Veterans Day Things in Travel Book

  • Nov. 11, 2014, 7:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s Veterans Day here in the U.S. and it’s got me thinking of my first trip to Europe.

Why would that have anything to do with Veterans Day you ask?

Well, while we were in France, we spent some time in Normandy at the Landing Beaches. (Omaha, Juno, Utah, etc.) Honestly, I was not opposed to going, but it was not top priority for me on this trip at the time. However, I ended up being so grateful that we went.

It was a very grey, rainy, cold day when we toured the beaches. But it was perfect. The crappy weather set the mood for us. We took a bus from Paris up north to Rouen where we spent the next couple of nights. (I’ll have to post another blog about Rouen because wow! What a cool place!)

But these beaches. There was this amazing atmosphere. Almost ghostly. You could just feel the stories.

alt text
alt text
alt text
You can see the craters in the earth from bombings.
alt text
German Bunkers
alt text
alt text
alt text
Hard to believe it was 7 years ago that I was there.

I realized that day that these men’s lives were more than just stories we learn about in History classes. This stuff really happened. I mean, I knew that. But being there just made it more real. These were the actual shores they marched up and died on. We stood on the sand and touched the ocean where these men sacrificed themselves.

alt text
alt text

At Omaha Beach there is a giant American Cemetery and Memorial for those fallen soldiers of WWII. It was a bit surreal to be standing there in that little piece of America on French soil.

alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text

We went with EF Tours so we had a large group of college students and some of their parents with us. I remember overhearing some of the girls grumbling and complaining because they didn’t want to trudge all over the place in the rain. They were whining about how they’d rather be out shopping. I think some of them even stayed on the bus when we stopped at the last beach. I remember wanting to slap their ungrateful faces and say “HOW DO YOU NOT HAVE INTEREST IN THIS?? HOW ARE YOU NOT THANKING YOUR LUCKY STARS THAT YOU ARE HERE RIGHT NOW.” Instead I gave them the stink eye when I walked past them and went out and took a million pictures and completely absorbed all of the beauty and history that they didn’t give a snot about.

Anyway, this is my little entry of thanks to all of you Veterans out there, past and present. Thank you for fighting for our freedom! Especially you, “Brother” David! I still remember you and your kind face. RIP.

alt text


Some of you may have read some of my entries on OpenDiary about “Brother” David. He was someone I met and spent a day with in Mexico later in that same year. He was an Army Soldier on furlough. He was one of those people that you meet and have an instant connection with. As if we’d known each other for years. He was killed in action just a couple of months after this picture was taken at the age of 22 in Afghanistan in January 2008.


Last updated January 20, 2015


Mr. Mofo November 11, 2014

From the shoreline to the German bunkers, was that about one hundred yards? That is A LOT of open ground with no cover.

My father is a vet...he can get a free cup of coffee at Starbucks today. I was not able to make the jump from hooligan to soldier....I did have someone try to cut my schlong off with a meatcleaver though.

WomanOfSteele Mr. Mofo ⋅ November 11, 2014

I couldn't tell you the exact distance, but that's probably a pretty safe guesstimate. I read on History.com that "Omaha was the bloodiest of the D-Day beaches, with roughly 2,400 U.S. troops turning up dead, wounded or missing." Crazy. Those men had some serious balls, storming those beaches with no cover.

WomanOfSteele Mr. Mofo ⋅ November 11, 2014

And uh.. sorry about your almost castration. hahaha That can't have been fun.

Mr. Mofo WomanOfSteele ⋅ November 11, 2014

Fighting for my junk was one of the most exciting points of my life. I would do it again if I could.

dickson. November 11, 2014

Unreal photos. Fuck those ungrateful bitches.

"This stuff really happened. I mean, I knew that. But being there just made it more real." Yes, so hardcore yes.

Aww, Brother David <3

WomanOfSteele dickson. ⋅ November 11, 2014

You would have HATED them. They were such snobs the whole damn trip. UGH. I still hate them and it's been 7 years lol

Wayfaring_Stranger November 11, 2014

I'm sorry about David
The photo's and words deeply moving
I felt similarly when I visited Gettysburg a few years back

Always Laughing November 12, 2014

I remember your story of him. I felt the same way when I visited different concentration camps and other war areas while in Europe going to college in Gettysburg put me right in the middle of the this is where the civil war was happening etc. I would have given those girls the stink eye too

The Thirsty Oriental November 12, 2014

I drove all over evolution to get something free today. Probably spent more in gas than I would have otherwise!

My grandfather landed there a few days after the invasion. I spent some time on the DMZ in Korea, and that was really eerie. I can't imagine what this was like!

David- that's really, really sad.

WomanOfSteele The Thirsty Oriental ⋅ November 12, 2014

I hope you got some good freebies! Didn't know you were in the services, so I did a little stalking of your diary to find out you were in the Air Force. Thank you for your service!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.