Tuesday in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Aug. 22, 2017, 7:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So yesterday… even though I worked from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; I still did some work at home. For a grand total of 7 billable hours… out of a more than 11 hour day. And, of course, the majority of my work yesterday doesn’t say “Private Client” or “Appointed Client” it says “(White Boss)’s Client”. Point of fact; of those 7 hours… 5.3 hours were White Boss’ clients.

That being said? I have two videos to watch for White Boss today. 2 hours of research if I choose to do it. A very quick juvenile hearing. And that is about it for scheduled work today. I’ll have to follow up with the bosses today to see if there are other big things they want me to take care of. Which could go well or be awful. I’m split on it right now. Like… yesterday, I spent 11 hours in the office. I earned 47% of my hours for last week in one day. Granted, that is what inspired Chinese Boss to freak out. If your associate attorney (full time employee) is only making 15 hours a week… then at best he is only bringing $1,500 to the firm each week. At worst? $450 per week. Which is not good. Especially when, arguably, you are paying him for $625 per week. Which is why, yeah, at minimum I would like to be working no less than 21 hours per week. Because that at least justifies my existence if we’re using the worst case scenario.

So… yeah… If I could get at least 5 hours of billable work to do each day this week… that would be good. It would be good if I could get that every week. It would also be great if I could get that work AND learn how to be good at my job. But… today may be tough. Despite the fact that I’ve been in the office for an hour… Chinese Boss just walked in. Stressed. The fuck. Out. Like… so stressed out, she walked into the conference room and organized the chairs, stressed out. She walked by and in her polite-but-super-tense voice said, “Honey, I am about to lose my shit!” So… grrrrrrrrreat. Let’s see how today goes!


Deleted user August 22, 2017

She is stressed out ? What about you ?

Pinkerton August 23, 2017

Your calculation doesn't take into accouting the work you do to support your partners who (presumably) bill at a higher rate than you. So you are probably more valuable to the firm than your calculation suggests.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.