way he was treated sounds pretty awful even for then. He has told me that he was sent to school as usual not even knowing it was the day of the funeral and he came home to find the house full of relatives. His father’s brother took his father’s war medals when he left. Hubby has always felt very resentful about that. He felt they should have been his. I have recently discovered, while doing family history research that the 2 brothers joined up together and served together in Africa, so I understand why he wanted them.

It is strange the way children were treated in those days. I remember when my grandfather died when I was 11 and I was not allowed to go to the funeral. A friend of mum’s came over to watch me and I remember sitting in the big bay window over the pub and counting all of the cars leaving. There were 10. Granddad had run the pub for 13 years before handing it over to Dad, then in the 12 years that followed he had still been in the bar helping almost every evening, he was very popular. I remember thinking there were so many people at his funeral which was lovely, but most of them were friends, I was his only grandchild, I should have been there. Then the wake afterwards was held in the bar so I couldn’t go to that either as children were not allowed in licensed premises in those days. After Granddad died my mum decided that my dad needed to get away for a short holiday but they didn’t take me with them, they sent me to stay with an aunt and cousin while they went to Eastbourne together. I felt so rejected, did no one realise I was a part of the family and I was grieving too. I have thought since that poor Grandma was also left alone with her grief. One of the barmaids who had run a pub herself moved in for the week to look after the pub and presumably Grandma too.

The following year Grandma died and again I couldn’t go to the funeral. We had had a TB scare at my school and everyone was tested. I was positive and an appointment had been made for a chest x ray. The funeral was on the same day. Did my parents do that on purpose, as I said earlier surely you can choose the day of a funeral. A friend took me to the hospital and I came home, like Hubby, to find the house full of relatives (we had left the pub by then). I had never even met some of these people, to this day I don’t know who some of them were. I only know that Grandma’s only grandchild wasn’t allowed to be there.

When I was 14 we moved from Shropshire to Sussex. It broke my heart but I tried to make a new life. It all went wrong but that’s another story. They couldn’t take me at the local grammar school and the only private school in the area was full. Eventually I just didn’t go back to school. I was almost 15 and you could leave at 15 in those days and Dad persuaded the education people to let it go. I was feeling rejected and alone when dad was diagnosed with lung cancer 2 months after we moved. He died 9 months later. This time Mum wanted me by her side at the funeral and I feel ashamed to say I didn’t go. I’m still not sure why. I think maybe I had started to develop a fear of funerals after being prevented from going before. A part of me wonders if I was even getting back at Mum. She hadn’t wanted me when Dad was alive so I wasn’t going now. I stayed at home and shut myself in my bedroom and cried for everything I had lost, my hometown and now my dad. Mum had her sister with her and they were the only 2 people at my dad’s funeral. Poor Dad, it should have been packed like Granddad’s, he was well loved in Shrewsbury, but no one knew him in Bognor Reigs. The few relatives he had couldn’t get there as they lived miles away.

When Dad died no one ever asked me how I was. The neighbours asked Mum but I was either ignored or told to be strong and look after my mum. No one seemed to realise I was grieving too. I am so glad children are no longer treated like this. I saw a programme on TV the other day about Winston’s Wish, a charity that helps bereaved children, and there are hospices that support the family as well as patients with cancer like my dad. It is so good that this need has been recognised.

So I am sitting here thinking about my father-in-law who I never knew while Hubby has gone to his art group unaware that it is the 60th anniversary of his father’s death. Has he repressed it? Should I remind him? I think I may go out and pick a few of the daffodils that are budding in the garden and put them by his photo. I sometimes wish I could get those medals back for Hubby. His uncle died years ago so I wonder what happened to them, maybe his children have them, they should be Hubby’s now.


