One of life's biggest transitions looms ahead in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • April 12, 2017, 2:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m facing one of the biggest transitions in my life – one everyone faces – but one which, in my case, I really haven’t had to even think about until recently.   After 22 years of coming to the same workplace and the same comfortable, book-filled and paper-strewn cubicle, I am retiring (or at least think I am. I have two days to change my mind).   It’s hard to even say it, much less write these words, but the simple truth is I’m at the perfect time to retire now and get all my benefits.  If I don’t retire now, I will just be putting off the inevitable from this time forward.  Finally, and perhaps most persuasively, I can’t continue to work full time and be the primary caregiver for my mother.  Even though we have plenty of part-time caregivers who have made my continuing to work possible the past five years, I am now having a difficult time balancing all the hiring and managing of caregivers with continuing to work.   The stress continues to mount with Mom’s advanced memory loss, confusion and physical decline.  I fear I will be called more often at work about problems at home.   I simply need to be home, or near home, or, at least not working so I am always available.   A recent evaluation indicated Mom is not ready for Hospice.   She’s not going to a nursing home.   Her physical condition, while inexorably diminishing, is relatively stable for someone 93 years old.   She hasn’t been in the hospital in almost five years.

Given all this, the hard part is that if I were living on my own and not caregiving, I would probably put off retirement.  I like my work overall, although it’s changed a lot over the past ten years.  I enjoy the social engagement, helping people and the daily rapport and interaction with my co-workers.  I’m loyal and extremely grateful to a job and place that probably literally saved my life after an extended bout of unemployment and depression.

I’ve made a lot of good friends in past jobs, but I’ve basically been a solitary person all my life, and this job is now my only social outlet.   Leaving it will create a tremendous vacuum, and I will absolutely have find other outlets through volunteering.  I have a lot of potential contacts and I have a lot of ideas.  I’m not too worried about that. 

What worries me is that if I should lose Mom soon after I’ve retired, I’ll have lost everything that presently occupies my life, thoughts, worries, fears, joys, heartache and sense of belonging and accomplishment – everything.  So, while most people would rejoice to be finally able to retire, I have been going back and forth over the pros and cons, all the while knowing with certainty I am going to do it, and soon.   I have to give our Human Resources office a final day of work, after all, and complete the paperwork.  And crunch time is coming this week.  I’ve been procrastinating a bit.

Before saying I’m crazy for not jumping at the opportunity to be free at last from the shackles of getting up every morning and having to go to work, consider all I’ve just said.  And, there are other reasons why I’m reluctant to retire.  All my life until I got this present final job and career (for it was a completely new career from anything I had done previously), I had gone from one job and career to another.  From graduate program to graduate program, getting degrees I never used until earning my final master’s which I needed for any advancement in my current job.   All through the 1980s, I worked temporary jobs or left one unsuitable job after another every year or two.  I made huge mistakes in taking jobs I never should have accepted, but did out of desperation because I needed a job so badly.   I traveled solo by car around the country during most of the 1980s.   Those travels were a fantastic, overwhelmingly positive experience, but they only increased my sense of rootlessness and seeming inability to settle down anywhere.

When I finally got found a new job and career that I would stay with all those years, I found a measure of security I had never known before.    I no longer had that gnawing fear of being unemployed (for as long as a year in the past).  I settled into routines.  I finally was able to buy any book I wanted and as many as I wanted (the result is that I am overwhelmed by books and have many hundreds to read in retirement).  My job gives me a sense of security and belonging and doesn’t involve much stress. It has ample psychic rewards just from the sheer number of people I’ve been able to help.   It has allowed me to pursue my hobby of photography.  It is a job that is difficult to retire from.   When I think of no longer working, I get this very strange and anxious fear of the unknown.   Even now, beforehand, I feel my life has suddenly been shortened, that I am older than I would, or could, ever really acknowledge until now, and that I am going to embark on the final stage of life alone, with no immediate family to keep me company in my old age.  That’s why I will probably move near my sister and her family.   I’m not at all sure I can go it alone in the dream retirement town I have had my eyes on for years.   I’ve not by any means ruled out that place.   It has everything I could want except for one key element – proximity to family.

I have no idea what will happen in the next year.   I can make plans but who knows what will come of those?    I’m suddenly pondering the mysteries of life in ways I never have before.   I know one thing:  retirement will free me to engage in my lifelong quest for knowledge, a deepened faith, and the exciting possibilities of unlocking doors to the unknown, the mysteries of the universe.  I truly believe that and look forward to that time, even though it still seems unreal that I am even contemplating all this.  This is big.  This is serious.  In a short while, my life will be dramatically different, or least I think it will be now as I write this.

