This really is a good opportunity to actually, oh, *write* again in shiny things

  • Feb. 1, 2014, 10:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've gotten very slack about writing on OD in the past few years. Which honestly was something I kind of appreciated while saving my eighty gazillion entries to Evernote-- the last couple of years went really FAST! But it was also kind of shocking to see how much I used to write back in my OD youth. I'd write nearly every day! As opposed to maybe once or twice a month in recent years. Nearly all of my entries this past year were England Travelogue ones. And it took me six months to finish that.

SO. I'm thinking this is a chance for a fresh start. I loved OD and I'll miss OD -- I've been there since 2001 - but maybe it's just time to move on. Especially since most of my OD friends have moved on with me, and here we all are exploring this shiny new world.

Noko said Prosebox seems to lend itself to short entries, and I think that's true. And that's maybe good too. I tend to go on and on and on.... and that's one big reason I've written so little recently. I wait until there's just so much to write about that I am overwhelmed and never get around to doing it. Maybe it's time to learn to be brief and concise and not babble on endlessly.

Tonight is a very good night to start my new brief(ish) entries, since my BFF Kim is coming up to visit tomorrow and I cleaned our horrible nasty dusty house today, which has resulted in the Allergy Attack From Hell, and I (A) can't stop sneezing, and (B) can't see what I'm doing because my eyes have become two swollen angry slits.

I'll sign off with a picture out the front door yesterday. Winter. Ewwww. And yes, I DO still have our ... lights up. They are not Christmas lights. They are winter lights. And they are damned well staying up till, oh, April. Or whenever winter finally goes the hell away. (also, they are not actually outside in the trees. They are reflecting moodily in the window)

enter image description here


FallingDog February 01, 2014

I am obsessed with the FB OD page. I'm a bit upset that I've let my diary languish and lost contact with all of my old noters. So, here I am, hoping to start again. This place does indeed lend itself to short-ish entries and that's all I've managed. Still, I'm writing. Which is something I could not say just last week.

edna million FallingDog ⋅ February 01, 2014

ME TOO. I can not step away from the FB OD page and I check it compulsively every fifteen seconds or so.

FallingDog February 01, 2014

BTW, that's a beautiful photo, and fie! unto any soul who bids you ill will upon your refusal to take lights down in winter behavior.

booth February 01, 2014

i love winter lights

noko February 01, 2014

It is so weird not to cross post here and OD and to ummm just be here. It will take some getting used to.

Sorry about the allergies but it is good to have an excuse to clean the house now and then. Enjoy your visit!

Raven February 02, 2014

I feel the same way, actually. I've been trying to update more and more. I'm looking forward to that backdating option I requested earlier in January. <3 I was more hardcore with OD in the late 90s-Early 2000s, but revived it last year when I needed a place away from certain people, and wanted ot try and connect with old friends. (that never happened! But made tons of new ones) I hope to make some new friends here as well.

Love that picture, and i wish more people had "winter" lights as opposed to just Christmas lights. It just makes the world so much more cheerier, you know?

edna million Raven ⋅ February 02, 2014

I do. Winter needs all the bright gaudy lights it can get, and that should not end with Christmas.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 02, 2014

i still write long entries. will probably continue to do so. maybe. i think i've found as many of my faves who are here under their od names. if they have changed names they told me what it was here. there may be some here from over there that wanted a new start and have a new name and not telling anyone who they are. take care,

Ragdolls February 02, 2014

Winter lights...I like that!!! It's so nice to see familiar names popping up.

Spinster February 02, 2014

Have fun day with Kim.

ermentrude February 02, 2014

There can never be too many sparkly lights in the world :) x

Eriu February 03, 2014

Yeah, PB has put a lid on my writing, too, thus far, but I tend to ramble on and on anyway...so PB may be doing everybody a favor! I still haven't been able to get into the groove here.

quine ahin a lens February 03, 2014

Winter ends around June in these parts

edna million quine ahin a lens ⋅ February 04, 2014

That is why I could never ever live in Scotland. I am dying to visit but.... I am not hearty. I am a wimp.

Clanky February 03, 2014

Pretty!

Hmmm. Just noticed my picture is sideways. Didn't do it on purpose, but that's kind of neat ... coughs

Okay, so back to my note (Oh, I'm not easily distracted! What makes you think that!).

So, yeah. I think we don't have time to read and write and so I think short entries are good. Maybe that would be more manageable?

Marg February 08, 2014

There are folk here who leave their lights up for ages too (some all year round) and I don't see why not - you're absolutely right in that that's exactly what winter needs - not to mention the fact it takes such an effort to put the things up so what's the point in taking them down again a mere few weeks later?

I'm hoping the 'short entry' thing will rub off on me as well ........

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.