Last updated February 14, 2019


Deleted user February 13, 2019

It’s strange ; I block the dates. I do not remember the dates my Grandparents or Mother died or the years. It was as though my brain won’t absorb it . I have looked those dates up before but I do not retain them. I always have hated funerals . I do not want one. Just cremation. I would rather people remember me alive :-)

JustSurviveSomehow February 13, 2019

I remember dates like that too. I never met my boyfriend's father, but I looked up his obituary once a long time ago because I wanted to know when he died, how old he was, etc. He was 19 when he passed away, but he doesn't know/remember any of that. And he has no desire to know either. It's bizarre to me, but I try to get as much information as I can from his mom and other sources, just in case he wants to know someday, or some day when our kids want to know.

ODSago February 13, 2019

I think death is frightening to some people, even the idea of it, and I agree with you that children should be included in loss in ways that are age appropriate. My mom never attended funerals, except her own parents' funerals. That left me with the feeling that something really hard to bear took place at funerals. I didn't want to be part of anything so sad. But as an adult, I began to see them differently. I chose for my husband's to have only invited guests to his graveside service, and I invited family members and people who were part of our day to day lives, people who had been part of our joys and sorrows. That was right for us and I felt extremely supported and loved that morning. I could see how much he had been loved, by all attending, in his life. Afterwards guests were invited to our home for brunch. I liked reading your earnest and deeply felt entry about your experience and your husband's. I can't imagine planning a funeral on a 13-year-old son's birthday. Then, sending him to school on that day. I suppose that if they knew how to do better in light of children and funerals the parents you wrote about would have done so.

Marg February 20, 2019

My Grandad died when I was 11 too and I didn't go to the funeral but he lived in Edinburgh and we weren't close so maybe we couldn't all go down or something? I'm not sure. Things were different in those days. When my ex was around 7 his little brother died in hospital and he was told by a neighbour who was looking after him rather than his mum or dad - he always resented that somehow. In your mil's case, it could well be that it was just easier to send hubby to school that day so that she didn't have to think about dealing with him on top of everything else - and that does seem very callous to us now. People also were more easily influenced in those days too - it could well be folk around her suggested it and she wasn't in a position or strong enough to say no even if she didn't feel it was right. It was a different world then.
When my Dad died I was 16 and I remember there was some discussion about whether or not I should see the body - I did eventually see him and was kind of glad I did because it was very obvious he wasn't 'there' any more so that helped me come to terms with the shock of his passing a bit. But I remember that thing of no-one asking me how I was either - it all centred on Mum. I was even left a year later after I'd left college to come back home and live with her - when I looked back on that later I could see how ludicrous it was - it was like going backwards instead of forwards and to have to look after someone who'd not long lost her partner of over 30 years at that age! I was way out of my depth and felt terribly guilty but I should never have been put in that position in the first place. Suffice to say it was a tough year.
I don't think you should remind hubby of the date - it might just not mean much to him and you may just have to respect that. Do you know if they had a close relationship when he was alive? Also it could be just the way he is - things like that just might not have the same meaning to him as they do to you?

Sabrina-Belle Marg ⋅ February 21, 2019

I'm think you are right about my mother-in-law. She was a very meek woman and always did as others suggested. It must have been difficult for her to be left like that.

I understand how it was for you being left to look after your mum. I was in the same position. Because my parents had recently moved she was a long way from other family and hadn't had a chance to make real friends so she expected me to stay while I had been planning to leave home soon. We have a lot in common.

I did mention the date to Hubby. He was really surprised but it didn't upset him. As you say It's just the way he is.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ February 21, 2019

I think as well a lot of women in those days were used to 'being looked after' by their husbands and were quite lost if their partner died so she may have relied heavily on others around her to make decisions - especially being new to the area and not having had a chance to make new friends.
I did manage to get back down here to Aberdeen after a year back at home - I think Mum eventually realised it wasn't working and began to help me search for a flat in the end! It must have been a very tough time for her - Dad's death was very unexpected and hit us all hard - I really admired her for the life she made for herself afterwards because I knew she missed him dreadfully. I just hope they're finally together now :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.