Thanksgiving? in Me Being Me

Revised: 10/09/2023 9:10 a.m.

  • Oct. 9, 2023, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The one thing I just don’t understand is why have these holidays when you can celebrate them all year round? And when each of these holidays is over then we just forget what they mean to us? Now a days they are just a day where you don’t have to go to work and you get to be with your family. I think all the holidays have lost their true meaning and we just don’t remember the bad things that happend.
As the years go on I am starting to question why even bother with these holidays because really they are no different then any other day. Or are they? And now that there are different religions it really doesn’t matter about these days. And the sad thing is that with these other religions they are mostly forgotten about and most people don’t even know what they are because they just don’t care. Here is a question? Do you know what all the Jewish holidays are? And what happened? Or why it happened? I bet there are not many people who actually know without looking it up and they really don’t know when these days are. I might not know all the religions holidays but I do know some of them and when I know it’s that day I acknowlege the day or days.
I think the most important thing to do on these days is think about the hardships that once were and how far we have come and we need to celebrate that. But we don’t. Do you know the history about these holidays? Or do you just celebrate the gifts and the food? I think we have forgotten the true meaning of these days and it’s just getting worse as the new generations are starting their life. I am thinking that my generation is right in the middle.We still know the meaning of these days and the history but we opt for the good stuff and that is wrong.
We had our thanksgiving meal yesterday and I thought it was horrible. The ham was too salty for my liking and the stuffing was still a bit salty evven though it was less salt the only good things were the canned corn and the pumkin pie and chocolate ice cream.
I am finding that there are a lot of things with way too much salt. I am now reading package lables to see how much sugar and salt is in them and if there is more then 1 gram of sugar or more then a t-spoon of salt then I don’t buy it. I am finding that packaged and bixed food is just not good for me so I try to eat fresh things but not too much because that can cause issues also. Everything in moderation.

Onto something else…

The other day someone here told me about a unmanned boarder crossing in Canada and I found out that it’s for asylum seekers and they are actually talked to but they can only come and be in Canada after all their optiond from their countires is exhausted. Like what happened in Ukrain.
Canadas boarders are 5525 miles and that is the longest and bigest boarder in North America. And we don’t have an issue with illeagl entries because the RCMP intercepts and decides if they have grounds to stay here and then they have to go trew the hoops that the government says to go through. I just thought it was really interesting how two different countries deal with the same issue. You would think that the USA would copy Canada’s ways but they think that crossing the Mexican boarder and living on the streets and using all the governemnt resurses is okay. Here refugies and others need to have enough money for at least a year with out any help from any governemnt agency and they have to do all the rograms like learn english better and have a job when they get here and they will need more education so their knowledge of their job coinsides with Canadian ways and law.

Onto something else....

Not sure what will be for dinner but it will be edible and I probally won’t like it much.
Anyways… I need to stop here…
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated October 09, 2023


Beret October 09, 2023

For crying out loud, do you really think US citizens "think that crossing the Mexican boarder and living on the streets and using all the governemnt resurses is okay." Your words, not mine. I know how to spell.

Please quit insulting Americans. You are so ignorant of the reality of the border situation.

Also, do you truly think that the 5525 miles of Canadian border to which you refer is entirely manned to keep people from illegally crossing the border?

You need to stick to griping about your landlord and eating box fish. Whatever that is.

Purple Dawn Beret ⋅ October 10, 2023

😃 lol, can't let little things bug us

.bleu. October 09, 2023 (edited October 09, 2023)

Edited

Our border used to be stronger with Trump, but the Biden administration made it weaker and is literally allowing Mexicans and ANYONE else who comes thru Mexico to do so by the tens of thousands a day. Even democrat states are now complaining of the illegal aliens destroying their cities. And nobody believes people coming over illegally is okay except the administration because they'll just pardon them and allow them to be citizens for their votes. Then those people can vote and they will continue to vote the same way as the country they "ran away" from, which is vote Democrat or communist, which destroys our country even more. It's all away to keep Democrats in power and destroy the American way of life, so we are weak and they can erect a world government.. That's all.

We should be taking care of our own rather than allowing "asylum seekers" in. We've got veterans, the mentally ill and elderly people that are constantly thrown to the side lines for these people who don't belong here.

Jodie .bleu. ⋅ October 09, 2023

Thank you so much for explaining this to me. Now I am more educated and I am in the know. The sad thing is that there are some people who don't care and that is sad.
I also find that there are some Americans who know nothhing about Canada and that is also sad. If it were not for Canada. Why is it all of the world knows about the USA yet the Americans know hardly anything about their allies?
Did you know that there was only 1000 people who were deported in the last few years and we get a lot of immegrints and refugies?

This is the numbers...
https://www.google.com/search?q=how+many+illegals+come+to+canada%3F&rlz=1C1VDKB_enCA1068CA1068&oq=&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUqDAgEECM

Beret Jodie ⋅ October 09, 2023

Once again, you need to educate yourself. Or better yet, quit talking about it. You are only showing your ignorance.

Jodie Beret ⋅ October 09, 2023

Andhow much do you know about Canada? I bet you know less about Canada then I know about the USA. Tell me..what am I ignorant about? tell me then I will know.

Beret Jodie ⋅ October 09, 2023

It doesn’t matter how much I know about Canada. I’m not making stupid uneducated untruthful statements about Canada.

Jodie Beret ⋅ October 09, 2023

Then prove me wrong about what I am saying about the USA....

Beret .bleu. ⋅ October 09, 2023

This is not entirely true. Congress makes the laws. Neither Biden nor Trump can do much about any of this without the support of Congress. Trump was able to stem the flow because of Covid restrictions. Anytime Trump or Biden tries to do anything about the border it ends up in court. And they lose. There needs to be a comprehensive immigration plan and policy that addresses the current situation which is far different from when the original laws were passed. By Congress. Congress needs to address it. And thus far they have chosen not to do so.

theKat Beret ⋅ October 09, 2023

true story!

Jodie Beret ⋅ October 09, 2023

I can see all of this getting better but everyone has to work together for it to happen.

theKat October 09, 2023

people in USA are not desperate like the people trying to get into the USA. you do not have people like that trying to get into Canada plus USA is an easier life and a bit cheaper than Canada so not many people would rather be in Canada. Most would by far prefer USA and Canada's weather is not so good. IF USA was filled with people like the ones crossing our borders you would have issues too. But I doubt they want to live there. I doubt they will want to stay in New York or Chicago either as they come from a warm climate and that would be horrible to them.
Much of Canada does not have walls... but you have two countries respectful of each country. BUT with as many people coming do not be surprised if you don't start getting bus loads too

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 09, 2023

The last time we got any significant number of people comming to canada was when Russia blew up Ukrain and we welcomed them with open arms and they are still here.
The best place to live in nowhere near North America and from what I know and read Vienna would be my number one choice then maybe Sweeden.

https://www.houseandgarden.co.uk/article/best-city-to-live-in-the-world

theKat October 09, 2023

I have two friends that have moved to Canada because they got married and they both HATE it so much... I have about 20 friends that have moved here from Canada and they said there is no way in hell they would move back to Canada... and by listening to you... I would not want to either.

Jodie theKat ⋅ October 09, 2023

I think it's different if you were not born here because being born here you really have no idea what it's like anywhere else.

toddslife October 09, 2023

Happy Thanksgiving

Jodie toddslife ⋅ October 09, 2023

thank and the same to you

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.