I'm Gonna Miss You When I'm Gone in School Chronicles

  • April 5, 2016, 11:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, that last minute writing assignment I worked on yesterday turned out to be some damn fine writing. I turned it in yesterday afternoon with today’s date on it and emailed it saying “Final Copy.”

The professor gave me some useful feedback. It was the first time I’ve not criticized myself harshly for needing, getting feedback.

He was impressed with what I did. I don’t know why it matters like this. It just…does.

I graduate next May. When I start my next round of classes, I plan on starting to look for jobs then so that I can be in my field so I can start paying back my student loans with little to no trouble.

I’m going to miss being in school and learning stuff. Crazy. I’ve got a few people saying to me to just stay in, switch my major and go for my bachelor’s in Legal Studies. I was thinking that I wanted to graduate now and then go back. My dad said that I should just do that too because I can always go back. My initial thought process for doing this is because my mother just turned 70 in January. She is like the oldest person I know who has Multiple Sclerosis and is still alive. Richard Pryor went down quickly. There have been a lot of people who have been diagnosed and have gone down and passed away rather quickly. And if you know me, my theory is that no one should ever die. But I wanted to graduate so that my mother can see me graduate. From college even though it’s just a certificate. I want to see her be proud of me, you know?

My dad is spiritual. So when he said that I can always go back, basically, “Graduate and get this first. You can always go back.” That’s what he said. That made me wonder what was on the horizon and it was the first thing I thought about. So, I think I’m going to go ahead with my original plan.

That’s that. I am going to go back to school for my bachelor’s though. It took me being out of high school a while to realize I really did enjoy learning, but then there was never a good time to go back. Now I’m here and I don’t want to stop.

Go me…


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.