Where Is My Heart? in Whatever Will Be Will Be

  • March 15, 2024, 1:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I… should have expected this. I suppose on some level I did.
Today is March 15. BEWARE THE IDES OF MARCH!
And I woke up intent to write a public post to bring attention to our Community’s Shakespeare Company as this year we will be performing Julius Caesar… and will be bloody desperate for actors. But I did not write a public post.
I did not know when Auditions would be and simply saying “Think Shakespeare” isn’t exactly a Call to Action.
WELL… the Theater is a place of symbolism and meaning. During the Noon Hour, they updated the webpage to announce when Shakespeare Auditions were set.
So, I quickly wrote my public post.

And for some reason… I feel close to tears. In a good way. Like… instead of the monotony of every day, I can look forward to a specific date. Prepare. Plan. Be excited. Performing makes me feel a way that… it would be good to feel all the time. Even when it is hard, or challenging, or physically demanding… my heart is glowing when considering the theater. It truly is a love of mine and a passion. And that’s even acknowledging, we’re not likely to be much good. We grab anyone we can and do our best but… this isn’t National Theater level Shakespeare! This is… who is available and wants to help among the cornfields and hog lots of Iowa? And even still… for the chance, for the opportunity… I am excited. And, as I say every year, even should I not get a lead role, I will be very happy to continue this long theater tradition.
Shakespeare.
Performed outside.
And frankly… even if we’re no good?

If we shadows have offended,
Think but this, and all is mended,
That you have but slumber’d here
While these visions did appear.
And this weak and idle theme,
No more yielding but a dream,
Gentles, do not reprehend:
if you pardon, we will mend:
And, as I am an honest Puck,
If we have unearned luck
Now to ‘scape the serpent’s tongue,
We will make amends ere long;
Else the Puck a liar call;
So, good night unto you all.
Give me your hands, if we be friends,
And Robin shall restore amends

- Puck’s ending soliloquy, Midsummer Night’s Dream, William Shakespeare.


Always Laughing March 15, 2024

I miss doing theatre. I understand that feeling you get when involved in a show.

Fawkes Gal March 18, 2024

Theatre is magic. I'm glad you at least have that to give you joy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.