The D is Getting Around in Current Events

  • Oct. 2, 2023, 5:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

‘Tis the season for seasonal depression, apparently. Everybody seems to be struggling with their mental health at the moment. They’re aware that it is seasonal depression. I’ll just call it an emotional detox. The way the body removes waste and repairs damage between seasons, aka the flu. I read into my depression way too much and perhaps that’s all that I am experiencing. I have seasonal depression and I am not crazy. I am going to try and convince myself.

It bubbled up again today at work. Is it me or are you quiet today? My supervisor asked me. That made me a little self-conscious about how I am projecting myself. I am a man, I can’t show pain and fear. I’m usually pretty animated. I have a big personality. An annoying one that can take all the air out of the room. (Sun in 9H). I’m just thinking about my test on Thursday. I told her the truth. I don’t need anybody to be worried about me or worse. What could be worse? You may wonder. The people pleasers could be making it about them and worrying that I’m mad at them. Gross!

I managed to fake it until I made it. The energy I gave my coworkers they gave back to me which created the synergy I needed to get through the day. I took a nap as soon as I got home. Now I feel refreshed and I’m ready to hit the books.

Depression makes one short-sighted. It’s hard to see past the pain. To when things will be better. It’s hard to see the opportunities. Even harder to see the beauty.

I was really getting angry about my class again. Is it really worth it if it is going to make you this morbidly depressed? My ride or die asked me. I didn’t really have an answer. That is my question of the day, every day. I overwhelm myself when I think about the long journey ahead. Let alone, the journey I am on right now. This really feels like I made a mistake. I thought to myself today. That felt like an epiphany. However, my ego is a lying whore. A cock juggling thundercunt. If I got to meet him in person I would kick him in the nuts… maybe not. It is the inner child. I need to develop a relationship with him and let him know that it will be okay. We’ve gone through far worse.

Anyway, my tea is ready. Time to study. I’m avoiding the math today. I’m just sticking to the philosophy and really drilling it in my head. Tomorrow I will torture myself with the math.

Oh! Marcello, one of my coworkers. I am trying to start an ongoing joke with him but he isn’t picking up what I am putting down! We are in the same age group, he seems to catch all of my cultural references from our day. Kids today don’t know about that one time at band camp! or Kids today don’t know the Teaches of Peaches. Anyway, I’m off for real this time.


Last updated October 02, 2023


KissOfLife! October 03, 2023

I hope that D has gone away and another D has replaced it ;)

TL KissOfLife! ⋅ October 03, 2023

Fingers and legs crossed!

Zampano October 07, 2023 (edited October 07, 2023)

Edited

I know what you mean. Depression is like this murky film over your senses that makes the natural beauty and reward from life seem distant.

For me, personally, in my yoga career, it's almost like our senses, and sources of pleasure and reward are like the soft tissue of a snail. And the snail retracts into it's shell when negative energy (or people) are near. Or dangerous folks who look to damage the soft tissue are near. The same goes for toxic environments. The snail most stay incased in it's shell to keep his slime moist. That slime allows the snail to crawl across razorblades unscathed. What yoga provides is a safe, non-toxic environment for the snail to play, and exercise allowing our glands to secrete a similar fluid that helps us crawl across our own razorblades in life.

If the snail is never allowed out of it's shell due to toxicity, it can become incased in there which leads to depression. Yoga strengthens the snail's secreting powers and helps us, the drivers, to learn when and where to close and open. Being conscious of this action helps us to identify the sources of dis-ease for our snails.

TL Zampano ⋅ October 09, 2023

I really do need to get in on that Yogi culture.

Zampano TL ⋅ October 09, 2023

Definitely. It has made all the difference. A few pointers. I like the more authentic Yoga. The ones that speak Sanskrit and make it more of a ceremony. Actually, I'm not sure where you are in Canada but the Yoga Studio I like the most here was opened by Akasha Ellis and my friend said he heard that name whilst he was in Toronto.

Also, just beginning the day with toe touches or Salutations 15 minutes a day is a perfect way to begin. I bought DVDs and plug them in when I wake up. P90-X Yoga-X is a great Power Yoga session (super intense though.)

You are a prime candidate and I beginning ahead being Plant-Based already. Meat is terrible for flexibility.

What I love about a good power yoga session is you wake up the following day feeling amazing vs. waking up sore. (Sore is good too, but there is something to the fact that your work-out pertains to stretches that you have already stretched out the Lactic Acid from work-out. Make sense?)

Remember, Yoga is like pizza. Good pizza is good and bad pizza is good. There are so many different verities that work for all different sorts and finding the one that works for you is optimal. I am not exactly a fan of the Everybody's Yoga. I prefer stricter and regimented. Yoga as a lifestyle and Science vs. the type for older folks and beginners do it for health and wellness (which is great too!)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.