Blank Page in 2016

  • March 8, 2016, 3:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Shit, I went a whole month without updating. I certainly thought about it, but I need to catch up on entries, so I kept waiting for a night to do that at home. Before I was reading them while waiting for Lyft rides but I haven’t done much driving lately.

All signed up for classes. Had to take a math placement test before I could, which I somewhat studied for, but did poorly on. The advisor said I could just email the teacher of the class I wanted and ask for an override, but everything was taken by then. I signed up for classes a few days after registration opened and it went quick. Didn’t even end up taking math to make my schedule coherent. I have a Japanese class on Monday and Wednesday afternoon and Technical Writing and Computer Science classes online. The CS class has a lab at some point, the hours aren’t announced yet, which is annyoing. Still, I’m signed up. Ambivalent about the online classes but perhaps it will be easier in transitioning back to school full-time. Hoping I have enough financial aid and loans to pay for everything and have some to live off of since I’ll be working part-time.

Went on a date with a girl from Tinder, Katie, a couple weeks ago. It went really well. We went to a bar trivia night, since she had never been. Then back to my place for sexy times. I also dusted off the Nintendo, since she had never played NES, and we played a couple games. It was a lot of fun, so of course several days later she stopped responding to my texts. Wondering if the whole sex on the first date thing is the cause of that. I’ve been burned by not moving fast enough in the past, but perhaps I’m moving too quickly. It seems simple, if you are hanging out with someone who is cool and that you’re attracted to, why not be intimate? And then, since that was fun, why not do that again? Perhaps I expect too much out of Tinder.

The Metric concert was almost three weeks ago now. It did not go well. Mostly because I got blackout drunk, haha.

Courtney came over a bit after Ella got home from work. They pregamed a bit and I drove us to near the venue. We pregamed while killing time in the car. I made the terrible decision to bring the bottle of Disaronno I had recently purchased. For the uninitiated, it’s a sweet, sugary liquer usually served on ice or used in mixed drinks. It absolutely is not something you should chug on its own in combination with a couple hard alcohols, because all that sugar will give you a mad fucking hangover.

…Of course, I did that. We actually finished the whole bottle. I don’t remember much after that. I remember Joywave starting, but not ending. The singer had a pedo pencil stash. I don’t remember when their set ended. I just remember having to go to the bathroom and then feeling like I couldn’t make it through the crowd back to Ella and Courtney(we were near the stage). Pretty much everything after that is blank. I guess Courtney found me and I spent some of the time trying to make a move on her but being too drunk and sloppy, and a portion of the time yelling at her that she should have kids because she’d be a great mother. Yikes. Apparently I was really loud during the quiet songs when Metric was on. Ella was supposed to be the sober driver. She I guess had messaged whoever from Joywave on Facebook and was going to buy them a drink, but went to the wrong bar. The bar on the lower floor doesn’t have alcohol. When she got to the correct bar, they had just left, and the bartender gave her a couple Gin Rickeys out of sympathy. So thus our driver was theoretically drunk.

The only other thing I really remember is a loud thump when Ella was trying to navigate my car out of the parking lot. She definitely hit someone’s car! Thankfully the parking lot attendant spoke minimal English and only seemed concerned with pointing us in the correct direction out of the parking lot. There was no visible damage to my car that I could see, but apparently it was a somewhat scary ride home.

So, yes…a total waste, pretty much. I made an ass out of myself and don’t remember a concert I was greatly anticipating. Things don’t seem to be weird between Courtney and I, though we don’t really text or anything lately, just whatever banter at work. Maybe she was just being a tease the whole time, I don’t know. My feelings for her are gone, she’s just a cute friend. I suppose things worked out well enough in that sense. No new interests on the horizon, I’m back to square one.

I saw St. Lucia Friday night with my friend Peter and his friend Alison. That was a great, great show. I was sober for that one! Grace Mitchell opened, who I had never heard of. She was really good, her mic was just too quiet. Apparently she’s from Portland but lives in LA. St. Lucia was excellent, there was so much energy and electricity during every one of their songs. I wasn’t overly familiar with their material, having just listened a bit in the couple days beforehand. Some of it reminds me of 80s stuff.

I’m visiting Medford for a week around the 20th, that should be quite fun. No concrete plans, just hanging out with people and probably making Let’s Plays with my friends there that make those.

Well, I gotta be up to get around for work in 4 hours, so I’ll catch up on bookmarks soon enough.


ViscousNightshade March 08, 2016

If there is so much as a gram of added sugar to alcohol, I get a massive hangover. I could have one beer, like Sam Adams' cherry ale, and I'll wake up with a massive head ache. It is very annoyingly unfortunate.

Good to hear from you! I was starting to wonder where you had gone.

+.:hidden-feelings:. March 14, 2016

I was also curious as to where you'd gone. Figured it would be a couple of years before we saw you again ;)
Bummer about the Metric concert. At least you made it home safe and sound though. Getting black-out drunk sounds scary!
Also, St. Lucia has some good stuff. Awesome that you got to enjoy that concert.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.