Insomnia in In other news

  • Aug. 22, 2017, 8:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t sleep. I’ve been working night shifts so that’s probably got a little to do with it, although I always try to get myself back into a good sleep routine straight away.

That being said, I’ve been on antibiotics for a chest infection for the last week and I feel absolutely exhausted, so I slept in the daytime on Monday after I’d finished my last night for the week, which I don’t normally do.

I feel like I can’t switch my brain off. We have so much going on right now. We start our first cycle of icsi on 9/9. We were all set to start in August but they couldn’t schedule my egg collection as it all came about fairly quickly, so they delayed us for a month. Which actually works out quite well given that i feel like absolute crap still, and I would have been starting meds in the middle of our holiday, so I was able to enjoy two weeks away without worrying about meds and side effects and the like. I’m definitely ready to get going now though.

The other thing is that I decided on a whim today to start wedding planning. Although we’ve not been engaged long, and some people wait for ages to plan, we were only really holding off on planning and setting a date because I had said I wanted to wait and see what happens with the ivf.

As it turns out, I feel like I need something else to focus on, and I feel like we can’t keep putting things off in case I’m pregnant or in case I’m due to give birth. I need something else to look forward to and get excited about in case this doesn’t work. So I’ve booked my first dress shopping day, and we’ve started looking at venues, I just need to get my work hours so I can schedule some appointments to go and see the venues in person.

We’re thinking either November next year - you get massive discounts for a winter wedding because they’re less popular. For me the time of year isn’t an issue, we want a civil ceremony so it will all happen in the same building, so weather isn’t an issue as we’ll only be outside to come in from the car. Or we wait til spring 2019 so we can have at least a shot of some outdoor photos if the weather is reasonable. We’ve looked at quite a few places online and a fair amount of them have scope for stunning indoor photos too.

There’s so much to plan, so much money to be spent. We wrote our provisional guest list tonight, to get an idea of numbers and it seems like the small wedding I quite fancied just isn’t going to happen. With just close family and friends we have 80 people in the daytime. Plus about another 50/60 to join us in the evening, if everyone rsvps which I’m sure they’re not all likely to. We found a reasonable package for 50 daytime guests and 80 evening guests with the option to pay for extra people so we might look at that, or see if it’s cheaper to do venue hire and catering separately. It’s amazing how the price of everything shoots up as soon as you mention wedding.

So much to think about.

Xx


Camdengirl August 23, 2017

Winter weddings are lovely, it snowed on ours which was so pretty! Plus it's easier to get everyone there as you don't have to negotiate holidays and I think it's something to look forward to in the winter months. Works for me!

The Tranquil Loon August 23, 2017

exciting things are happening. Take time to smell the roses along the way. Best o luck coming up here!

I need tea. August 23, 2017

:) xxx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.