It Does Get Better, Just Takes Time in I'm About To Have A Nervous Breakdown

  • Dec. 7, 2014, 2:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It can be so difficult at times to relate to someone.
I’m having one of my emotional days…
While studying for my math final I came across the song, “My Orphan Year,” by NOFX. Hit me so hard I stopped working on my practice exam and listened to it a few more times.

It reduced me to tears.

One, it’s hard to relate to someone who hasn’t lost a parent.
Two, it’s hard to relate to someone who hasn’t had a bad parent.
Always feeling like the odd man at in any family function for being the youngest and having ADHD with a side of Tourette’s and I jokingly once said I think my dad was exhausted from raising my brothers. Being alone a lot. Mom would be working, brother’s out working or out of the house by then and my dad would go party with friends or the friends would be at the house. The few occasions where she had to bail him out of jail…or pick him and a buddy up at the bar because they passed out at their table.

I had not seen my dad in three weeks when he passed away. At the time I felt nothing. Now I’m wrought with questions, even seeking help, I’m still going to have my, “days.”

I don’t know where I’m going with this…I still can’t stop the tears…

I have to find my peace…the medication is working but I had to write this out.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.