RAD: Officer Cocksure in These Foolish Things

  • June 30, 2018, 12:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Name: Officer Cocksure

Age: 40

Status: Single. Never married. Last relationship about 3 years ago, so he says.

Job: Police Officer

Lives: A neighborhood over - walking distance. Or in his case, bike riding distance

Length of Date: 1.5 hours

We Did: I walked the dog over to a city park and he rode his bike over. We walked & talked. Note he didn’t bring his 3 dogs because he told me it was too hot - plus, he was riding his bike and that would have been difficult.

He Looked: Nearly naked. Okay, look. He’s beyond hot and has a bangin’ body. Super fit, muscular, tan, the whole nine. But being shirtless and zooming around on a fancy bicycle was a tad…well, cocksure. His name is very fitting. I should also mention that he looks absolutely STUNNING in his police uniform (which he was wearing the evening before when we met for the first time in person). It’s hot here, so he even wears the sexy police shorts. I am tingling as I think about them. Yowza. But still…

I Looked: Like I was ready to work out - kind of like the evening before when I met him - yoga-type cropped leggings, a cute strappy bralet under a form fitting tank and my bright red running shoes that I love.

First Impression: He’s hot. Too hot for me. Or actually, maybe a little too cocky for me. I feel like I could fling with this one, but not so sure about a whole lot more. But again, we’ve only met twice and those meetings were pretty brief.

Convo: He’s definitely smart and beyond self-assured. Almost to the point of being argumentative. Our conversation flowed, but it was not without moments of tenseness when he disagreed with some things that I said. And I couldn’t really get anywhere with my questions about why he was on Bumble (he said he wasn’t sure because he doesn’t date???) and questions about his last relationship (didn’t want to talk about it). So I flat out asked him if he was looking for a hookup or a fling. Again, he was elusive. He told me he was looking for someone “different from the normal, typical person” - which could mean nearly anything. And the weirdest thing was, we walked past several eating and drinking establishments and he told me that he hated going out to eat and absolutely despised sitting in bars, drinking. So then I asked him how he could possibly date and get to know someone and he said, “just like this.” I mean, I really loved walking and talking (he actually rode his bike alongside me while I walked the dog), but I also like sitting in a nice restaurant, cafe or bar and just talking. I’m confused by this.

High Point: When he and my dog snuggled a bit - and our conversations about our dogs and fitness - even though they got intense.

Low Point: I don’t know. He’s very different and seems like he could be argumentative. Can’t really say there was a specific point that was low.

How It Ended: It was abrupt. As it started to get dark he told me that he needed to go and grab a bite (why couldn’t WE eat something together?) and walk his dogs.

Chances Are: I have a strong feeling that we’ll at least go for another walk together. There’s nothing wrong with walking together - I quite like that. But I don’t think we’ll be dating if he refuses to sit in a restaurant or bar with me.

Date Rating: B-


Last updated June 30, 2018


Deleted user June 30, 2018

"Our conversation flowed, but it was not without moments of tenseness when he disagreed with some things that I said."

Not going to laugh. This almost had me cracking up. Maybe it's not how you meant it, but it definitely reads funny.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ June 30, 2018

I guess it does read weird. What I meant was - it was a good conversation but he challenged me a lot. Does that make sense?

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ June 30, 2018

Yeah, I figured it was something like that. Was just chuckling at the wording.

Also, meant Not going to lie...

Florentine June 30, 2018

I can appreciate that some men are around just to, well, appreciate, but sounds like that might be it for this guy!

Gangleri June 30, 2018

His name just makes me think of Robin Hood: Men in Tights.

“Be head sure and cock strong.....or is that the other way around?”

Athena June 30, 2018

Wait: he showed up for your second meeting half naked?

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ June 30, 2018

He sure did.

bobbi01 June 30, 2018

Hmm. I'm thinking cheapskate. And turning up topless was a bit passive aggressive, can't go to a restaurant or bar dressed like that!

Athena bobbi01 ⋅ June 30, 2018

I can’t imagine a bigger red flag than a grown man who shows up for a second meeting topless.

Jafael June 30, 2018

There isn't much here about what he DOES like, besides dogs and bike riding and conversations while walking.

I kinda get the feeling like restaurants and drinking are a waste of time. So much of my time and money actually go to them in order to support my social relationships ( I feel I have no choice, because that's what everyone ELSE wants to do), but it ends up being expensive and time consuming, and often makes me sick from food allergies and/or too much alcohol. It is also hard to connect because places are loud, etc. I have lost friends because I can't eat at the restaurants they want to go to, which hurt a lot at the time. Dating is actually very hard for me because I can't go to most restaurants, and it seems that's the only activity people want to do.

Sounds like you don't really like him very much, and don't really enjoy his company, and don't really want to do the same things, if indeed he's even expressed what he does want to do yet.

drawnwell June 30, 2018

Red flags all over on this one. I'm with athena. What happened to making you feel important, entertaining you, etc? Its a first date! Having to be right is a major personality defect. I think arguing with him would get very very tiring.

daylight July 01, 2018

He sounds perfect for a fling. Bang the hell out of him, crush on him, but don’t count on him.

.bob July 06, 2018

Narcissist alert!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.