"Hi Matt, how are you feeling today?" in Vulnerability

  • April 1, 2015, 7:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

That was the Facebook message I got from mum tonight.

I replied, “I don’t know. Angry, I suppose.”

The cursor sat there for ages as she must’ve typed and deleted it a few times.

She ended up ringing me. I answered.
The conversation went pretty calm and off-topic for a while about how things were. I’d just started cooking dinner, so had something to distract me a little. She said it was stupid to keep typing stuff and that she needed to talk with me.

After a while she goes, “I dunno what to do, Matthew…” (referring to my dad).

I had a pretty good little chat with her. Just what was on my mind.
I said to her that it’s been 12 years and I’m pretty much over it. I admitted that I cried about about 30 seconds until I realized I was 31 and that I can’t just keep reacting like this every time this happens. I told her that I’d blocked dad from Facebook (on top of him already having deleted me) so that hopefully that’ll mean I can no longer see any of his comments on anyone’s posts. If I can’t see his views, he can’t upset me.

I told her that I was wondering how I could maintain a relationship with her, but no longer with him. I pretty much laid my cards out on the table.
I told her that I’d been trying to keep the peace for years now, that I’d never once brought it up.

Mum told me that she herself can’t believe that he hasn’t at least come around even slightly over the past 12 years.

I said to her, “What I can’t understand is haven’t you guys ever spoken to Kerry and Russell (parents of my first boyfriend who attended the same church as them) or Kevin and Ros (Parents of Lucas (RIP) and Zac), who also have gay children?”
She said, “No. It’s not really something we can talk about.”

So yeah, this will also remain stagnant, unfortunately. My only viable option is to cut dad out of my life. I have no idea how I’m meant to do that without affecting other family members.

Mum also gave an example of why she’s getting sick of her husband’s attitude lately as well. Apparently they were going to go on this cruise later in the year with some relatives (like they have before) and dad decided he didn’t want to go. Mum said, “Well I still want to go.”
Dad then apparently said to her, “Well I’m the boss and what I say goes.”

I said to her, “THAT. RIGHT there…” to prove my point of the type of person he is.

The conversation was pretty good. I remained calm the whole time and mum just filled me on a bit that she’s been up to. She reckons that she’s trying to keep the peace and will try to get dad to come around, “even if it kills me.”

I told her that I thought she’d come a long way. It’s clear she has. Initially it appeared to me what when I came out at 19 that she was the one with the issues, but the real issues were my father’s silence, given his behaviour today. I know it hasn’t been easy for mum, but I’m proud of her for making the effort and understanding that love for a child comes first.

I used that example too. That if I ever had a kid, unconditional love would always come first.

So, she knows my views. She knows I hate dad. I truly do, and it’s hard for me to actually hate someone. I honestly don’t even feel bad saying, or writing that down. That’s the point it has gotten to.

Mum said something interesting though. She just doesn’t want any problems to happen at my little brother’s wedding in August.
I found that an interesting point to bring up.
I said to her, “What does Craig’s wedding have to do with me?”
It almost made me out to be the problem, you know.

I didn’t blame mum for her concern. She’s just hating this blowing up again when the wedding is a few months away (where I’m one of the Groomsmen). She said that there wouldn’t be, and made note to try and keep me and dad separated for the day.
Seriously, if there is alcohol at that reception, and he even tries the slightest hint of anything offensive, I probably will end up throwing a glass champagne bottle at his head :P

What my little brother’s wedding will mean, is that I’ll then be the only sibling who hasn’t been married. Whether that will mean something to my parents or not, I do not know.
Never mind my older brother who was ONCE married and divorced with three kids, but that’s a whole other kettle of fish.
Hey, I’ll hopefully get married (or civil-unioned) one day. It’ll just be to a guy, once my country’s fucked-up out-dated laws get updated to legally allow me to do so :)
I’d like to think my siblings would back me up against my father, but none have said anything. They are just staying out of the fire I suppose.
Having said that, it’s been nice to have the support of some relatives, who obviously saw all this shit go down on Facebook yesterday.
I did however decide to delete a girl who used to be my favourite cousin, as her views were similar to my dad’s, just not as horrible.
I just decided I don’t need to see that shit in my life, and if the truth is only coming out now, I can only imagine what they are thinking each time I have to see them at family gatherings, thankfully as rare as those are.
Cut out the dead-wood I say.

Thank Christ I can’t think of anything hereditary that my father may have passed onto me through his genes… except maybe his bad memory.

I can deal with that. At least I don’t treat people like shit for no reason.


nthaniel April 01, 2015

Matt, you know a lot of my own history, regarding dealing with a mean family member. Remember Nanny, my German grandmother? I made so many mistakes dealing with her. We were more like infant siblings than grandmother and grandson. I bring this up, because what I SHOULD have done was learn to ignore her. I WANTED her in my life, so that's the big difference, but I reacted disrespectfully and horribly to her.

I guess I just don't want you to make my mistakes, you know? If you're stuck with Dad in order to keep Mum...it's easy to SAY you should ignore him or what have you...but I think it would help if you could just tune him out. Gotta have Mum! :)

I love you, man, and I wish the absolute best for you.

AlexYourAlterEgo April 01, 2015

Your poor mum. And you, of course, but right now, I just feel sad for her being stuck in the middle. She obviously loves him, even with his faults, and I don't blame her for that. She obviously feels stuck in the middle and wants to "fix" everything, because she's your Mum and doesn't want conflict between two people she loves. But, this isn't something that can be repaired. I'm glad that you're at a point where you're ready to cut ties and move forward, because it's a stalemate that will never end. There's no point dragging it out, and if you're mentally ready to put it to bed, then good. Hopefully your mum can reach that point too, and have some peace.

It still sucks, though, and I am angry about it, not just for you, but for anyone who gets crap put on them by ignorant idiots.

~Octopussy~ April 01, 2015

I love PrettyHate's last line, that's so true. I have kept my family so far out of my life for periods of time that they didn't even know in which part of the country I was living. Sometimes we have to separate in order to succeed and find our own personal healing.

Perpetually Plump April 01, 2015

My sister in law has a niece that is mixed black and white. My sister in law's dad, her niece's grandpa, is insanely racist and posts all sorts of shit about how black people should be murdered on the spot and have their rights taken away. It makes my sister in law so mad, hurt, and upset that her father spews such hate, especially when his own granddaughter black. She eventually ended her relationship with him and blocked him on Facebook, too. So sad when people hate just to hate.

its probably fiction April 02, 2015

--hugs-- Sometimes, totally cutting someone out of your life is just the BEST thing you can do! I hope the wedding goes well. Maybe you and your dad can make peace on the other side, when he realizes how ignorant he actually was in this life. You're so beautiful on the inside and out. Never change!

Lacrime di Drago April 04, 2015

I'm just simply going to agree with everyone here. At times in my life I have had to cut my entire family out of my life to remain sane. I still do it, but in smaller doses. ... about certain things. I'm sorry for you that your dad missed the unconditional love thing. My youngest is causing me such pain. I feel like I'm going to have to sever ties with her in a few years (if not sooner).... and not because I don't love her, but simply because there is nothing that I can do to help her and it breaks my heart to see her destroy herself. This issue with my daughter is more than about her sexual orientation. I will love my kids forever. And even if I can't be a part of their lives I hope that they find someone who loves then (male, female, white, black, purple, with 4 heads. ...) if they are good to my girls, that's all I ask. If your father can't even grasp that, then I'm sorry to say that you will do better without him. --hugz--

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.