Interesting Hypothetical in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Oct. 8, 2017, 7:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Let’s say your spouse was a neurosurgeon. Lots of training, lots of time and stress. But four years after starting practice… your spouse comes to you and says, “I can’t do this anymore. It isn’t me. All I want to do with my life is beautify the world. I want to sell cosmetics!”

How do you respond?


Echo October 08, 2017

I would say "wow, thanks for sharing your dreams with me! how can I help?"

Deleted user October 08, 2017

I would say ; Then what is your plan ?

Tempestuous1 October 08, 2017

I would want to understand why, but support them in what they're passionate about. Life is too short to spend it miserable.

Amaryllis October 08, 2017

I know I keep leaving you lengthy comments, apologies for that. This sort of thing happened to (yet another) cousin of mine. She married her husband when he was in his first year at Stanford studying aeronautical engineering. She is from a wealthy family (her dad is CEO of a large manufacturing company) and her husband is also from a wealthy family. Her husband is brilliant and (was) ambitious and she expected that he would soon command the hefty salary of an aeronautical engineer. They had a child together. He's now in his sixth year at Stanford and has also decided to continue onwards towards a PhD. We've all been scratching our heads trying to understand why he hasn't entered the workforce. Last Christmas, he announced that he loves academia and his school environment and wants to become a professor, rather than an engineer. My cousin (who is spoiled/shallow and has never had a job of her own) has been really upset about this and they are on the brink of divorce.

It's a tough question. I believe there is nothing more important than determining what one wants out of life and pursuing it with discipline and perseverance, but sometimes it can be very difficult to determine what one wants. I didn't know what I wanted until it was already too late to have it. "Youth is wasted on the young," as they say. We all have to make important decisions before we are capable of making them well.

If you're finding that you are hating /law/, and not just your current position, then I would support you changing positions. If you knew without a doubt that your dream was to sell cosmetics, boy howdy, go get it. I just worry that the extreme (short-term) stress and frustration of your current position might cause you to give up a (long-term) dream which still has the potential of satisfying you. Only you can do that math, though.

the girl with a pipe October 09, 2017

If hypothetically my spouse said that to me I might go through all the normal stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. When I finally arrived at acceptance I would support you in making a plan for the future because we're humans having a human experience and we have every right to make choices with the goal of making our lives better. And "better" means something different for each person.

Deleted user October 09, 2017

Happiness is important, but so is paying the bills. Could we still do that, could we still live the kind of lifestyle we enjoy? Does the benefits outweigh the risks?

Always Laughing October 19, 2017

I would talk to them about it and make a plan so that they could be happy and we could still survive.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.