The infamous “demi-“ in Daily Thoughts, Ideas, and Experiences

  • Jan. 4, 2019, 11:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m pretty openly asexual around my friends. I don’t come out to people but they seem to sense it about me pretty quickly. It’s fine and dandy no fuss, most of the time. One day a couple of weeks ago, my coworkers we’re discussing that while I was ace, I also like boys. It was a thing for a moment and then it was gone. But I was thinking about it. I usually describe myself as heteroromantic asexual, but I identify more with demiheteroromantic asexual or as I like to say, a complicated straight. I don’t find all of the details necessary since I am straight and that’s not hard to deal with. I’ve never had a serious prospect for more then friendship is it doesn’t matter. But I think, for myself, understanding is important.
The demi- basically means I ”have to develop an emotional bond” before I start to like them. Folks I’ve told this too are either like ”well yeah that’s normal, ” confused, or understanding. But in thinking, it is an abnormal thing. There’s a lot of things that are odd to me about ”normal” people.
Ultimately, it really doesn’t matter. I thinks it’s in my head because I’ve been caught up with thoughts of ”what is it does matter?” What if I meet someone and I need to explain. I’ve gotten stuck in that I don’t want to ruin our friendship place before so I’d like to figure out how to navigate things better.
I think it’s tough because it is hard to understand or explain. I just have to hold on to the hope that if things are meant to be they’re meant to be and that I’ll be grown enough to make some effort myself.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.