Zgrnsg in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • April 28, 2017, 7:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Fuck, I’m tired. I woke up at 3 this morning. Went back to sleep. Woke up at 5:50 this morning. Went back to sleep. Woke up at 7 and had to move my ass. I shower, I dress, I go to kiss my sleeping wife… this has been a thing. I kneel over, kiss her on the cheek/head before I leave for work. Our situation sucks… she isn’t a big fan of physical affection and I don’t see her often… but to get through the day, sometimes I need that. Some symbolic gesture of normalcy that I am a married man who can kiss his wife goodbye before going to work. So, I go to kiss my sleeping wife… and she head butts me. She jerks her head up, her eyes still closed, and smashes her head into my face. And gets mad at me for headbutting me. I’m covering my nose to prevent a nosebleed; and she’s surly with me. I say, “this is what I do, I kiss you goodbye while you sleep” and she rolls over in bed, says “Well, I wasn’t asleep!” and that’s the end of it.

That is how my morning starts. Just… not a great way to start the day. And of course, I’m sure that if/when I ask… she’ll say that it was my fault that she was awake and she was grumpy because my snoring or something I did kept her awake. Because that is how it works. Like in the movie “Hero” when Flying Snow stabs Broken Sword and then acts all indignant because she expected him to defend himself.
alt text
And now I’m at work… a solid hour (or more) before any other attorneys, trying to write a Brief. I actually love the case… a College Student received permission from her school to take some courses via the nearby community college. However, the nearby community college fucked up and did not let her enroll (as she was a student at a different college)… it is a thing. SO… even though the schools were the ones that fucked up; the United States is saying that the Student failed to meet academic hour requirements for Immigration Status and that she must now leave the country. In the middle of her semester. Because her school fucked up. So… I’m happy about the case because it really is an example of helping someone and fighting injustice. But then, I also have zero confidence so… I worry that my actions won’t bring about the requested outcome; the outcome that should happen.... allowing this young woman to complete her college career.
alt text
And now… here comes the boom.
Last night, I was appointed to a Dual Criminal Case. Polk County; old man allegedly punched a police officer and interfered with official acts.
This morning, as I’m writing the above referenced document, I get appointed to a dual criminal case. Story County; 20 year old allegedly caught with Marijuana and Zip Lock Bags.
This morning, as I’m trying to begin my appointment cases; Chinese Boss wants me to send her a bibliography of sorts about DUI research I did last week or the week before.
This morning, as I’m trying to begin my appointment cases; Chines Boss wants me to draft a FERPA release.
All of this before 10:00. lol.
It never rains, it pours.
(Wow… if that ain’t the truth! Busy busy busy LUNCH busy busy PAUSE. BUT… fucking billable hours. Since “organization” and “general paperwork” cannot be attributed to any specific client… all the hard work and busting my ass so far today? Counts for only 2.3 billable hours. Never mind the fact that I’ve been working my tail off for a solid 6 hours! Well, with the exception of a 30 minute lunch break.) That is… fucking insane. SOMETHING can’t be right there. I mean… just… laws of physics wise that doesn’t seem possible!

And it continued! All day, projects and cases and phone call and work… and just… every action .1 hours, .1 hours, .1 hours. But the transition! Going from calling a University (only to be told in effect “We refuse to admit that our actions in any way may have caused an issue; but because you won’t let us get away with screwing a foreigner TALK TO OUR LAWYER!)… to working on a Prenuptual Agreement.... to analyzing a Criminal Case… lots to do; but… yeah. That is probably why it feels like I’ve been working my ass off all day but not earning billable hours. I have to look stuff up and figure out how to do something… not billable work.

IN COMPLETELY DIFFERENT NEWS:
I did read a Cracked.com article over lunch. This one. OH IF ONLY I HAD READ THAT IN JUNIOR HIGH, HIGH SCHOOL, OR COLLEGE!
Seriously! I was a nice guy. And I got really confused when “Nice Guys” became the villains of dating. I didn’t get it. I didn’t understand. How could Johnny Three Way be considered a more acceptable paramour than Christopher Devoted? This. And while other people in my life probably said similar things in ways… it makes so much more difference in that the writer has experienced all sides. Because it is one thing to look at someone and say, “Dude, your method sucks.” But uh… guess what… if you’re the aforementioned “dude”… you already know your method sucks. For someone to say: I get that this is your motivation; but here is why it doesn’t work.... that is such a better way of doing that!

IN AWFUL, I AM A TERRIBLE PERSON NEWS:
Maybe this job is really good for my Pro-Asian Prejudices. I’ve lived several years having a certain reverence and preference for Asia and Asian Communities. Within the first week of this job; I had learned to deeply mistrust the Chinese Government. Not that I ever considered China to be a model for successful and happy life… but I thought that, with but a few flaws, it was preferable to many ways around the world. Feeling that less now. But… it is enhancing prejudices in certain ways that… perhaps should not be.
We continue to serve Male Clients who are assholes and Female Clients who are confused. That would be how I would define/determine our clientele. The male clients live as though they are the toppest of shits. Best cars, free money, and a sense of arrogance against Whites, Blacks, and a sense of ownership upon women… especially other Asian women. BMWs, racking up petty offenses they can pay their way out of (hey, it’s like a Bribe but not), until they land themselves in serious trouble.... like for stalking, domestic violence, OWI, or causing an accident without insurance.
The females on the other hand… they are either confused as to why the United States is an asshole (meaning: the government told me to file these three papers and I’d stay a student; why am I being deported?) or why the officers are mean to them (meaning: they couldn’t hear the officer or understand the officer, so they got out of the vehicle… forcing the officer to draw his weapon, thus escalating the emotion and danger) or they are passenger to a Male Client (and they speak very little English, were often drinking before arrest, and get shrill and terrified because of the police presence.)
So… yeah. Reinforcing the “Asian men are smug assholes; Asian women are my kind of people” prejudices.
alt text


Tempestuous1 April 28, 2017

Always Laughing April 29, 2017

I totally get that it doesn't rain it pours

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.