Now What in Things That I'm Grateful For

  • Nov. 13, 2023, 10:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I’m sitting alone in my office for the second day in a row now at a complete and utter loss. I’m not so naive as to not realize that I have a giant office, even if I have to share, my half of the room (conveniently divided by a cubicle wall) is in itself bigger than the office space my professors had to share in pairs when I was going to college.

I was given a very, large and fancy desk. A computer connected to the internet, it has all the Microsoft Office programs, Publisher, PhotoShop, Spotify. It’s a PC, and I’m already at my limit with how slow and obnoxious this fucking thing is (seriously, did they not improve one fucking thing in the last 15 years since I switched to a Mac?)

But even that is a luxury I can’t really complain about.

The one major hiccup is I have an office chair that is way to small for me and cannot be adjusted. It’s like when you visit a child’s kindergarten class and the teacher makes you sit in the children’s chairs just to make you look and feel like a fucking idiot - that’s the chair at my desk.

And while I’m grateful for all this, there’s this big weird question hanging in the air…

Now what?

I mean, I’ve had almost no communication from anyone regarding next steps. I’ve been given vague information about one of the six classes I’m supposed to start in around two weeks. All of the very helpful and useful programs that I could use to start getting work done require a login and password that I haven’t been given yet, so I’ve got nothing to do.

One of the supervisors was showing me her office, in case a single office becomes free and I want to switch to one of my own. Inside she had her luggage, a rice cooker, coffee machine and a sleeping cot. So basically, I have what amounts to a second apartment on the campus. My mother got excited when I was FaceTiming with her because she wants to help me decorate it.

I guess right now it’s the office equivalent of a studio apartment with just an uncovered mattress on the floor....

I guess I’ll just keep sitting here saying “Now what?”


Last updated December 03, 2023


Sleepy-Eyed John November 13, 2023

I thought you taught ESL...

~Octopussy~ Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ November 13, 2023

My new job as at a University teaching in the Foreign Languages Department. English as a Foreign Language (EFL) is taught completely differently than English as a Second Language (ESL).

Sleepy-Eyed John ~Octopussy~ ⋅ November 13, 2023

Okay.

KissOfLife! November 14, 2023

Can you push someone for the username and password, or do you have to wait until your first day?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.