Melatonin. Advice, seriously, please. in 2015

  • Sept. 28, 2015, 6:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Spelling?? lol

I probably have another entry named this… because its something I’ve been battling for a long time now. Going on 3 years I’m sure.

Anyway. Miley. This child. Causes soooo much hell at bedtime. I just want to say, long story short, if you have advice, or you have given me advice before, I’ve likely tried it. Anyone who has ever commented on one of my Miley Battle Entries, I have taken your advice, and tried it out. I promise you that.

The only ones I haven’t tried, are the ones who suggested melatonin. And now I’m just about at the point where I need to consider it. Please, if any of you are parents, and have used this for your child, or know someone who has, or perhaps you have taken it, or been advised to, or NOT to, please leave a comment with your story. I need to look at facts, and experience.

I’m not going into the problems with her sleep too deeply, but she battles me every night, and wakes up in the night, most nights. It is causing her to be tired all day, and I’m wondering if its affecting her learning at school. This right here, would be the only reason I would consider a sleep aid. There is little medical information out there about this stuff. Please, anything would help!!

Kristen <3


Valyn Aporia September 28, 2015

I've recently started using Melatonin myself the past week or so as I've struggled with sleep issues for years. I've had a friend and a coworker both highly recommend it, so I decided to try it. So far, it seems less a sedative and more a....relaxer. It's supposed to calm your mind, lower stress levels, etc to make it easier to sleep rather than to act as a typical sedative. That's what it seems to do for me so far. It helps me, but I do not know how much it would help a kid as the affects seem.... fairly subtle to me. But it's probably worth trying.

Deleted user September 28, 2015

I've used it and used it for kids. Here in the states it has been recommend for children. Start with the 3 mg tablets. Also, maybe try sleepy time tea?

KandiJo September 29, 2015

My oldest has problems with fighting me to go to bed and would wake up often. He was diagnosed with ADHD just this week. Apparently sleep problems is a big thing with ADHD. (ADHD presents in different ways, not just hyperactive go go go all of the time).

Hotaru September 29, 2015

My chiropractor used to boil valerian root to make a tea for one of his kids. He swore by it to get him to sleep. I have used melatonin for myself, but not my kids. I have heard good and bad things about melatonin for kids. You've been dealing with this for so long and I know you've have tried just about everything else. At some point you have to decide which is worse for her, not getting enough sleep or taking something to help her sleep. Whatever you decide I hope you can get her sleeping better soon.

JustSurviveSomehow September 30, 2015

One of my best friends has had insomnia for the last 15 years, and she started melatonin a few weeks ago. She stopped taking Lorazepam because she was needing more and more to be able to sleep, she was maxed out on the dosage they could give her, they were looking to switch her to a different drug, and she was afraid of becoming dependent something. She said that the melatonin has worked better than anything else that she has tried in awhile, but it tapered off after awhile. She also has an extreme phobia of the dark. We went on vacation together for a week and a half, and I had to buy an eye mask because she insisted on sleeping with the lights on. I have encouraged her to seek help for that, because I wonder if she cannot get into a good, deep sleep because of the constant light/TV distractions. I do remember that Miley always wanted to watch a movie in bed for awhile, but I'm sure all kids do that to some extent, so it doesn't necessarily mean anything. My friend has been dealing with this since she was 7 years old though, and the only thing that ever really helped was the Lorazepam that she took from about 12-18.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.