That moment your heart breaks... in 2017

  • Nov. 13, 2017, 3:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

For your kid… who got sent home with forms to be filled out for a learning disability test.

Its not like I didn’t know this was coming. I’ve been waiting for it, almost looking forward to it. We figured it out in grade 1. When she was 5-6 years old. I knew she was having issues, so did the school. I asked for her to be tested back then, but I guess no testing is ever done in these situations until they are at least grade 3. So the moment she walked into grade 3, I’ve been asking about it and also have her in tutoring.

I’m pro active with this, I’ve been on it since the beginning and shes been in tutoring since grade one, even thru the summers… but… it just kind of hit me like a ton a bricks while I filled out the forms. Shes not in for an easy ride in life. English, reading, and writing doesn’t come naturally to her at all. This is something that she will struggle with for her entire life.

I know this because Chris is the same. Unfortunately he had issues when he was a child too, and honestly he still struggles with it a lot. My heart aches for her. I, on the other hand, have issues with math, not so much writing etc… We all have our strengths and weaknesses.

Oh well. I need to shake this off. I’m doing what I need to do, and I’m not sweeping it under the rug, nor am I ignoring it and hoping it just goes away. I’m having her tested, we WILL find out whats going on, and we WILL do our best to make sure she has a fair shot at learning.

Kristen…


Chic Chat November 13, 2017

What kind of disability does she have?

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Chic Chat ⋅ November 15, 2017

We aren't certain yet. I know she has trouble writing. She has issues with reading as well but its not as hard for her to read as it is to write. Hoping to find out soon, I know these things take time so I have to try and be patient. I really just want to know now, and get started making it easier for her.

Hotaru November 13, 2017

As heart breaking as it is to see your child struggle you are doing the right thing. Get her the help she needs as early as you can. It won't make it go away, but it will help her learn ways to deal with her weaknesses.

JustSurviveSomehow November 13, 2017

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.