7-7-\-\\-\-\-\-\-\-\-\-\ in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • July 7, 2018, 10:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s a Saturday!
I told my wife today “You don’t care enough about me to hate me. Hate comes from caring about someone and those feeling turning. You don’t care enough about me to have feelings that would turn.”

Allow me to give some perspective. I have rejoined the world of Prosecution. That means that I see the absolute worst of humanity DAILY. Especially considering that my boss doesn’t want to deal with the truly ugly. Therefore, my response is “I can take it.” He doesn’t want to deal with Sexual Assault, Domestic Violence, Child Abuse, or Animal Abuse.... so that is what MY job will be. Dealing with that dark and terrible shit. And Friday morning was… plenty of it. Abused kids, murdered pets, really dark and evil stuff.

I texted my wife that I was dealing with “Dark and Awful things like child abuse and animal abuse” to which she responded “That’s awful.” So… I dealt with stories of dogs being chopped up into pieces, baby kittens being abused to death, and children being imprisoned and tortured to near-death. Then I started driving home to see my Wife and meet up with friends that I hadn’t seen in 6 years!

On my drive, Wife calls me. I told her I’d be arriving at 6… so being called at 5 was a surprise. Was it my wife calling to make me feel better after a rough day? Hell no. It was my wife calling to complain that I wasn’t at the “function with my friends yet.” So… people that love us and are excited to see us… Wife is an HOUR early… and calls to complain because I am not there yet?! After I already told her what a hard day I’d had?! For. Fuck. Sake! FIRST of all… she lives in the area now. She could have gone back to her apartment, waited a full hour, then gone to the event. Meanwhile, my only option was to leave from work and go directly to the event. But again… these are people that love us. Dealing with “talking to them and hanging out with them” should have been a non-issue. Wife? It was like the worst thing ever that I wasn’t there when she arrived. Me? When I arrived? I talked to everyone there… because they are adults that care about us… and I was genuinely curious about their lives… and they were genuinely curious about our lives? Wife… didn’t get that. Because she lacked the ability to be genuinely curious about THEIR lives. Even though (true story) these people that love us? Adult Female: COO of a Non-Profit that specializes in raising funds for the under privileged. Adult Male: Therapist that helps suicidal and oppositional college students survive college. And their two beautiful children. And Wife calls me, while I’m driving, to bitch that she has to “deal with them” solo until I arrive? Really?! After I already told her that my Friday was filled with dark, terrible Animal Abuse Cases? Really?

So… I arrive… literally 4 minutes later than I said I’d arrive… and have a fairly good time. Well, I do. I talk with people. I interact with people. I engage with the people around us. Meanwhile, Wife is playing Cell Phone Games at a table by herself. Hell, the host (good friend) had to tell her to hug me hello!! I mean… really? Granted… we’d seen each other on Wednesday for the 4th but… after I told her how rough my Friday was… her reaction was to… complain about spending time with people who cared about her and then be told to show me a sign of giving a damn? Seriously?!

That night she fell asleep rather quickly. Wanting and needing SOME sign of affection or give-a-damn from my wife, I tried to snuggle a little. I was not only rejected, but very literally physically pushed backwards. Apparently, the very act of Big Spoon was “too much to ask for” and I needed to assume my “proper position” of the far side of the bed. I realize after this many years of being married, I should just bloody well accept it but… that kind of persistent rejection is not something that has dulled with time. Mostly the opposite. It has gotten harder and more difficult each and every time. Maybe I’m wrong but… after being with someone since 2005 (married since 2011)… I thought being “close” would have been something Wife would have eased into… instead, it is something she’s remained very firm against despite my attempts at talking to her about my personal needs.

Saturday, our plan was to go grocery shopping and then go to a mutual friends’ place for Dungeons and Dragons.

The Grocery Shopping was… painful. We spent an hour in the store which… isn’t necessarily a terrible thing. If it is a bonding experience, that is an awesome thing. It wasn’t. Mostly, it was Wife panicking when she couldn’t instantly find what she was looking for, taking it out on me, and ignoring any attempt at conversation I tried to get started. In other words… our current separation didn’t make her want my presence and opinion so much as it made her (apparently) resent my presence and opinion.

At the DnD game, I thought things went fine. I Interacted with people. She didn’t. Frankly… a pretty TYPICAL social event for us. But on the drive back from the game, she decided to tell me that she didn’t appreciate how I treated her during the game. That I wasn’t paying her enough attention or showing her enough support during the event.

