Progress in The ugly truth about making babies

  • June 18, 2016, 5:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Since I last wrote, things have improved dramatically. I haven’t made any comment to joey other than what I’d written about in the last entry, and have pretty much left him to his own devices drink wise.

There have been many days where he hasn’t drunk at all, and when he has he’s had a couple of shandies. I have to say I’m actually impressed that he’s made this change.

I hadn’t really commented over the course of the last week or two, I’ve just been quietly watching. I’m in work tonight on a night shift, it’s currently 5am, and we’ve been texting back and forth over the course of the night, after I sent him a message reminding him of how he used to stay up late to message me when I was working nights when we first got together.

I did text him tonight to say I’d noticed he had made an effort, and he said he realised how upset it made me when he drank too much, and did nothing around the house.

I reiterated the point that if we’re serious about starting a family then we need to be as healthy as we can and he accepted the point.

All in all I feel progress has been made, albeit tenuous progress, but I’ll take it. It’s so much better than the alternative. And he is genuinely making an effort, and has directly said he realised the consequences his actions are having on me and our relationship.

I’m under no illusion that it might not all fall to shit again but I suppose that’s a bridge to cross if it happens, but for now I’ll take the peace and progress.

Xx


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.