Post V-Day in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 15, 2024, 8:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like I don’t have much to say lately. Or maybe it’s that when I feel like writing, it’s always close to bedtime and I feel like I”m winding down and my eyes are closing.

It’s February. It’s the dead of Winter yet it’s been feeling like Spring lately… But it’s supposed to be freezing this weekend for the city marathon (ah, the weather). I’m volunteering at an aid station. I was sent an email that said to dress in layers. You bet your sweet ass I’m going to dress in layers - hundreds of them! I hate being cold - especially if it’s to stand around and wait. Still, I’m excited about it!

Yesterday was Valentine’s Day. I got ONE card and it was from my parents. I mean, how sweet, huh? But I sure would love an actual VALENTINE to snuggle or at least have dinner with.

My apartment complex sent an email telling the residents to come to the office and grab a treat and some flowers, so I did just that. I made myself a lovely little bouquet and took it home and put it in a vase. It’s pretty even if it’s from the dumb apartment people.

I don’t think I’ve ever felt more alone in my life.

Job is still weird, though I have been digging in because to lose this job would be an absolute disaster. It’s not the fear factor, really. It’s that I need to be doing something. I still occasionally search for my next career move, but ughhhh. I’m just so exhausted by the thought of a new career search.

My boss is still odd as well. Apparently, in addition to making all employees use their own computers and other equipment, they were previously also asking that all employees contribute to birthday gifts for each other?!! Whaaaat? Like, they were literally asking for contributions every month to pay for birthday treats to be sent to people’s homes. Remember on my birthday I was interviewing with another company and Door Dash tried to deliver a coffee and some other treats while I was out? Yeah. Those were paid for by all of my fellow employees! And here I thought it was the COMPANY??!! What the ever-loving FUCK is wrong with this scenario?? I didn’t realize this. Additionally, at Christmastime, an email went out asking for contributions for the founder’s Christmas gift. I actually ignored it because I thought it was fucking bullshit. ANEEYYYWAY. Today my boss announced that they are doing away with the Birthday donations. Thank goodness he did because I would have likely blown my shit if he started asking me for cash to pay for someone’s coffee and treats that the company should be shouldering. Fuck that.

So yeah. I think this company is weird, but it’s also a JOB and it’s supporting me and my little doggo, so I gotta work with what I got.

Do I allow myself extra time to do other things around and outside of the house occasionally? Absolutely.

Take, for example, last Friday. I saw on Instagram that a friend of mine from my old downtown apartment building was in town and she and I tried to get together to have coffee. I parked over by my normal spot when I walk Martini downtown and walked to a good meeting spot for us (one of my fave coffee joints on the water) and got some work done while I waited.

Turns out, my friend ran out of time and had to catch her bus back to [old city] so I stayed and continued on with my work…until…

A guy I thought was a just a random customer (like me) walked by and wanted to pet Martini and have his dog meet her and it turned into a conversation. Turns out, he OWNS the coffee place as a little side gig. And not only THAT, but he also owns the boat company right below the coffee place!

Long story short-ish, my Friday afternoon turned into a tour of the boat docks with this guy!

And I didn’t even feel bad for playing hooky for a few hours because…well, whatevs. Honestly, that’s how I feel about working my ass off. Am I going to try my best? Of course. But am I going to kick my own ass like I’ve done in my past only to get shit on? Nope. Not anymore. At least not at this job.

And as it turns out, Coffee Boat Guy and I have been texting here and there. He’s away on a long business trip until March 1st, but he’s invited Martini and me to a boat ride when he’s back!

So. In addition to meeting someone interesting, I have a few things coming up in the next several days:

  • 40th Birthday party for my lesbian crush/neighbor at gay disco bar on Saturday night
  • Marathon Aid Station Volunteering on Sunday morning (hope I make it up in time after dancing all night!)
  • Visit Mom and Dad on Monday (holiday)
  • Head out to [Athena]’s on Tuesday (staying with her for a couple of days - yay!)
  • 2-year Colonoscopy Check-In with my Hot Butt Surgeon on Thursday
  • Maaaayyyybe see some other folks on Thursday after the all-clear?
  • Back home either Thursday night or Friday at some point

    Gah. Gotta figure out how to keep up with my 75 Hard next week! It’s going well, by the way! 2.5 books finished, 9.5 lbs down, daily workouts, daily walks, daily progress pics! And zero alcohol. I’m on Day 46, so well over halfway done! I got this!

    Love,
    GS


  • Last updated February 15, 2024


    Satine February 15, 2024

    Wow - sorry things have been so blah but you are just killing it with your Hard 75!

    bobbi01 February 15, 2024

    You certainly get the meet cutes. Sounds like a pretty fun time ahead (mostly)

    Jinn February 16, 2024

    You are killing it ! Wonderful !

    Complicated Disaster February 16, 2024

    Volunteering at the marathon sounds like great fun! Hope the weather works out!
    And ohhhhhh re. Boat Guy. RAD coming up??
    xx

    Lux Lunae February 16, 2024

    That's so cool that you met that business owner and got a tour!
    Ugh to your job and boss, so whacked. Glad that birthday contribution stuff is done with.

    sudare February 17, 2024

    A bouquet sounds lovely!

    WhatDreamsMayCome February 21, 2024

    Your before bed summations are good reading. ;-)

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.