I… opened up and didn’t hold back. I told her that the fact that, after expressly telling her how difficult my Friday was… that I still hadn’t even received a God Damned HUG from my Wife spoke worlds to me. I told her that, after the many years of telling her how much even mild physical touch meant to me… the fact that, after reading the most horrific animal abuse cases of my life, she decided to recoil at my touch… not because I was sweaty (I wasn’t), not because I was smelly (I wasn’t) but because “Ew, touching my husband”… yeah, I told her that hurt. And that after almost a DECADE of that… it hurts MORE each time, not less. I broke down sobbing (despite my better efforts) and told her how lonely and miserable I’d been for the last many YEARS because I was in a marriage where my wife (1) didn’t care about my opinion; (2) didn’t want to know how I felt about anything; (3) decided any physical interaction was beneath her; and (4) felt that my role as husband was to be entirely a support role.

She listened and shot back “Then why not just divorce me?” Again… I didn’t hold back this time. I reminded her of our recent conversation where I expressly told her, “The reason we’re still married is because we got married. I’m in this marriage because I uphold my vows.” She remembered… vaguely… and asked why that was enough for me. I answered honestly. Because I’m a coward. I made a promise to my God, my family, and the woman I loved that I would stick by her no matter what… even if it made me miserable. She asked why I was miserable. I outlined my case: None of my personal needs are met in this relationship, every interaction we have is about HER wants or needs, every conversation we have about the future centers around what SHE wants out of life, any time I ask her for anything (a hug, a kiss, any sign of affection, telling me she loves me, anything) I hear excuses, complaints and bullshit. Never once do I hear, “I’m sorry. I love you. I should say it more often.” I hear… “I wasn’t raised that way.” Or “I’ve got a lot on my mind.” So, if you didn’t realize by that discussion… WHENEVER I ASK MY WIFE TO SAY “I love you” OR SHOW ME ANY POSITIVE FEEDBACK… WHENEVER I AM LITERALLY ASKING HER, TELLING HER WHAT I NEED… she doesn’t give it to me. A way of saying it would be.... I tell my wife “Wow, I’m hungry. I sure would appreciate a nice warm meal.” And she responds with, “Gosh, that’s a good idea. Too bad nobody cooked one.” Maybe that isn’t a great fictional example. Lets try something literal. I come home from an entire week at work. I say, “Ugh. Some dark and terrible shit in the world that I had to deal with this week. I sure could use a hug.” To which Wife responds, “Why are you still wearing a sports’ coat? Put that in the laundry and then set the washing machine to light cycle. After that, turn on the dishwasher.” Because that happened.

Of course… after hollowing myself out and being very express and deliberate with my Wife on why our marriage sucks… why I would love for JUST ONCE my wife to say, “I love you” or hug me or kiss me without me BEGGING FOR IT FIRST.... after expressing all of this to her… she starts crying… as she has every right to do… and then tells me how it is too bad I’m stuck with her, how she hasn’t had enough time in therapy to deal with it all, and how I really should just divorce her.

That is her reaction. And I know she doesn’t mean it… but part of me thinks… yeah, she’s right. After all, her Love Languages and her Ideal Marriage simply involves someone that spends time with her and takes care of her. MY needs are the ones creating problems. I’m the one that needs someone to say nice things and voluntarily show me affection and care. The problem here is mine because I’m not getting what I need from the relationship. Demanding that she change is unfair to her. Making her feel bad because she can’t give me what I need isn’t fair to her. So I begin to wonder… maybe I should divorce her for both our sake?

But… again… I’m a coward. I so desperately want our marriage to work. This woman has been a part of my life for 13 years. This woman has been a part of my life for almost 40% of my life. Not to mention the other part.... I have ZERO luck meeting people. I mean… I know it has only been a week… but I tried REALLY HARD to meet people this last week. ONLY person who was willing to talk to me AT ALL was a woman that lived 100 miles away and only talked to me for fucking advice. In short… I am NOT a catch. I am NOT someone that gets “called back” or “second dates.” What I get is a psychotic girl in her late teens… someone that tries to kill me… and Wife. That is the short list of people who have EVER really given me the time of day. In other words… people who want something from me and react VERY POORLY when I ask for anything in return. That is my world. And even now… this many years later… nobody wants anything to do with me. So yeah… I’m a coward. I want my marriage to work. Because I can’t get anything else. And maybe that is really cruel to my Wife because I want her to be a WIFE instead of whatever it is she would prefer to be. But… she agreed to marry me? Am I really being such an asshole for requesting that she treat me like a freaking husband?

alt text


Deleted user July 07, 2018

Ok so I'm going to ask before I comment. Do you really want truth and will anything anyone say matter of are you just here for support?

