Prosebox Survey in I've arrived!

  • Oct. 28, 2016, 10:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s that survey thing.

What country do you call home? Do you like it? Any plans to defect? If you could live anywhere in the world and didn’t have the usual constraints (e.g. family, work) where would you choose?

Home is the UK, but frankly I’m sick to the back teeth of living in a country so full of fuck-wits. The Government (and it honestly doesn’t matter who is in power, ever) is useless, and corrupt and actively evil. Our wonderful NHS is being driven into the ground, our transport networks are groaning, and run by fat cats who only want their bonuses and don’t give a shit about their customers. I commute 4 hours a day, every day, for work, and I pay £5,000 a year for that. The trains are always late, the staff on the trains are rude and vile, and most of the other commuters smell bad. It’s hell. Plans to defect? Hell yes. I want to go somewhere sunny, where everyone smiles all day long and I can do yoga and eat healthy food. I am seriously considering buggering off to India. I’m not even joking. My other half might not want to come with me, but I’ll cross that bridge when I need to. Right now, I just want to be anywhere warm.

What brought you to Prosebox? How did you hear about the site? How long have you been a member?

I believe I was directed here by one of the people I was connected to on OD. I still miss OD. A lot of people slag it off, but for me, it was a haven. I got to know some wonderful people there, they supported me through some vile horrible times, and I’m still friendly with a lot of them. Most of the ones I’m still friendly with I still only know by their OD names. Which is embarrassing, and I really ought to do something about that. So I’ve been a member here since it started, but I haven’t been terribly active. I don’t have the same urge to load it up every morning when I log onto my computer, like I always did with OD. I don’t really understand how this site works, I can’t upload pictures, which drives me nuts, and I don’t care enough to take the time to learn things.

Do you use the site for anything other than keeping a journal/diary? What do you find yourself writing about the most?

These days, I write about how I’m not inclined to write. It’s nuts.

What features do you enjoy and use the most on the site?

To be honest, I don’t really enjoy any of it. I find it really bare, and bland, and I miss the ability to change the look of ‘my’ diary like I could on OD. I miss the community feel of OD, and I miss the look of it, how easy it was to use etc etc. I sound like I’m very anti-Prosebox, and I’m not, I like the online diary thing and the people, but when it’s taken you about 10 years to build up your readers etc, you don’t necessarily feel quite so inclined to do all that again.

If you could get any Prosebox feature you wanted for Christmas, what would it be?

I want to be able to customise my diary page with colours and patterns like I could on OD. I know, that’s pathetic, right? But that’s what I want. In my stocking on Christmas day. With a big red bow on it.

Do you have a favorite entry you’ve posted here? If you could point to anything you’ve written as being your purest essence, what would it be?

No. I can’t think of anything I’ve written here that I would take pride in. I only write here because I wish I still had an OD place to go to, and this is a poor relation of that. I’m sorry, I sound like a broken record.

Are you regularly expanding your Bookmarks / Friends list, or is it fairly fixed and you’re already content and established with your current readers? Do you regularly browse the front page for new people to read?

I don’t understand the difference between Bookmarks and Friends. I don’t understand most of this site, to be quite frank. So no, I don’t update it, I don’t really care. I found the friends that I knew on OD, and I have followed, or added, or whatever it is you do, and I occasionally see their entries and leave notes, but that’s it. I don’t browse for things to read on the front page, I read the people I know, and that’s it.

What advice would you give to someone new to the site who is trying to gain friends and readers?

If I don’t understand it myself, I can’t possibly advise other people, now can I?


simple mind October 28, 2016

You may be happy to know that I'm very close to pushing out my huge site update that, if nothing much else, changes the "bland" part. It's not OD and I have my own ideas on it (e.g. I highly dislike inconsistently sized and unreadable fonts) but there will be some pattern and color for the desktop users.

Icklewriter simple mind ⋅ October 28, 2016

I agree with you about that. Some of the OD diaries were so vile I stopped reading them. It needs to be easy on the eye at the very least. Sorry for all the whingeing, I think it's just I'm getting older and prefer the familiar and the easy. Never thought I'd catch myself saying stuff like that. Honestly, it's just been a tough year. :-)

Firebabe October 28, 2016

It's hard to re-train yourself on something, especially if you're used to doing it a different way -- even if OD had it's limitations, you knew what they were and how to tweak them!

Hang in there though - sounds like Simple Mind has some "personalization" options coming up in his big release. :)

Icklewriter Firebabe ⋅ October 28, 2016

Yes, I'm pleased about that. If I ever get out of my 'where's my dad' for, I might write here more often.

Icklewriter Firebabe ⋅ October 28, 2016

Fog. That should day fog.

Marg November 07, 2016

It took me a while to get used to Prosebox too - I missed the bells and whistles of OD although not the God I'm now blind diaries. Once I got going with (fairly) regular entries though and reconnected with the people I knew on OD I accepted the blandness and didn't think twice about it. The people make the place (although I have to admit I'm excited by Simple Mind's note!).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.