Every year I’ve lived in Charleston has brought me incrementally closer to the answers I seek.    Soon I’ll have the freedom to not only ask the questions, but find the answers.  That’s my dream for retirement anyway.

It’s already started.   I’m thinking a lot more about the past, what I’ve accomplished, the people I’ve met and known and hopefully influenced in a positive way, all the places I’ve lived, and the beautiful, grand and natural wonders I’ve seen and experienced.   I’m trying to look ahead with anticipation and excitement, even as I’m still encumbered by so much anxiety and so many obligations.   What will I do when I’m actually free?


Last updated April 12, 2017


Deleted user April 12, 2017

No end of interesting things ! I say : Go for it unless it's going to put you in financial distress. Life is short. Now it's time for you to have more of yours free.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ April 12, 2017

Life is short. The older I get the more I realize that. I need to really take advantage of what time I have left and retirement would allow that. Work is a comfortable status quo, but I've reached the point where I've accomplished what I want through work.

Deleted user Oswego ⋅ April 12, 2017

:-)

Lady of the Bann April 12, 2017

I saw a plaque the other day that said 'no man on his deathbed ever said 'I wish I had spent more time at work".
Change is scarey. I retired nearly 3 years ago. For the same reasons as you. I was running around like crazytrying to cope with looking after everyone. my Mum, my daughter, my ex, my house and everybody else's house. I thought I could get into a routine of calling to help mum some mornings every week.
My Mums attitude then shocked me. 'Don't bother coming round, you wouldn't do it when I wanted you to'. (A year before she had suggested I reduce my hours at work to help her and she would pay off the small amount owing on my car. I considered it wasn't worth it.) She didn't want to see me at all, although I still went and put up with her nastiness.
Then my daughter had a boyfriend. I've in and I didn't feel I could call and help her so often and I suddenly felt redundant. I felt depressed for a day or two. I was sonused to people needing me. Then I recognised it as time for me. Something I had wanted for years. It just took some getting used to. I felt 'in shock.'
Mum died in November so now I care for my 88 yr old stepdad, who is lovely and appreciative. My daughter (bi-polar)and granddaughter (8) and my ex (who now has other carers). I have learned to let go and have my own space and interests. Life is still very full and I enjoy plenty of holidays.

Oswego Lady of the Bann ⋅ April 12, 2017

That quote really makes me think and does have a way of putting things in perspective.

Marg April 12, 2017

It's a difficult one. And as one who had to unexpectedly retire through illness I know what that's like when you're not ready. I suppose there's no chance of being able to do your job from home or even partly from home so that you don't have to make that very final decision yet?

Oswego Marg ⋅ April 12, 2017

Unfortunately, it's not work I can do from home. It's dealing with the public a lot. I truly am anxious about being on the cusp of such a big change. But I am trying to make myself realize that change in life is inevitable and part of life. Having everything stay the same is a comforting thought, but it's not moving forward with life. Ironically, that's exactly what retirement would be. But, yes, it is very difficult, one of the hardest things I've ever had to do.

Marg Oswego ⋅ April 13, 2017

Yes I can really see your dilemma. Life is never simple is it??!

Athena April 12, 2017

so many possibilities!

Oswego Athena ⋅ April 14, 2017

Endless, really, but I will miss the comfortable routines!

ConnieK April 12, 2017

Men have a hard time retiring. It takes a while to adjust, from what I've observed. Is it possible to transition to a part-time job? Also, your concern about retiring and losing your mother leading to rootlessness is valid, you DO feel at loose ends. I think exploring your photography would be rewarding and you could fill the gap with reading those many books and volunteer work.

Newzlady April 12, 2017

Legitimate considerations, for sure. But I hope you do it. And I hope you can quickly settle into a new routine and find volunteer work that is both rewarding and filled with interesting people.

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ April 15, 2017

I think I really just can't quite fathom all the new possibilities, but they will be out there!

Deleted user April 30, 2017

Since I retired, five years ago, I meet with many other people and former colleagues who are retired now. No one, really no one said she/he felt sad for that decision. Most of them, me to, even say it's as if they are busier than before. They are busy with different things than when they worked, yes. If you can afford retiring now I think you should do it. Physically you are feeling good to do what you want, but when the years go by, sometimes, there are those little inconveniences that start to weigh on our activities. with all your experience, there are many posibillities to find interesting paths to go after retirement. Time is flying. Use it now to do new things you dreamed of. Much succes! :) :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.