Park Row Fallout Deleted user ⋅ July 09, 2018

Thank you for asking that first. That is a VERY thoughtful question. And honestly... I'm not entirely sure.

Always Laughing July 08, 2018

I agree with The Karyn. Personally I never had a bf till this year and I dumped him because I'd rather be alone then in a shitty relationship. Do I fear I may never find someone who wants me again yes, but I also won't settle for someone less than I deserve. Personally I think you would be a great catch, if you were single. You haven't had enough time to explore the dating world to completely be certain no one else would want you.

Park Row Fallout Always Laughing ⋅ July 09, 2018

Thank you for saying that. I get that this is "simple" in so many ways but... I mean, I'm the guy that tortured himself over leaving a toxic job that I didn't care about and only held for a year. Leaving my wife, whom I deeply care about, and have known for a lot longer than a year? I don't think I could forgive myself if I didn't do absolutely everything I could to try, I suppose.

Always Laughing Park Row Fallout ⋅ July 09, 2018

And that response is what makes you a good man. I know it's not easy contemplating leaving your marriage. I don't blame you for wanting to try everything before leaving.

Perpetually Plump July 08, 2018

You were not a catch in the past. Now you have the opportunity to be one. Make that shit happen.

Perpetually Plump July 08, 2018

Who you were is not who you are. And who you are is not who you have to be. Nor who you will be. You have the power to change.

Pretend Mulling July 08, 2018

Dude. Your wife literally told you, to your face, that she doesn’t care about you. You’re a glorified, live-in babysitter. And your self-esteem is basically ruined after 13 years of complete self-absorption on her part. This is not a marriage. This is abuse. LEAVE.

Leave, and take time to be single. Go to therapy, and work on your issues from being in a relationship that toxic. (No lie, your wife is like Chernobyl in human form.) Hire a personal trainer and get ripped. Make the foods you like. Indulge your hobbies. Take time for YOU, to meet your own needs. Taking care of yourself is not selfish, it is absolutely necessary.

Your wife is 38 years old. It’s about twenty years past time she grew the fuck up and acted like it.

Rivercity July 08, 2018

I agree with the Karyn. Also, it sounds as if you're frustrated that you're currently not meeting women who seem interested in you. I think one big reason for that is that you're married, and many women would not consider having a dating relationship, etc., with a married guy. Or maybe you're not looking for a typical dating relationship? It's hard for me to tell what you want.

I'm getting the idea that the friends you and she see are mostly your friends. Does she have friends, or do you two have friends that are mostly her friends? I'm guessing not. Did she have friends before you two met? If so, where are they now? Sorry--just curious.

Park Row Fallout Rivercity ⋅ July 09, 2018

Unfortunately, I've seen my Wife with friends of her own exactly twice. And never since Omaha.

Frankly, in my "search" I'm just looking for people to talk to. I'm in a new city, new job, I just want to find some people that I can talk to, hang out with... that kind of thing. But... y'know... Rural Iowa and I'm the Assistant County Attorney.

Park Row Fallout Rivercity ⋅ July 09, 2018

Unfortunately, I've seen my Wife with friends of her own exactly twice. And never since Omaha.

Frankly, in my "search" I'm just looking for people to talk to. I'm in a new city, new job, I just want to find some people that I can talk to, hang out with... that kind of thing. But... y'know... Rural Iowa and I'm the Assistant County Attorney.

ODSago July 08, 2018

After a long and very very good marriage I can tell you that from my point of view your first positive step might be to enter therapy and ask how to learn to love yourself. The cup has to be filled (you see this in your wife's unfilled cup) in order to love another. I think I'd consider your vows non-binding because neither of you were informed enough about marriage to make them. My God! What you're missing, holding on to those vows.

Park Row Fallout ODSago ⋅ July 09, 2018

You're entirely correct. I've been in "therapy" for a few months (it is what really helped me get out of my Toxic Private Lawyer Job) and I'm hoping for progress. Frankly, this weekend's events will really hep me to figure that out. I've told her about everything that happened... what I'd like in my life... all of that. Some therapists are the "thanks. How does that make you feel" type... which doesn't work for me. I need the kind that would say, "Here's what I see." So... here's hoping.

stargazing July 08, 2018

You may want this marriage to work, but it doesn't sound like your wife is interested in doing anything at all to help make that work. You can't do it alone. And she seems so self involved that she isn't capable of making any sort of changes. Your wife has told you to just divorce her. You are the only person in this marriage who has taken their vows seriously. That is not a marriage. Can you honestly tell us that you can stay in this marriage if nothing changes? Because your wife's reaction to your fight wasn't I'm sorry, I'll try to do better. It was to tell you to divorce her. Don't waste your life because you are scared that won't be able to find someone else. You can't find anyone now b/c you aren't available. Move on. Go to therapy. Live life. You are in this marriage alone. Your wife has made that quite clear.

