stand. in a restless heart.

  • Jan. 12, 2017, 9:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

stand for something or you’ll fall for anything… my brain stirs the clichés of my youth. Sadly, i find they define so many moments.

i decided to deactivate my facebook. i realized i was waiting on certain people to message me or reach out, and that isn’t who i want to be. so i’m hoping to center myself and get a bit of work done for this semester.

always a bridesmaid, never a bride… I have had love on the brain. i have a life full of busy but i find myself lonely and yearning for closeness. this is greatly due to my lack of vulnerability. we learn to stop reaching toward a hot stove once the burn cripples our touch. that’s how I feel– crippled by touch.

come back to your senses… when i’m overwhelmed, I draw myself to the present through my senses. name something i can see, taste, touch, smell, hear.

in this moment I can see dry cracks in my fingers, hear the roar of the box fan, taste the emptiness of having had breakfast hours ago, touch the summer blanket with its rich texture, and smell the rich roasted aroma of root veggies from last night. this simple activity takes me out of my head and puts me in my present.

live in the moments… this moment makes the next. I need to spend my time in 2017, not being idle and complacent like i was in 2013.

the best is yet to come… I surely hope this isn’t all there is. i’m banking on so much more being made by pushing myself beyond how I feel right now.


Squirrel January 13, 2017

I am constantly reminding my self to focus on just one moment at a time. They all add up eventually, right?

Pochemuchka. Squirrel ⋅ January 14, 2017

Of course. I'm learning that in this complex world we've made simple is better. I'm going back to the basics to push my own limits.

Gilraent January 15, 2017

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.