Twitter: Honestly Seeking Advice in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

  • Aug. 6, 2015, 5:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I need advice, so I’m crowd sourcing.........
Clearly, I need and want a job. Desperately. I also want to move back “home” meaning… within fifty miles of either MY parents or WIFE’s parents. But… how far am I willing to go?

I ask because… the job market has been sparse. Postings on ANY legal job have been few and far between. But… today there are a few and… I don’t know if I want to do THAT kind of law… but…
like… divorce and personal injury law
like… worker’s compensation
like… Public Defender
like… Temporary Judicial Clerkship
like… Aerospace Contract Formation
some of those.. I don’t even know HOW to do… but… I feel like it would be responsible to apply. But I’m torn because some of those options just feel… kind of hollow for me? Thus the crowd sourcing of advice!


Last updated January 05, 2016


Foofah August 06, 2015

Is it possible to settle for one of those jobs until the 'perfect' job comes along?

EvequeFou August 06, 2015

Particularly if any of those jobs have a chance at getting a relocation benefit, I'd consider doing them for a while. (Of course, a reloc package probably also locks you in to your employer for a certain length of time.) It's easier to move up to a better job than it is to get a job when you don't have one.

invisible ink August 06, 2015

I work with attorneys all the time.... divorce is everybody hates everybody, public defender is a contract job usually so you get steady pay but no benefits and you are spending a lot of time plea bargaining cases but I know PD that got into it to get out of divorce. Judicial clerk depending on the definition of the job can be pretty sweet if it can go full time eventually because vested employees can get full benefits, and very steady but moderate income and you get a lot of court time to brush up your skills. ACF and workers comp I know little to nothing about the quality of the job itself....

Starhawk August 06, 2015

I don't know anything about law, but I know that in other career paths (like IT) it's better to take an 'entry job' that you don't like. You start getting paid and (more importantly) the NEXT job that you apply for, you can show that you've held a job as a Real Lawyer for some amount of time.

stargazing August 06, 2015

I would apply. They say it's easier to find a job when you already have one. So while these jobs may not be what you really want to do...you may find out that you really like it..OR it can help you get a job in an area that you'd really like.

colojojo August 06, 2015

I would apply for any and all. I know they aren't ideal right now, but if they are where you want to be, and bring in more money, that's a couple things you won't have to worry about. You can always keep your eye out for the perfect job, and when you find it, you can put down some experience other than the part time and few hours you have at your current place.

Rhapsody in Purple August 07, 2015

There are some jobs i won't do no matter how desperate. Are any of these those sorts of jobs?
Its about deciding what is more important. Having a job and being able to move home and whatever else, or having the job in the right field. Only you can decide that.

Always Laughing August 08, 2015

In this day and age people move on from job to job frequently. Although one of those may not be exactly what you wanted, they would move you towards a better future. You would be closer to family, making more money, your wife would be happier and no one says you have to stay there forever. You have to weigh how much you don't want to do them against how much good could come out of it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.