Park Row Fallout stargazing ⋅ July 09, 2018

You very much have a point. Which is why I think I'm currently "in" the place that I'm in. Because I know, absolutely and without question, that this is the last summer I can do this. Whatever happens... it needs to happen before September.

stargazing Park Row Fallout ⋅ July 09, 2018

I'm sorry. I wish things were different.

Deleted user July 08, 2018

I remember my ex saying "why don't you just leave/breakup with me/etc" whenever I brought up how my needs were not being met. Had he of wanted to fix the issues he wouldn't have suggested we simply break up. He was done and rather be adult and say so, he pushed me farther away and made me so miserable to the point I had to end things. I honestly don't think your wife gives a damn. Not if you can break down in front of her and spill your heart out, and that is the reaction you get.

You may meet someone better, you may not. At least divorced you have a shot in hell at meeting someone amazing. With your wife, you don't. I would take a 1% chance over no chance at all. Shit, you're already miserable. You can't find anyone worse than what you have right now. Harsh, I know.

Park Row Fallout Deleted user ⋅ July 09, 2018

You have a sincere point. Though... horrifyingly... a large part of my history actually proves pretty powerfully that I could easily find someone worse than what I have now.

caramelchicken July 08, 2018

"Don't cling to a mistake just because you spent a lot of time making it."

You're not doing yourself or anyone else any favours by staying in a marriage with someone who doesn't care about your needs. It's a hard decision to make, yes. But it sounds like you know separating from your wife is what you need to do.

Your prior experience is very limited and NOT representative of the kind of experiences you could have in the future if you split from your wife, keep working on yourself and ensure you have a healthy sense of respect for yourself when you do start seeing other people, so you can identify red flags early on and not continue in an unhealthy situation.

And yes, it has only been a week. And you are still married! And most people can smell desperation from a mile away. If you're desperate to meet someone, it either won't happen or it won't be a great experience. It's a delicate balance to put yourself out there without trying too hard, but that's what you need to do... put yourself out there but put working on yourself and having your own full, healthy life first. Healthy people are attracted to other healthy people who have their own full lives.

I echo others in saying there's no way you should enter an emotional relationship with another woman until you've worked through all your shit. But I think it would do you good to have some fun casual experiences, as long as you are upfront about what you are seeking. It's just a matter of not being impatient or expectant. The right people and experiences will come along at the right time (not when you're obsessing over wanting to meet someone!)

Park Row Fallout caramelchicken ⋅ July 09, 2018

All good points. Then again I do consider the multiple perspectives on this. "Don't cling to a mistake because you spent a lot of time making it."

I do consider our current situation as an appropriate separation. I had this last weekend event with an old friend, next weekend with MBFITWW and... then trying to come back only sporadically... to try to see if I can take care of myself and see if Wife can decide if she wants to try at this.

Either way, though, I'll tell you.... I think it would do me some good to have some fun casual experiences... but have never known how to do that.

Nash July 08, 2018

She is mean, evil, and the reason she asked you why you do not divorce her is that she wonders why you don't divorce her. She is not afraid of something she knows you will not do because experience shows she can get away with behaving any way she pleases. Do both of yourselves a favor and divorce her. You have convinced yourself you are unworthy of having a positive relationship in your life and it is just not true.

four leaf clover July 09, 2018

Its not fair to her to keep her in the marriage. Its just sad. At this point I don't think she'll change until you do divorce her. Because you are enabling her to stay the same. And you can't change her. You can't expect her to change either. Forget vows. Do you really want to be miserable for the rest of your life? Don't worry about dating anyone else or not being able to find anyone else. Deal with the situation at hand and the rest will work out. One step at a time. Easier said than done but man I think its time. Your tough conversation didn't seem to resolve anything. I get it, I've been with my husband for the better part of 14 years, married for 10. I was terrified last year when I thought maybe we might not make it. But if both of us weren't willing to work on the relationship that's what would have been best for both of us.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.