Hot times in London with some NSFW in blackpropaganda

  • July 24, 2016, 4:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I first went to London on my own when I was 13 - we only lived 20 miles away and it was easy to get there - my mum warned me about men in public toilets - although I had no idea what she was getting at - read Joe Orton’s diaries and you can see why she worried.
Anyway - I loved walking a round and taking the Tube - and worked there for six months or so commuting by train. Now - I do not know how people cope with it. At one point we tried to get from Westminster to St Paul’s and gave up since there was no movement in the traffic - new design buses are fully enclosed but the a/c does not always work and in temperatures of over C30 degrees they are like hothouses stuck in traffic. You are in danger of being mown down by a peleton of cyclists at any junction - and don’t get me on the crocodiles of tourists - hold on, I was a tourist too!!!!
Given all those caveats it was a great time - and we did everything we intended to - apart from Evensong at St Paul’s - and as always found the Premier Inn by the London Eye a great base - although housed in the old County Hall on the Thames it has no a/c (did not notice many Americans using it) - but our fan was on 24 hours a day - and we survived OK.

alt text

As always we enjoyed the Summer Exhibition - and great to get tickets to get in at 10 am when it is relatively empty and just wander around. Well over 1500 works of art of all kinds - from this Tom Phillips
alt text
to this
alt text
Called ‘I’m alright Jack’ - and I love watching people go round and look at this kind of exhibit and get a reaction.
This intrigues we too - a smallish figure of a climber - and then you look at the base - do you see what I see?
alt text
and what about these two?
alt text
And the Georgia O’Keefe exhibition at Tate Modern was different in that it had pictures from her whole career - and had only two flower pictures emphasising her opinion that they were not about sexuality.
I loved this one of barns -

alt text

and an upbeat message in this dark period from the Summer Exhibition from Bob and Roberta Smith (which is a pseudonym for an artist called Patrick Brill)alt text


Roseyrays July 24, 2016

Deleted user July 24, 2016

I had the same reaction when I came to Madrid at first. Public transport seemed amazing...now I can't stand it.
Do you like modern art? I take the piss out of some of it if I'm honest but enjoy experiencing it. I like the last pic!

blackpropaganda Deleted user ⋅ July 24, 2016

I like the ways in which different perspectives are offered - I like to be challenged - and the great thing about an eclectic exhibition is the opportunity to look at lots of work which is original, hung with more traditional forms

nothispenelope July 24, 2016

oh i love/d london. i don't remember it being all that hot when we were there in the summer but i also hate being cold so. yeah i don't like the subway. i mean i don't mind riding it it's the getting on and off part i don't like. and all those damn stairs. that's the one thing i don't like about europe.

Lady of the Bann July 24, 2016

Her exhibition in Rome had works from her life, with her life story. More than two flower pictures though and I had already seen your rose photos so was aware of the sexual overtones of her pictures. I probably wouldn't have thought about it otherwise.

Deleted user July 24, 2016

I loved the easy access to public transport while in England but didn't care for the subway. It got way too crowded, people act as if another train isn't going to come. And men were not offering their seats to women. I'm old fashioned in that way.

blackpropaganda Deleted user ⋅ July 24, 2016

That is only good manners - we had nothing but courtesy.

Gilraent July 24, 2016

Love the art :) I haven't been to anything like that since I lived in Salem. Kind of miss it.

colojojo August 02, 2016

Haha that would be a fun exhibit.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.