The Art of Flirtation in New Beginnings

  • April 2, 2016, 9:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I suck at it. I’ve long been an extra introverted type. On a scale of one to ten, with ten being full time shut in, I’m probably a nine. There are advantages to being an introvert. We think more deeply about life, we very quickly learn to distinguish what we want for ourselves as opposed to what we’re supposed to want according to everyone else, we function better with a lack of sleep, and we have low economic foot prints, meaning we can enjoy a high quality of life without a correspondingly high salary.

Romance is not among those advantages. I once read somewhere that being an male introvert has no influence on his relationship status because there will always be a woman bold enough to make the first move. Yeah, I’m not saying that statement was bravo sierra, but I don’t think it applies to people like me who are so far on that spectrum that we’ve long lost the ability to read nonverbal communication from the opposite sex.

The weird thing that I’ve noticed lately as that as I age (I turned 34 a couple of weeks ago, and I didn’t write an entry on my birthday because I’ve long since passed the point at which I’m not another year older so much as I’m one more year closer to death), women seem to be flirtier. Specifically, married women seem to be flirtier. Granted, I’m no expert on womanly affection, but I know when I’m being ignored, and I don’t think I am. Maybe I’m wrong, but I’m referring to peculiarly small comments and gestures that women have seldom if ever directed at me in the past. For instance, a while ago, I went out to lunch with some of my coworkers, among them was a very attractive married woman named Galina. We were talking about our how we work together during the month end close, and I mentioned how I felt bad for harassing Galina every month for the particular data item I need. Not that I actually harass her so much as I send her an email asking her to respond with those figures when she gets them. Her response was to look at me, laugh, and say, “It’s okay, I like being harassed.” I was stunned. I mean, did this woman just tell me she likes my harassing her? Just a couple of weeks ago, I was helping another rather attractive coworker named Nicole move a box, which she could have easily moved by herself, and everything I said was charming and funny. She thought it was hilarious when she asked me if I did anything fun for my birthday, and I responded, “when I’m another year younger, then I will celebrate.”

I know they’re not looking to scratch the infidelity itch. On the contrary, I’ve heard that women in stable relationships are more likely to flirt. I don’t know if I can explain it as deftly, but apparently flirting is fun, but it’s not fun when the person you’re trying to charm rejects your advances. However, when a woman is in a committed relationship, it doesn’t matter if another guy shoots her down, because she wasn’t really interested anyway. The reward of an ego boost from someone else’s attention is there, but the risk of rejection isn’t. Some guys might complain of these women as being teases, but I don’t. Actually, I’d appreciate the opportunities to practice until I can finally “graduate” to talking to available women.

However, I wonder if instead I’ll just “graduate” to being blown off after they get to know me. That notion makes me want stick to my normal routine of working out, reading, gaming, & watching Netflix. I’m largely content following that schedule. Every so often, I something happens that gives me pause. For example, until December 2014, I had a fetching coworker named Emmy from Normandy. Her position was temporary, and she had to leave once her work visa expired. She eventually was able to get another position in Boston, and she took some vacation time to fly down to Atlanta and visit some friends, among them some people at my office. When I heard she’d be visiting Monday, a day I had to take off for some personal errands, I was disappointed that I wouldn’t get to see her. Not that she and I were close, but the fact that I was looking forward to just being able to exchange pleasantries with attractive woman makes me reevaluate my situation. Am I really as satisfied as I think I am being alone, or am I just comfortably numb to it?

Perhaps I should be trying to date. There are certainly options for less outgoing individuals like online dating services, activity groups, and so forth. However, when I consider making that change, I remember how awkward my few previous dates were with the uncomfortable silences and lulls in conversation. Not to mention after the date when I had no idea if she wanted me to call her and when was appropriate to do so. Then there was the aggravation of all the contradictory behavior. After my last date nine years ago, we ended the evening amicably with plans to go out again. I tried calling her a couple of days afterwards and left a message on her voicemail. When I tried again, a couple of days after that, she did pick up, but she said she’d have to call me back, which she never did. That drives me bonkers! Why is it inappropriate to say, “you seem like a nice person, but I’d just rather prioritize being available to date someone else.” I suppose that sounds kind of rude, but I’d rather someone be straight with me than lie to me out of politeness. Beyond those issues, I’m concerned about other problems I haven’t encountered. For instance, my house is somewhat barren with empty rooms, few items of furniture, no photos or pictures on the wall. It’s enough for me, but if I find myself seeing a woman regularly, when she’s probably going to think I’m emotionally stunted or maladjusted when she sees my home. Basically, I have go buy a bunch of stuff I don’t need or want, which I’d have to get rid of once we’re married and we need room for both our possessions. Those are just the problems and obstacles I’m aware of. Yeah, maybe I need to just keep doing what I’m doing.


whowhatwhere April 02, 2016

I'm an introvert married to an even bigger introvert. He has no clue when he is being hit on, so you are one up on him.
A few years ago one of my long time friends from high school had a nice long discussion with me about his single hood. We talked about things that interested him and I encouraged him to join a club he was interested in. He met a nice girl and now they are engaged!! He's in his late 30's.
So I suggest the sane thing to you. 1st you need to find a group that interests you where there are also single girls.
I know at my gym there is 1 guy taking a class for every 30 girls. That gives you really good odds. I know if you walked into the Combat class I take and you became a regular there would be like 10 girls who would want to know allllll about you.

Robbo whowhatwhere ⋅ April 04, 2016

That's valid advice. I'm kind of already at capacity with my physical endeavors. I do Tae Kwon Do, Gracie Jiu Jitsu, and lift weights at the gym, all activities that are mostly men or solitary in the case of weight lifting. I've toyed with the idea of joining a game night group at MeetUp, which is something that's at least more evenly split among men and women, but I just can't find the motivation to follow through with it. Either that or I'm more afraid of making a commitment I won't stick with.

Star Maiden April 03, 2016

I agree with the one above.

I'm an introvert as well and have had to make the first move. Silly introverted men. ;)

What games you playing?

Robbo Star Maiden ⋅ April 04, 2016

I built a PC a few years ago that I game on. I'm partial to online competitive games like Battlefield 4 and Chivalry, but Origin will offer free games every so often, and I got Need for Speed: Rivals through that special, so I'm enjoying that game at the moment. Steam also had 75% off sale on Shadow Warrior, which I just started playing this weekend. I also have a casual game called One Finger Death Punch, which is delightfully addictive. I like to play while binge watching Netflix on an adjacent laptop. I figure if I can multitask while working, I can do the same while having fun. Do you also game? If so, what are you playing now?

Star Maiden Robbo ⋅ April 04, 2016

Hehe
Final fantasy xiv right now. :)

Small Town Girl April 06, 2016

I dont think a woman would look at your place and think you are stunted. I think she would assume its just a typical bachelor pad.

Marg April 14, 2016

Just keep doing what you're doing - you shouldn't have to adjust/change yourself to please someone else. Be yourself! If you're comfortable with your life then don't fix what's not broken.

When I was dating after I got divorced I found going for a coffee the easiest first date. It's a good way of getting to know someone better without awkward silences and it's easy to end the date and say "It would be nice to do this again sometime" if you're not sure about the other person or make a definite arrangement for another, longer date if you hit it off :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.