The impact of race-based hate crimes on marginalized groups. in Me Being Me

Revised: 06/25/2023 8:04 a.m.

  • June 25, 2023, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My son wrote this....

https://aninjusticemag.com/targeted-and-traumatized-2267cacc8a60

As I was reading this I realized that I had raceist comments said to me but at the time I didn’t know and in turn I said them back. But being 8 years old and thinking you learned something new is always a good thing, till someone tells you it’s something that should not be said. I could never understand what was wrong with the words but later in life I found out, but the more importnt things was I found out the whys. It’s one thing to tell someone not to say something but then there has to be an explination of why.
I have to admit I use to call some of my Jewish peers “JAPS” (Jewish American Princess’) and I had no idea what it ment. Or that they were born with silver spoons in their mouths. Later in life I realized that just because I thought this of them didn’t mean they were what I thought. And I never did get to appologize for what I said to them.
If some words are so offensive then why are they not deleted from books and dictionaries so the new generation will have no knowledge of these words?
For my whole life I always knew this was a word not to say ever…

https://www.ajc.org/translatehate/kike

But then I actually looked it up to find out the doesn’t say why. But out of resppect for people and their feelings I don’t say words like this.

The thing I don’t understand is when we learn a word and then someone decides it’s a racists word it is changed and it’s almost against the law to say ever again. But if you just say that word around your close friends and family then they know what you are talking about. Especially when it comes to a group of people.
Here is something I don’t get…Why is it okay to call a group of people “Brown” but not “Black” Are they not two different colors and don’t they originate from two different parts of the world?
And why is it people get so offended when these words are used? They were okay a while ago so why not now?

And if you are talking about a group of people who have no real homes wouldn’t you call them “Bedouins” or Gypsies who are known for stealing? Why is it not okay to call people what they really are and do?
It’s like once you have been convicted of a crime you are labled as a convict and that is okay? But if you steal and not get caught you can’t call that person a theif?
I think there are too many words that have been sugar coated and their true meaning is all mixed up and that isn’t right. I find it very confusing.

Onto something else…

Well, today isn’t going to be that busy....Just the regular stuff and thinking about what to have for dinner. I am thinking fish and rice and a fresh vegetable.

I need to stop here…
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated June 25, 2023


Asenath Waite June 25, 2023

Language and what is culturally acceptable constantly changes. The general thinking is that the group being referred to, has the right to choose how they'd like to be referred to.

For example, I'm autistic. I don't "have autism", it's not a disease. I'm also not a "retard", and that word is a slur now. But, it used to be proper medical terminology, until it became a popular insult. It's a word that used to mean "a person professionally diagnosed with mental retardation", and came to mean "anything perceived as being stupid".

Language evolves.

The Romany people don't entirely consist of thieves any more than all Jewish people are wealthy. The word "gypsy" has become an insult, so it's no longer used by respectable people.

When I was a kid, "colored people" was acceptable terminology. Now that's seen as insulting, so we say "people of color". Eventually that might become misused, and have to be replaced too. Who knows.

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ June 25, 2023

Do you have a gift for something like Mathematics or remebering facts? And I have never ever thought someone being autistic was a "retard" in any sense of the word. They just think and do different is all.
And this is the break down of IQ and even some of the termonology has changed.

https://www.free-iqtest.net/iq-score-guide.asp

Asenath Waite Jodie ⋅ June 25, 2023

I don't know if it's a gift, as most people seem to be more annoyed by it than anything, but my vocabulary is ridiculous. And I remember tons of information about things I'm interested in, yeah.

IQs in the US have been gradually declining over the last decade. No surprise to a Canadian like yourself, I'm sure. lol

Jodie Asenath Waite ⋅ June 25, 2023

well that is a good thing. Learning and reading stuff you are interested in is a good thing...Like right now I am very interested in seeing trump get beaten up by his own doing and the constant lies...Everytime something bad happens to him it teminds me of being a voodoo doll.

JustSurviveSomehow June 25, 2023

I always wondered why we called African Americans black when they were brown. And now, if you ever have to fill out a survey or something where you identify yourself, there is a "white" option but not a "black" option. There are different variations of "black" but only "white" for Caucasian. All very interesting stuff.

Jodie JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ June 25, 2023

But be carefult how you describe yourself because someone will think you are a raceist and we can't have the truth told right?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.