A Mini Break (With Elevation) in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 30, 2017, 10:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As, a young teenager one of the first things I wanted to be when I grew up was an elf.

Not a house elf like in Harry Potter but an Elf, as in The Lord of the Rings. My brother, and my boyfriend and I even managed to learn quite a bit of Elvish from the books. I, of course, wanted to be an Elf princess. With beauty, wit and mysterious magical powers that helped my people and made our wooded world a beautiful and loving place.

Then, you know, reality set in. I thought maybe I would become a fashion designer (seriously I started on a power sewing and design vocational program at community college). That was not a go so I then decided I wanted to become an architect.

I made it through a year of training in that. I still think I would like to have those skills but in the end after a circuitous set of circumstances I ended up working in finance in a large successful fun architectural firm in downtown San Francisco for five years. I was good at that job, better than I would probably have been as an architect. I worked for a firm here too, mostly interiors.

All this is to say I love looking at buildings. Not in any sort of practical way although I do notice quite a bit of detail and building materials was by far my favorite class. It is more an impressionistic apprehension.

Yesterday Mrs. Sherlock and I went on a wonderful exploratory hike in the hills (actually it is a small mountain) just south of here above where the grocery store I go to is. It was a hill walk from a book and the author said (and I agree) that some of the views up there were secretly the best in the city. It was my favorite kind of urban hike, changing neighborhoods, lots of fabulous gardens and every now and then an amazing architecturally designed home nestled away somewhere like the one above.

A feature of this neighborhood is that while many of the homes are from the 50’s and newer a great deal of them have reclaimed brick built into their designs. It is a thing.

It is also extremely quiet and cool in most places and serene.

Probably because two women in their 60’s with a standard poodle and a guide book in hand are not exactly threatening the folks that live there were very friendly and Frida got to meet lots of new dogs. There was even a park up at the top for her to run crazy dog in.

It wasn’t too hot, it was early and I think it was probably the best of these hikes we have ever done. The elevation gain was gradual until the very top and because I was in charge of way finding Mrs. Sherlock was relaxed. And the views were really amazing even though it was hazy. We could see both our local mountains and Mt. Adams, which I usually only see on a clear day from the Gorge.

The streets at the very top are named after this one guy’s sons. Patrick, Carl, Bernard and so on. What happens if Bernard wants to live on Carl street? It could get confusing.

The only downside to the morning was that I had a migraine and didn’t have medicine with me. After I got home I took my meds and did a couple of chores and then took a four-hour nap.

I have been completely frazzled at work the last couple of days so that was so good to be able to get out and be in my body and then rest. I feel much better today.

There were no homeless or obviously mentally ill or drug addicted folks on our walk either.

This morning (I thought maybe my favorite castle house might be jealous because of all the amazing houses we saw yesterday) I went out just after sunrise and up to the hill behind my place and had a lovely contemplative stroll until just as I was making my way down to the lowlands near the freeways.

I heard a scolding woman’s voice behind me and there was a pit bull dragging a leash coming up on me. She was with a man; they were both on those small bikes built of stolen parts and were clearly living rough and very tan and dusty. I (as calmly as I could, I am terrified of loose pit bulls) veered onto another street and she eventually got hold of the leash and they went their way and I (most gratefully) went mine.

It has been nice to have a mini-break from all that. And! I have the whole rest of the day to chill.


Last updated July 30, 2017


woman in the moon July 30, 2017

Your life is so different from mine. Look at my pics from this morning's walk. I would love to go with you on yours and have you go with me on mine. Wouldn't that we wonderful? Sad thing is that Gracie could not come on your walks because she never learned to be a dog who could leave home. When she was a puppy I wanted her to be a 'civilized' dog who could be taken places. I signed us up for a class, but before we could take it I got hired at my old old job which was at night so I had to cancel our class. She and I have had good lives since then but we can't come to your city and walk with you and Frida. Or meet loose pit bulls.
I sometimes feel sorry for pit bulls because they look so menacing. I've heard they are often sweet dogs but it's hard to get my appearances sometimes.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ July 30, 2017

It was more the people yelling at the pit bull that made me afraid of him. I would love to come out there and walk with you under that big sky with the incredible light.

ODSago noko ⋅ August 06, 2017

Today I met a young mother who rescues and house trains pit bulls that have been badly treated and misused in all kinds of ways; she has always had a dog and all have been pit bulls, never a problem with her children and the dogs...I was in awe of her love for them. She's going to help me with housekeeping needs here.

Lyn July 30, 2017

Intriguing picture.

There is a Mt. Adams here, it is more a neighborhood.

Deleted user July 30, 2017

I agree with WITM that your lives are so different from each other's but you appreciate so many of the same things and both write about them so well.

So that's how you put in all those steps yesterday. You are such an inspiration! I've got the migraine today and can't bring myself to get out for a long walk.

That dog... yikes - that would be scary!

What an interesting string of interests you've had. Do you sew now, or did you ever get more into it after that community college course you started?

noko Deleted user ⋅ July 30, 2017

Sorry about the headache. They are just plain no fun. I still did sewing projects in my early twenties but nothing since. What I have kept up with is fashion photography and then nature photography. I am just not crafty at all and am extremely grateful that I am not a pioneer woman that has to use all the practical arts to survive. I very much admire women that garden and spin and knit and can and...

Deleted user July 31, 2017

Most pitbulls are lovely unless they have been abused or never trained. It's sad but because they are as common as trash on the street every scumbag/ trash person can get them. Too often they starve and abuse them and no one cares. We put a thousand pitbulls a day to sleep here in the US just because they are pits and no one wants them. People throw the unwanted puppies in bags in dumpsters and ditch them by the side of abandoned roads . They cut their ears off with scissors . No breed of dog has ever been so abused , discriminated against or exterminated in our history.
Has anyone read the old classic book, " Beautiful Joe" ? I think he was a pit and even then they were tortured and neglected , although they are vastly intelligent , loyal to the point of dying for their owners , and affectionate to a fault. It's Backyard breeders and Dog Fighters we should be putting to sleep, not the dogs.

Deleted user July 31, 2017

And you do get to take some of the loveliest walks ! I love that color green on that house .

edna million August 03, 2017

That hike sounds perfect- I love architecture too. I love looking at different types of buildings, although I never considered architecture as a career. Do you remember Cousin E from OD, my Real World actual cousin? Her daughter has finished grad school and is an architect now. It seems like she couldn't possibly be a grown up, and has to be maybe 12 years old. She's specializing in designs for people who are visually impaired.

noko edna million ⋅ August 04, 2017

Oh that is so wonderful that you have an architect in the family now! And of course I remember Cousin E. :)

Marg August 12, 2017

I love buildings too - you've made me remember the many photos I used to take of unusual or abandoned buildings I would take while out with the dog or a bike ride or a drive in the car! I'd completely forgotten that.

noko Marg ⋅ August 12, 2017

Glad this post was able to help you remember something you clearly enjoyed so much.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.